We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional food and nice service”

Wistub de la Petite Venise
Ranked #17 of 292 Restaurants in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Traditional food and nice service”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This restaurant looks great inside and out and has a lovely atmosphere. The waitress had limited English and my French is mostly forgotton so we thought we had ordered a starter and a main but it turned out we had only ordered a main course! This meant we were less than relaxed eating our food not sure if it was 'the main event' or not! But what we had was very tasty and the waitress did her best and was very sweet. Recommend for what seems an authentic 'Alsace' experience (well, maybe - I'm no expert in the region!). Good wine although not cheap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beckahodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    351
    89
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is a typical trap for tourists. Excellent location, very nice and seemingly warm atmosphere, nice "traditional" decorations, and "traditional" food. Unfortunately, we found the food terrible, it looks like it has been bought in a wholesale store and heated up in a microwave (which may be actually true as, as far as we could notice, they don't have a real kitchen, just a "corner" for cooking quick things). The choucroute was terrible, the dessert was too. If you want to eat a real alsacian food (which is excellent of course), you must NOT go there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natafila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service in a simple setting”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Visited on recommendation of, and reservation by, our hotel. Enjoyed so much that repeated our visit the next evening. Food delicious: asparagus, snails, penne & prawns with good quality wines at reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold_GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Experience”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We arrived into Colmar late on a Monday night and found few other restaurants open. La Petite Venise was open and we couldn't be happier with our choice. We sat upstairs in enjoyed escargot, salmon lasagna and ham hock followed by a lovely chocolate desert. Our waitress was helpful and recommended wine to us to pair with our meals. All of the food was delicious and we found the bill to be quite reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Regional dishes in a pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I went to Wistub de la Petite Venise on a Tuesday evening, together with a French colleague. The restaurant is very small, but gives a very cosy impression. The staff is friendly and willing to advice, also with wine. The menu is about regional dishes mainly. They are simple, fresh and tasteful. To be honest, it was my first time ever to taste dishes from the Elzas in France and they tasted very well. Price level is not too high.
Would I go back when in Colmar again? Probably not, because there are so many restaurants in this nice little town and because I ate nothing really special. But....if you would like a first impression about food from the Elzas and you don't want to spend too much money, this is the perfect venue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wistub de la Petite Venise also viewed

 
Colmar, Haut-Rhin
 
Colmar, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to Wistub de la Petite Venise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing