We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service”
Review of San Rocco - City Centre - CLOSED

San Rocco - City Centre
Price range: US$25 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The first branch in Sergio Stefano's renowned San Rocco Italian restaurant chain, this eatery in Manchester's South King Street opened in 1971 and has been a hit ever since. The light-filled dining room – with wooden floors, crisp white linens, potted plants and open-plan stainless steel kitchen – has a cosmopolitan ambience ideal for business meetings and stylish get-togethers with friends and family. Signature dishes from the traditional Italian menu include the Penne al Salmone in a creamy tomato sauce; the Filetto alla Griglia – fillet steak with grilled cherry tomatoes and field mushrooms with rosemary potatoes; and the Risotto al Pollo with barbecued chicken, peas and tomatoes. San Rocco also has an excellent Italian-led wine list.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Loved my visit to San Rocco and look forward to returning soon. Visited on a busy Saturday night, had booked a table for 4. Service was promote and very friendly, restuarant is very clean and airy. All loved the food and wine choices we'd made, was a excellent evening. Had been told the restuarant was a bit pricey, but I think it's prices are average for a city centre restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wallibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Frequent Lunch Client”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Once a month or so. often but not solely on a Saturday. No need to book rarely have to wait for table. Staff professional & friendly. Nice starched linen tablecloths and napkins. Shining glasses always replaced with nice large ones when ordering a half decent bottle of wine. There is a very modestly priced table du jour menu or whatever is the Italian equivalent. The a la carte menu to suit all pockets from pasta and pizza to lobster, fillet steak, veal, sole,scallops etc. We thoroughly enjoy meals here and have no complaintrs about the quality or cooking

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonR213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great food and service but check your bill”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I visited San Rocco last year and loved it, so booked it for a works birthday celebration for 10 of us.

Instead of one big table, we had 3 small round ones pushed together, which wasn't great, and meant that some of us almost had our backs to each other, however, not the end of the world.

Our table was booked for 6.45pm so that we could have the pre 7pm special offer menu, but on arrival we were told that we were too late for this despite it being well before 7pm. The main menu was reasonably priced but we felt that we should have had the option.

We all ordered different things, and all were served together and hot and everyone seemed to be happy with their meals. Mine was certainly delicious.

The service was great, very friendly and efficient and we weren't at all rushed.

The bill had service automatically added, which we would have happily paid anyway, unfortunately we also were charged for 2 bottles of wine that we didn't have. They willingly adjusted the bill (£40 reduction), however, we couldn't help but wonder whether this was an accident or whether they assumed that we wouldn't notice given that we'd shared several bottles of wine during the evening.

It was a shame to leave with this doubt, because everything else was great. I'm sure I will return, however, will make sure to check the bill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Nice atmosphere, excellent food, slightly OTT drink prices. Lovely staff. Don't plan on just rolling up for a pre theatre meal - its always full.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nellya377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
163 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Lone diner well looked after”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I found myself dining out alone early on a Saturday night in Manchester city centre – really felt like a female Billie no mates! However the staff at San Rocco looked after me and the food was rather tasty – far better than the food I had in another well known Italian restaurant in the same city the following evening. I know which one I’ll go back to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CamberleyNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Rocco - City Centre also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing