We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”
Review of Taurus - CLOSED

Taurus
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Wombwell, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

When you 1st walk in the staff are friendly but the decor is very dark and not very colourful.
We booked a table and was given 1 near the big windows. We ordered 2 fish & chips, oriental salmon and a Cajun chicken burger.
What we received was unbelievable, you would have thought we was in a very posh restaurant with the lay out and the quality of the meal. On this note the reviews on the tripadvisor came up trumps again.
I would recommend anyone to visit and have a meal.
Couldn't say a bad word about the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Really glad to hear you enjoyed the food and service. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback! We'll make sure you get a nice, bright table in the window next time! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    73
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great bar and restaurant”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I could never say a bad word about this place. Food is always excellent and the drinks are always great. They also have great cocktails.

I would always recommend this place as one of the most quality places on canal St.

Helpful?
Thank Fox M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for the great feedback and continued loyalty. We try our best to keep quality and standards high. Hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, England
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Dropped into Taurus on a Saturday lunchtime with wife. Not that busy but service was still spot on.

Order taken within a few minutes of being seated with good selection of veggie choices. Only waited around 20 mins for meal to arrive and my how we were impressed - especially liked the chips in the mini bucket!

Would definitely visit here again for food when again in town.

Helpful?
Thank Northern_Baggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed. Hope to see you soon. Those buckets hold more fries than you expect... We're guilty!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab as always”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely evening at Taurus. Cocktails were lovely and the food was fresh and very well presented. The staff were very friendly and efficient and it is lovely to be able to sit outside and enjoy the good weather

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chocco148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Really glad to hear you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to feed back. Hopefully there's still plenty of all fresco drinking and dining to be done this summer...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went for lunch, Place was busy. Staff polite and welcoming. Our food arrived within 20 minutes of ordering was tasty and fresh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FunJustJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for the lovely comments Justin. We always try to get the food out as quickly as possible, without compromising standards. Really glad you enjoyed. Will pass the feedback onto the floor and kitchen team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taurus also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing