We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel le Colombier
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It has a very central and convenient location, staff is very friendly. We had a newly renovated room. It had a huge bathroom and bedroom, very quiet as the windows were to the courtyard. We were in this hotel with our family and rented two other rooms as well. The other rooms were smaller and with streetview and we were told, that at night, when the window is open, it can be loud because of the people passing by on the street talking loud. Our room though was really quiet. The only funny thing is that the toilet is in the closet (really). It was ok but unpractical because the when you were in the toilet, the closet door was not easy to close from the inside... breakfast was not included in the price and it was ok. not the best and not the worst breakfast I had. All in all a very good 3 star hotel and when we go to Colmar again, it is very likely that we stay at le Colombier again

Room Tip: Aks for a room with courtyard view when you are looking for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice comment.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

It is true that one of the room you have was totaly renovated, we have note your comment and we will do the necessary for the others guests.

We are pleased to know that the breakfast was at your convenience and also glad that you enjoyed our quiet rooms.

It will be with pleasure to welcome you during your next stay in Colmar.

Best regards,

Laurent Willmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We used this hotel as a base for touring the area for a couple of days - convenient for the whole of the wine region. Our room was perfectly adequate and very clean. WiFi was fast and we had no difficulties finding free parking places close to the hotel (well, maybe once we had to hover for a minute or two). There are lots of good restaurants within a short walking distance - overall a good choice at a good price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor and for sharing your nice experience in our hotel.

We are glad to read that you have appreciated the location of the hotel, and all the amenities of the room.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Colmar.

Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The location was central and the building itself is cool. The room was clean, the breakfast had delicious local food (but was 13 extra euros per person). The fridge/mini bar was nice (no corkscrew, but you can ask downstairs), and they provided robes.

I don't see myself as a picky traveler, but, for the price (around 140 euros per night without breakfast), I wasn't very happy.

The room on the third floor was hot (first week of May), and there was no fan or a/c, so we slept with the window open, but it's a very noisy location. (Cars coming down the cobblestones rattled all night long, in addition to the many people outside the hotel at all hours.) You could feel the springs in the bed, and the pillow was too think and heavy. (I asked for another, but they didn't have anything else.) Toiletries were not replaced for day two. (I really don't mean to be picky, but, for 140, I'd like some shampoo.) WiFi only worked in lobby and breakfast area, despite being advertised as working in rooms.

Overall, it was a fine place, but I would either look for something cheaper or with better facilities.

Room Tip: Room 32 (cheapest category) faces the noisy street and seems to have poor ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your stay with us, and for taking some time to provide some constructive feedback regarding your experience. We are really sorry that your stay with us was not completely pleasant and there is no doubt that we will take note on your remarks and make our best to improve on those aspects (the toiletries how wasn't replace is not normal.)

It is true that we had a problem with wifi, which has now been settled by our technician.

However, we can read that you enjoy the location of our hotel, also the cleanless and our breakfast with "delicious local food". So we would be delighted to welcome you next time in another room , perhaps with view on our courtyard or Colombier Suites, which will be quieter.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you on your next trip in Colmar.

Sincerely yours

AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed at the Colombier with my work colleagues for 4 nights on a business trip to Colmar. The hotel really surprised me by the big and spacious rooms, the love to detail in regard to the furniture, the nice bathroom and the good location. I didn´t try the breakfast buffet, but it looked pretty good. The only downside to the hotel was that the doors seemed to have a mind of their own; several times mine didn´t shut unless by force. Other than that, I only have good memories of the Colombier and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IzzyBeeInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to read you positive review, thank you for sharing your experience.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you did enjoy our decoration and the confort of the rooms with their modern furniture.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel excelente. Ótima localização. Limpo. Pessoal atencioso e muito simpático. Café da manhã muito bom. Alguns quartos (como o nosso) não tinham acesso pelo elevador, mas nada que diminua a qualidade do hotel. Recomendo.

Excellent hotel. Great location. Clean. Attentive and very friendly staff. Breakfast very good. Some rooms (like ours) had no access by elevator, but nothing that diminishes the quality of the hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjuniorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Hotel Guests,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you did enjoy our modern rooms, the ideal location and our friendly staff.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Hotel Le colombier for your next trip.

Kind Regards.

AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

nice rooms, you have everything that you need, nice location at the center, close to everything and train station(15 min.), helpfull receptionists. we didn't take much sleep though as you can hear everything from next room, even the shower tub. nice bakeries and coffeephops around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TANIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment in the heart of Colmar. We always appreciate constructive feedback.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff members. It is true that they are always available to assist our guests in the best possible manner.

But we are really sorry that your stay with us was not completely pleasant and there is no doubt that we will take note on your remarks and make our best to improve on those aspects.

However, we are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities of our rooms and the central location of our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you another time in our nice Colombier.

Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We spent 4 nights at Le Colombier in March and enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was large, rather austere in design but comfortable, with 2 good chairs and table, desk and large bed.
The WiFi generally worked well although sometimes I had to move around in the room to get a signal.
The toilet was separate from the bathroom. The shower was a bit of a problem and we tended to get the bathroom floor wet. Why haven't European hotels discovered the shower curtain, rather than using those half-length glass doors?
The front desk receptionists were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast had plenty of choices.
The Petite Venise area is great for wandering and Colmar in general is attractive and a pleasant town to spend some time in. There are plenty of restaurants in the area.
We took a taxi to the hotel from the train station for around 7 euros but without luggage it's easy enough to walk to the station. We took a day trip to Strasbourg and were happy that we chose to stay in Colmar, much more low key and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guests,


We thank you so much to take time to post your feeling after your stay with us.

We are happy to read that you enjoy the confort of the room and its size. It is true that we don't use the shower curtain for hygiene reasons.
Concerning the wifi, since last month we have a new efficient system.

The district of Little Venice is lovely and we are delighted that you take enough time to discover it.

Also, we thank you for your compliments to our reception team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you another time at Le Colombier

Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.5 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#1 of 39 in Colmar
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#18 of 39 in Colmar
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie le Marechal
Hostellerie le Marechal
#13 of 39 in Colmar
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Colombier Suites
Hotel Colombier Suites
#21 of 39 in Colmar
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#6 of 39 in Colmar
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colmar Hotel
Colmar Hotel
#4 of 39 in Colmar
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Colombier

Address: 7 rue Turenne, 68000, Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#2 Business Hotel in Colmar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
Price Range: £77 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Colmar
Le Colombier Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing