We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb fine dining in the Rendevouz Restuarant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We booked in for 2 nights opting for their contemporary Superior double bed room and found it to be extremely comfortable. Hotel would be very handy for commuters as its right by the rail station, but the room was so well sound insulated we heard no noise at all from outside. The walk into Colmar centre may well be 15 minutes, but some our opinion that was a worth while 15 minutes as there is some lovely architecture along the way, buildings you would not see if you were staying in the centre (see pics).
The hotel staff were very polite and helpful, if you appreciate fine dining you simply have to visit the Rendevouz restaurant where they offer very fine cuisine from a select limited menu.
Colmar itself is a must see town if you are in the region (it is on the Alsatian wine route), delightful buildings well cared for and dating back to 14th century period. I think 2 days is more than enough to get around Colmar and whilst it is a place I would visit again, France has so much fine architecture for the foreign traveler to enjoy.

Room Tip: If you want the comfort, then pay the extra and go for the Superior room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

This Best Western hotel in Colmar is not far away situated from city centre, on walking distance.
The hotel has a friendly reception with the possibility to park your car around the corner in a place owned by the hotel (fee Euro 15,00 for 24 hours). The room has enough space with an comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom with a walk-in shower.
We didn't take breakfast, was not included in the roomrate (fee Euro 16,50 p.p.)
We would like to recommend this hotel when you like to visit Colmar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisgeldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The location of Grand hotel is not ideal but still doable. It is about 15 minute walk from the core of the town, eg. Little Venice.

The breakfast was decent. The room was rather standard but the price was 185 euros per Night so in my opinion it was not worth the price. The parking facilities were good but small, so if you arrive by car, book your parking in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aukusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I was traveling by train from Basel to Strasbourg and on to Germany so after a flight from Rome to Basel, a taxi ride to the train station, and a train ride to Colmar, I was happy to find a welcoming rest spot. The hotel has a Michelin-starred restaurant and a local stube called L'Auberge where I ate . I had two local specialities: onion tart and choucroute which were excellent. The service was splendid, like watching a ballet. My room very comfortable. The breakfast was Germanic which means delicious and with endless choice. The only weird aspect was to get from the hotel to the stube where breakfast is served, you had to walk through the fancy restaurant. For me the location was a blessing, but it's a half-hour walk to the center of town. Don't expect to find a taxi in Colmar except at the railroad station.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is right across a busy road from the train station. Our room was on the far side of the hotel away from the road and we found this to be quiet.
The rooms are not over big but adequate and clean. The bathroom in our room was of a good standard and had a very good shaving mirror.Something that I believe many good hotels lack.
The shower was a monsoon type and great to be under but the design of the shower unit meant that some water went into the bathroom making the floor slippery.
Our dinner on the night of arrival was served later than we would have liked but we were with a large group of 40 people and sometimes that is life. The food was of a very good standard and the choice of wines was also very good but a with a leaning to the wines of Alsace.
Breakfast is buffet style and we found the room to be very busy, however the staff were courteous and helpful.
The location of the hotel makes this a good choice for rail travelers. It is also only a ten minute walk from the old center of the town with it's wonderful buildings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very well located for the station and centre. My room was very clean and comfortable although on the front I did get woken up very early by the trains, suggest a room at the back if you want peace and quiet. Would have liked to be able to get a drink in the lounge after 10pm but not available!
Good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Room at the back for quietness.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have spent two nights at this hotel. It is next to the train station and the noise is bad. 6AM the first train have arrived and we have heard it. even though window was closed inc. the auto shades we heard it.
Breakfast is also very expensive, 20 Euro per person. After we asked where we can find a patisserie they have sent us 5 min from the hotel, it was actually more like 15 min which was not so fun, mainly carrying back the stuff.
Same problem with attraction (i.e. little venice) they say 15 min walk, it is more like 30-40min.
Parking lot was fully booked, we had to go around the corner to park at the train station free parking.

The only bright light was the brasserie of the hotel which was great.
I suggest to everyone not coming here, just come to eat in the evening, parking at the train station is free :)

Room Tip: 412, 413, 414 and 416 are on the train station, dont take these rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zabook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.9 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#1 of 39 in Colmar
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 39 in Colmar
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Colmar Champ de Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#6 of 39 in Colmar
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#12 of 39 in Colmar
774 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel L'Europe Colmar
Hotel L'Europe Colmar
#1 of 2 in Horbourg Wihr
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol

Address: 7 Place de la Gare, 68000, Colmar, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Colmar
#6 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
Price Range: £69 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to its optimal situation opposite Colmar TGV train station, the BEST WESTERN Grand Hôtel Bristol is a perfect base for exploring the historic city centre, a 5-minute walk from the hotel. A subtle blend of regional heritage and contemporary design places the hotel midway between two eras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colmar
Colmar Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing