We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliness, space and charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie le Marechal
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendliness, space and charm”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our four-night stay in this quaint hotel. For 150 euros/night we had room 35, quite a large space on an upper floor with a queen-size bed, a huge double wardrobe, a desk and chair, round table with chair, and high double window from which we had what must be one of the most charming views in Alsace. The bathroom was also quite large, with both an expansive tub and a good shower, and a floor-to-ceiling storage cabinet. The room was extremely quiet, even with hordes of tourists milling about below. Only negative (very minor) was that the room is under the roof and is criss-crossed at a couple of points by beams that might be a risk for a tall person.

We had booked through Small Luxury Hotels of the World and inquired about a free upgrade when we arrived, but our stay happened to coincide with a major four-day holiday weekend in Germany and the hotel was completely full for the first three nights. They offered an upgrade for the last (Sun.) night but we were very comfortable where we were and declined the offer. Other rooms that I peeked into were much smaller than ours, but I can't speak to the more expensive ones as we didn't explore those.

We took dinner at the hotel the first night and had a lovely corner table in the section of the restaurant right by the canal. There are other sections, all very elegantly decorated. Service was somewhat slow in our case but that might have been because I am a vegetarian and the chef was preparing a dish for me (a mushroom risotto) that was not on the menu, which I really appreciated. The servers were friendly and hardworking, dealing with a packed restaurant and customers speaking at least three different languages (English, French and German)..

The hotel made an excellent base for exploring not only Colmar but also all the other absolutely gorgeous villages in the area. We visited them all and also enjoyed beautiful Haut-Koenigsbourg castle with its mountain setting, and the parc des cigognes in Hunawihr, where you can see storks nesting.

All in all we were very satisfied with our experience at the hotel and very pleased to be able to stay in La Petite Venise, which could hardly be more charming.

Room Tip: Room 35 is spacious and comfortable and has a wonderful view from the high window - just don't k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janicetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    187
    90
    51
    15
See reviews for
92
298
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok/Zurich/London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Situated in the old town, next to a canal but just far enough from the crowded tourist areas this family run hostel has to be experienced. Everything functions in a creaky old way, the rooms are small as can be expected but the air of times long past compensate for any shortcomings. The food was excellent and dining just next to an old canal has its charms.The sumptuous Breakfast even included Champagne (if not nursing a hangover from too much good wine at dinner the night before). Colmar is well worth a visit - especially during fine weather. A good start to explore the wine route.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aromdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I loved this place. It's got bags of character, all baroque and bright colours with a small but perfectly formed terrace next to the canal for dinner. Our room overlooked the canal and was lovely. The bathroom was a bit tired but it didn't detract because it was so different (a family run small hotel that wasn't bland). The staff were fantastic and the food divine. We only stayed one night en route to Strasbourg but wished I could have stayed longer. I've stayed at The Ritz and Savoy but would love to return here one day because there are no pretensions, just lots of style!

Room Tip: Choose canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The location was nice, just next to le petite venice canals and a short walk away from old town where the town is rather lively. The building itself is a little worn out and so are the rooms but if you are looking for authentic Alsacian style house, this can be your choice. I recommend if you get a good price and plan to stay for 2-4 days max.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Indrek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
First we thank you warmly for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

Our house has 30 individually decorated rooms and we try to renovate every year one or two rooms. There are all personalized but they all respect the tradition of a 16th century Alsatian building.
The number of stars in our establishment is assigned by the Ministery of tourism who delegate an agency to audit the hotels.
We get the new French tourism classification end of 2012 with more than a positiv agreement.

However we believe you had a nice stay in our establishment and would be pleased to welcome you again during your next trip in Colmar.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had the triple room in the 'attic' with the jacuzzi tub and it worked out very well for our family of 3. You had small windows out both sides of the roof to let air flow and glimpse the rooftops. The room was simply furnished. The hotel itself is in a great location on a canal within walking distance of everything you need. Make sure to not leave any belongings in the (pay) parking outside the hotel as there were break-ins when we visited.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
First of all we thank you for the time you've taken to write to us regarding your stay at our hotel. Your various comments help us everyday to improve our services.

We would be delighted to welcome you for a next visit in our house.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Colmar is an old beautiful and charming city, well worth visiting.

It is also very centrally located to many great towns and villages in Alsace - Strasburg, Riquiwihr and Rubeauville are easy car trips away.

The location of this hotel on one of the picturesque canals in the heart of Colmar is fantastic. It is within easy walking distances of all the sights of Colmar.

Unfortunately, that is it for the good news.

I appreciate that this is a really old building which presents challenges with regards to corridors, staircases and oddly shaped rooms.

This is being made a lot worse by amateurish piecemeal renovations in a few areas which are hopelessly at variance with the rest of the hotel

This hotel is plainly worn out - there is a line between old world charm and plainly old furniture in desperate need of replacement.

This hotel has small rooms crammed with oversized unattractive furniture and grotesque color schemes. Our bathroom was truly terrible and way out of sync with what one should expect in a hotel of quality.

The hotel should invest in some good quality vacuum cleaners and hire some staff to collect the dust and spider webs from all the "stuff" all over the hotel.

Yes, there is air-conditioning of sorts. We were there during "coolish" nights and it was fine - I would hate to be here if there was a heat wave.

I will be kind and describe the breakfast as average.

Closing on a positive note - the folks behind the front desk were really very hospitable and service oriented.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook the canal - very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomerol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
First of all we thank you for the time you've taken to write to us regarding your stay at our hotel. Your various comments help us everyday to improve our services.

Our house has 30 individually decorated rooms. There are all personalized but they all respect the tradition of a 16th century Alsatian building.
The number of stars in our establishment is assigned by the Ministery of tourism who delegate an agency to audit the hotels.
We get the new French tourism classification end of 2012 with more than a positiv agreement. Maybe you should have a look to this new classification.

We regret that our interior design wasn’t in accordance with your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you at an upcoming move to Colmar in order to demonstrate our efforts and make you a more pleasant stay than the previous visit.

We present you, Sir, the assurances of our highest consideration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in Colmar and our choice of this hotel was a good one..The hotel is well located for sight seeing and as we were using public transport it was also an easy walk to the railway station and bus terminal, the latter for sight seeing in villages near Colmar.

The hotel rooms are very well appointed and comfortable with staff very friendly and helpful

A first class restaurant operates in the hotel and we suggest at least one dinner there

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaderSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Nous sommes ravis de vous avoir accueilli dans notre hôtel restaurant et sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un agréable séjour parmi nous.

C’est avec plaisir que nous vous accueillerons lors d’un prochain passage à Colmar.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#6 of 39 in Colmar
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#4 of 39 in Colmar
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#8 of 39 in Colmar
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#3 of 39 in Colmar
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#12 of 39 in Colmar
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Colmar Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie le Marechal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Marechal

Property: Hostellerie le Marechal
Address: 4 Place des 6 Montagnes Noires | Petite Venise, 68000, Colmar, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie le Marechal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tranquility of a village at the water’s edge, right in the centre of town. Old, half-timbered houses, balconies heaped with flowers, weeping willows which dip their boughs into the Lauch waters… this is the heart of Colmar, the old quarter which is so picturesque that it has been called “Little Venice”. Constructed in 1565 on the fortified walls which encircle the old town (11th century), the Hostellerie « Le Maréchal » welcomes you to the center of this enchanting spot. Everything about the place has charm, tranquility, elegance and courtesy. Why not try a four poster bed from the yesterdays ? The owners, Family BOMO, will personally ensure your comfort. The 30 Rooms and suites are nostalgic, furnished with good brocades and antiques, but with 21st century conveniences : TV LCD HD (international chanels), WIFI, Minibar, Phone, Individual Air Conditioning, WC, Safe, Hair Dryer, all equiped with bath (some with whirpool bathroom) and shower (some with massage shower). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie le Marechal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Marechal Colmar
Hostellerie Le Marechal Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing