We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable in Colmar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I was traveling by train from Basel to Strasbourg and on to Germany so after a flight from Rome to Basel, a taxi ride to the train station, and a train ride to Colmar, I was happy to find a welcoming rest spot. The hotel has a Michelin-starred restaurant and a local stube called L'Auberge where I ate . I had two local specialities: onion tart and choucroute which were excellent. The service was splendid, like watching a ballet. My room very comfortable. The breakfast was Germanic which means delicious and with endless choice. The only weird aspect was to get from the hotel to the stube where breakfast is served, you had to walk through the fancy restaurant. For me the location was a blessing, but it's a half-hour walk to the center of town. Don't expect to find a taxi in Colmar except at the railroad station.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is right across a busy road from the train station. Our room was on the far side of the hotel away from the road and we found this to be quiet.
The rooms are not over big but adequate and clean. The bathroom in our room was of a good standard and had a very good shaving mirror.Something that I believe many good hotels lack.
The shower was a monsoon type and great to be under but the design of the shower unit meant that some water went into the bathroom making the floor slippery.
Our dinner on the night of arrival was served later than we would have liked but we were with a large group of 40 people and sometimes that is life. The food was of a very good standard and the choice of wines was also very good but a with a leaning to the wines of Alsace.
Breakfast is buffet style and we found the room to be very busy, however the staff were courteous and helpful.
The location of the hotel makes this a good choice for rail travelers. It is also only a ten minute walk from the old center of the town with it's wonderful buildings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very well located for the station and centre. My room was very clean and comfortable although on the front I did get woken up very early by the trains, suggest a room at the back if you want peace and quiet. Would have liked to be able to get a drink in the lounge after 10pm but not available!
Good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Room at the back for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have spent two nights at this hotel. It is next to the train station and the noise is bad. 6AM the first train have arrived and we have heard it. even though window was closed inc. the auto shades we heard it.
Breakfast is also very expensive, 20 Euro per person. After we asked where we can find a patisserie they have sent us 5 min from the hotel, it was actually more like 15 min which was not so fun, mainly carrying back the stuff.
Same problem with attraction (i.e. little venice) they say 15 min walk, it is more like 30-40min.
Parking lot was fully booked, we had to go around the corner to park at the train station free parking.

The only bright light was the brasserie of the hotel which was great.
I suggest to everyone not coming here, just come to eat in the evening, parking at the train station is free :)

Room Tip: 412, 413, 414 and 416 are on the train station, dont take these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zabook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Booked this hotel as always after being guided by trip advisor reviews, I can only think that we were given the worst room in the hotel because our experience was genuinely bad. We were given an adjoining room for some reason. The wall between us and next door was wafer thin, we heard all the noises from in there from preparing for bed, during the night snoring and getting up and leaving at around 6am the following morning, we did not get a wink of sleep. The thought of giving this awful place 16.5 euros each for breakfast was too much and so we escaped as quickly as we could. This is a 2 star hotel by our reckoning and the room was worth about 30 euros.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaind33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We arrived without any reservation from Strasbourg, and we were given room 20, quite spacious,cozy, and quite side of the street. The toilet and bathroom are separated, bathroom with 2 lavabo, (sink) which comes handy for couples like us. The shower head is located facing the movable glass partition in the bath tub, can cause accident if not careful. The hotel may wish to have a look at this shower head, as it is indeed difficult to explain if your not using this shower! Otherwise, the bed is ok, mattress is good, and clean. Internet is working very well. It's and easy walk of 10 minutes to the old town, and right next to the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night on our way from Switzerland back up through France. It was easy to find, being signposted and directly opposite the train station which is architecturally interesting in itself. We had a room on the first floor opposite the station with a little balcony prettily covered with geraniums. The room was very clean and nicely furnished with a smart modern bathroom and despite being opposite the station, we did not hear any noise from trains or traffic. We were able to park in the underground garage which is easily accessible from the hotel. The man on reception when we arrived was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. He gave us a map of Colmar and showed us the way to walk to the historic centre...an easy 10 minute walk on the level to the old 'little venice' area.
We ate in the brasserie restaurant for convenience and the food was very good - though barely any choice for vegetarians - the menus in the Alsace region are very meat oriented and offal based. I had the salmon with a cream sauce and it was extremely good. Service in the restaurant was quite slow and I had to ask a couple of times to get a glass of wine, but overall, the brasserie was a good choice.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel - 16 euros seemed a bit steep to pay - so we opted to pop to the station and get some yummy fresh pain au chocolats from the kiosk just inside the main entrance.
Would definitely use this hotel as a base again if travelling in the area. And Colmar is a beautiful town with timber framed houses, lots of gift shops, bistros and fantastic ice cream!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisnatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.9 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#1 of 39 in Colmar
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Colmar Champ de Mars
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 39 in Colmar
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#12 of 39 in Colmar
780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#7 of 39 in Colmar
937 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Colmar Centre
Ibis Colmar Centre
#18 of 39 in Colmar
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol

Address: 7 Place de la Gare, 68000, Colmar, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Colmar
#6 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
Price Range: £68 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to its optimal situation opposite Colmar TGV train station, the BEST WESTERN Grand Hôtel Bristol is a perfect base for exploring the historic city centre, a 5-minute walk from the hotel. A subtle blend of regional heritage and contemporary design places the hotel midway between two eras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colmar
Colmar Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing