We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Colombier
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very quaint and relaxing. The location was great and located close to very nice restaurants and shops. Everything was very clean and organized. The entire staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Colmar!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our establishment and its location. It is always delightful to read that the service we provide was your convenience. We always do our best to satisfy our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Le Colombier in Colmar.

Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    388
    89
    28
    14
See reviews for
107
579
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed in Colombier suites that is next to the hotel (but check-in is at the hotel reception). Suites are located in old traditional building, next to a small river... very comfortable inside.

There are only 2 minor discomforts one has to consider:
No dedicated parking - public parking is available within a 5-10 minutes of walk
Poor Wi-Fi coverage in some suites

Room Tip: Check if Wi-Fi coverage is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gziro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Monsieur,

We thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that the hotel was up to your expectations and that you find your rooms confortable.

Concerning your request about parking, it is true that we have no dedicated parking, but in the rue Turenne, where the hotel is there are 100 public places. Your staff is also able to indicate you other parkings.
For the wifi, we are about to improve the system.

We will be pleased to welcome you on your next visit.

Sincerely yours

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Yeah great location in a beautiful but touristy town. We were lucky to get a parking pace outside the hotel, but be careful as apparently one side of the street is free the opposite side will cost!

Hotel was fine and our room was high up so it was quiet but very, very warm on a hot July day and night. Mildly annoyed that after complaining about the air con not working the duty manager said he would check it when we were out for the evening and I don't think he did. I reckon it was bust and they knew it! A bit too hot to sleep well and they had the cheek to charge us for water that we needed to have to cool down.

I'd visit Colmar and but maybe find another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthsconeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,


We thank you very much to take time to share your comments after your stay with us.

We are sorry that you have inconvenienced températures, our system is depending on the outside weather.

Otherside, we are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, its location and quiet.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you another time in our nice town of Colmar.

Sincerely yours

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
341 reviews
340 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The part of this review which concerns the room is actually about Colombier Suites: We walked into Hotel le Colombier and were offered a room in an annex across a small alley called Colombier suites. The top-floor room appeared charming. We didn't check the upstairs bathroom when we agreed to take the room. This was a mistake: the toilet is not separated from the rest of the room which is annoying unless you are alone. The biggest downside of the room became apparent at night, when other guests came home: You can hear them breathing or what ever they might do in their room. The last disappointment came with breakfast, which is served in Hotel le Colombier: very poor selection, tasteless croissants and really inedible scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments after your stay with us, and are sorry that your can't enjoy your stay as you expect.

Also if we show the rooms as the guests walk in, you can make a mistake and discover something you don't like lather (the not separated toilets). We can propose you another room.

Concerning the wall from the house, be sure there is not only paper but if the neighbours are noisy, what can happened, again the reception can probably help you. We are open 24h/24.

The rooms at Le Colombier and Le Colombier are all different, so that we can offer several alternatives to our clients according to their preference.

We will be very pleased to welcome you another time in one of our hôtels.

Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
206 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel in December to see the town dressed up for Christmas (quite lovely and a little more restrained and tasteful than Strasbourg). It was perfectly situated and everything was easily walkable. We had a superior room and indeed it was a large and very modern in contrast to the exterior. We found the decor a little hard-edged, although the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was very excellent with a great shower and plenty of space for our toiletries. The little conveniences were there--full-length mirror on the closet, kleenex in the bathroom and good bedside reading lights. There was a certain lack of initiative in the service, however. Their system of internet access was down when we arrived and we weren't told until we inquired nor were we notified when it went back up. When it was working, you had to keep logging on each time you used it, which is pretty annoying. We had to ask for extra pillows and extra hangers and there was a problem with our closet door that was reported but not fixed--the staff member had forgotten to report it and was apologetic, but still it was a struggle dealing with that door which wouldn't slide without being heavily forced. On the other hand, they were pretty helpful in getting us reservations for dinner, which was a problem on Monday when many restaurants were closed. We didn't have the breakfast which seemed quite expensive and we are really café breakfast people anyway. Altogether the place felt nice, but a little impersonal.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different, so you may want to look at a couple in your price category before choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelersboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, here on TripAdvisor.
We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations as well as the situation in the city center.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at this hotel for two nights. Our room was quaint, more on the side of small, but still nicely maintained and had been updated. The room view however, well was no view. It looked right into the courtyard wall. Try to get a room with a view of some sort. But honestly the adorable city makes up for any view lost in your room. This was my most favorite town of our entire visit and who wants to be in their hotel room anyways. explore the town and you will fall in love with all the town has to offer. Location was lovely I must say and the hotel is right next to the Petite Venice canal. Very convenient location.

The staff was nice but just note, if you need help with something make firm eye contact (we almost had to flag them down) if you would like them to take notice. We found the interaction quite quick and almost shooing and it wasn't a language barrier. Nice but didn't go out of their way for customer service.

I highly encourage you to make dinner reservations when you book your hotel. Without reservations in advance you will have a hard time trying to find a place to eat. We had made reservations the last night and found it hard to find a place the first night without eating at 9pm or later. FYI

We had the breakfast at the hotel which was a great spread with espresso, eggs, chanteuse spread, cheese, yogurt, fruit etc but honestly at about twenty five euro per person might be best to venture out to a restaurant for breakfast. Just something we wish we did.

Here are my restaurant recommendations that were amazing:
Lunch: must eat at Sezanne - restaurant above an Alsace cheese and charcuterie shop- Pretty cool experience for lunch- great service.
Dinner: La Table Du Brocanteur- was the best meal we experience during our entire trip in Europe. Amazing and must eat here for a nice dinner. *we made reservations in advance*
Dinner: Restaurant Winstub de la Petite Venise - Wonderful meal and the waitress was just so sweet & adorable. Love the quaint atmosphere but superb food. Great service.

Room Tip: ask for a view other than their courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelngal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Hotel Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment in the heart of the lovely town of Colmar.
We are happy that you enjoy the confort and the cleanliness of our rooms.

Some season, it is true that it is better to reserve the restaurant in advance.

We allow us to rectifi the price of our buffet breaksfast : 12.50 € per person.

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time at Le colombier.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Colmar in a near future.


Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just came back from a fairytale weekend break to Alsace. We stayed at Le Colombier for one night and I am completely satisfied. The room was spacious (for European standards obviously), clean, seemed recently refurbished and its colours where quite minimalistic, should I say.

Bathroom was clean, and bathtub was huge. I event spent twenty minutes soaking and relaxing in there.

Location-wise, it cannot get better; right on Petite Venice and steps away from all Christmas markets and "sightseeing" locations. Will definitely stay there when I am back to Colmar.

Regarding parking, we were lucky enough to find a spot right in front of the hotel, but during Christmas time and weekends, it does get busy and difficult to find a spot I guess.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandrosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Hotel Guest,

We thank you so much to take time to post a such nice review about your stay at Le Colombier.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction, the cleanless of the rooms and bathroom, the position of the hotel in the town,...

We will be very pleased to welcome again on your next trip to Colmar.

Sincerely yours

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#6 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie le Marechal
Hostellerie le Marechal
#12 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#7 of 39 in Colmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
2.7 mi away
Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#11 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Colombier

Property: Hotel le Colombier
Address: 7 rue Turenne, 68000, Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#2 Business Hotel in Colmar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
#5 Family Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Colmar
Le Colombier Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing