We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a wonderful town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostellerie le Marechal
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had the triple room in the 'attic' with the jacuzzi tub and it worked out very well for our family of 3. You had small windows out both sides of the roof to let air flow and glimpse the rooftops. The room was simply furnished. The hotel itself is in a great location on a canal within walking distance of everything you need. Make sure to not leave any belongings in the (pay) parking outside the hotel as there were break-ins when we visited.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

First of all we thank you for the time you've taken to write to us regarding your stay at our hotel. Your various comments help us everyday to improve our services.

We would be delighted to welcome you for a next visit in our house.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Colmar is an old beautiful and charming city, well worth visiting.

It is also very centrally located to many great towns and villages in Alsace - Strasburg, Riquiwihr and Rubeauville are easy car trips away.

The location of this hotel on one of the picturesque canals in the heart of Colmar is fantastic. It is within easy walking distances of all the sights of Colmar.

Unfortunately, that is it for the good news.

I appreciate that this is a really old building which presents challenges with regards to corridors, staircases and oddly shaped rooms.

This is being made a lot worse by amateurish piecemeal renovations in a few areas which are hopelessly at variance with the rest of the hotel

This hotel is plainly worn out - there is a line between old world charm and plainly old furniture in desperate need of replacement.

This hotel has small rooms crammed with oversized unattractive furniture and grotesque color schemes. Our bathroom was truly terrible and way out of sync with what one should expect in a hotel of quality.

The hotel should invest in some good quality vacuum cleaners and hire some staff to collect the dust and spider webs from all the "stuff" all over the hotel.

Yes, there is air-conditioning of sorts. We were there during "coolish" nights and it was fine - I would hate to be here if there was a heat wave.

I will be kind and describe the breakfast as average.

Closing on a positive note - the folks behind the front desk were really very hospitable and service oriented.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook the canal - very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomerol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

First of all we thank you for the time you've taken to write to us regarding your stay at our hotel. Your various comments help us everyday to improve our services.

Our house has 30 individually decorated rooms. There are all personalized but they all respect the tradition of a 16th century Alsatian building.
The number of stars in our establishment is assigned by the Ministery of tourism who delegate an agency to audit the hotels.
We get the new French tourism classification end of 2012 with more than a positiv agreement. Maybe you should have a look to this new classification.

We regret that our interior design wasn’t in accordance with your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you at an upcoming move to Colmar in order to demonstrate our efforts and make you a more pleasant stay than the previous visit.

We present you, Sir, the assurances of our highest consideration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in Colmar and our choice of this hotel was a good one..The hotel is well located for sight seeing and as we were using public transport it was also an easy walk to the railway station and bus terminal, the latter for sight seeing in villages near Colmar.

The hotel rooms are very well appointed and comfortable with staff very friendly and helpful

A first class restaurant operates in the hotel and we suggest at least one dinner there

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoaderSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Nous sommes ravis de vous avoir accueilli dans notre hôtel restaurant et sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un agréable séjour parmi nous.

C’est avec plaisir que nous vous accueillerons lors d’un prochain passage à Colmar.

Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We booked the gourmet-package with a super delicious 4-course dinner included (actually 5-course as there was also an extra appetizer). The restaurant is very good and each course arrived soon after the previous one and we did not have to wait long for anything. The wine we ordered (their recommendation with the menu) was also very good.

The room was romantic with its canopy bed and a jacuzzi bath. Unfortunately there were no rooms left facing Little Venice when we booked and we got the cout view, otherwise the room was very nice. And we had the Little venice view in the evening sitting in the restaurant next to the windows. The decoration in the rooms is old style, gives you the feel that you are staying in an old castle or something. The bathroom however is modern and equipped with everything you might need from bathrobes to vanity kits.

Service at the reception and in the restaurant was very good and friendly. The breakfast is the only not completely satisfactory thing. We went there at 9:45 and most of the things (cheese, cold cuts, eggs) were alreday finished but there were still plenty of mini croissants, raisin rolls and pain au chocolats as expected since we were in France so it was all fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you warmly for your last stay in our house and for your feedbacks.

We have take note about your comment concerning the breakfast and will do the necessary to improve our service.

We would be pleased to welcome you in the future for a next visit in Colmar.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Very nice, comfortable hotel, centraly located in Colmar. you can reach all sightseeings of the town by foot. In front of the hotel is a public parking, where you can leave your car with a fee during the day and no fee from 18.00-09.00 a.m.
The rooms are very romantic furnished and with a view on the "petite Venice".
Breakfast very satisfactory, although expensive. The same with the dinning at the hotel.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room to be reached with an elevator, if you don't want to go by stairs. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyriaa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir séjourné parmi nous et d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos appréciations. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un agréable moment dans notre hôtel.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors d’un prochain passage à Colmar.
Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Nice and lovely place.
very polite and kind staff. breakfast was not really satisfactory.
dinner instead was delicious.
location is pretty good and you can enjoy a nice view on the canal.
I like also very much the room and appreciate a bit hard mattress.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you warmly for your last stay in our house and for your feedbacks.

We have take note about your comment concerning the breakfast and will do the necessary to improve our service.

We would be pleased to welcome you in the future for a next visit in Colmar.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The first room we were given smelled to high heaven of stale cigarette smoke. Natalie very kindly moved us to another room. The whole hotel smelled of cheap air freshener and some of the decor was rather tacky and not worthy of this beautiful building. The beds had no duvets but sheets and blankets (Hello? Are we in the 21st C?) All staff were very correct and the food in the Etape Gourmande was absolutely fantastic. However breakfast was a shambles; no bread nor cheese nor ham nor juices available. I had to ask one of the waitresses (the only one who was not polite in this hotel) to get all this which was done with some reluctance! We left with a disappointed feeling and would certainly not return.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room if you don't want to be fumigated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

First we thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

You have to know concerning the rooms and our decoration that our house has 30 individually decorated rooms. There are all personalized but they all respect the tradition of a 16th century Alsatian building. But as we know tastes are subjective!

We are very happy that you had a good experience and that you appreciate our restaurant.

Concerning the duvets, we have received many comments about that, and we are looking to change the sheets and blankets. For the moment we try to find solutions to adapt the duvets on our beds because most of our rooms have upholstered beds.

For the breakfast, the waiters almost have to refill the buffet elements when they are empty; we are really sorry if it wasn’t done when you have taken it.

So we really regret that your stay in our hotel was not up to your expectations.
We will enjoy welcoming you in the future and certainly will offer you a better service.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#7 of 39 in Colmar
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 39 in Colmar
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#1 of 39 in Colmar
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#6 of 39 in Colmar
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#17 of 39 in Colmar
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Colmar Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie le Marechal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Marechal

Address: 4 Place des 6 Montagnes Noires | Petite Venise, 68000, Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
Price Range: £95 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie le Marechal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tranquility of a village at the water’s edge, right in the centre of town. Old, half-timbered houses, balconies heaped with flowers, weeping willows which dip their boughs into the Lauch waters… this is the heart of Colmar, the old quarter which is so picturesque that it has been called “Little Venice”. Constructed in 1565 on the fortified walls which encircle the old town (11th century), the Hostellerie « Le Maréchal » welcomes you to the center of this enchanting spot. Everything about the place has charm, tranquility, elegance and courtesy. Why not try a four poster bed from the yesterdays ? The owners, Family BOMO, will personally ensure your comfort. The 30 Rooms and suites are nostalgic, furnished with good brocades and antiques, but with 21st century conveniences : TV LCD HD (international chanels), WIFI, Minibar, Phone, Individual Air Conditioning, WC, Safe, Hair Dryer, all equiped with bath (some with whirpool bathroom) and shower (some with massage shower). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie le Marechal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Marechal Colmar
Hostellerie Le Marechal Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing