We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and well located”
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vendome
Ranked #51 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location just 2 minutes walk from Strasbourg station. It was perfect for our one day family stopover to see the sights in Strasbourg. The room was a little basic but certainly comfortable and very clean, and the bathroom and toilet were a good size and had been recently refurbished to a high standard. The free wifi was very useful and we found the hotel to be very quiet despite its location near the station. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and are on hand 24 hours a day, which was helpful as we had to leave very early. The only downsides to this hotel is the need to climb some steps to enter - not the easiest situation with luggage and children in buggies. The lift is also the smallest I've ever been in - it will take 3 at a push but if you've a lot of luggage you may find you are making quite a few journeys to move everything! And it isn't much fun if you're claustrophobic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Methven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is just across the square and just 2mins walk away from the station. The staff speak perfect English, the rooms are very cleans and are of a reasonable size with very good Wi-Fi access. A good 2star budget hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickBulkingtonWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were looking for a hotel that wasn't cheap and nasty but that was convenient and good value for money. We were only staying one night as we passed through so couldn't care for frills and all that Jazz. The recommendations for Hotel Vendome on TA were reasonably positive and we felt it was good enough for what we needed.

We were pleasantly surprised, it was a cute little local hotel, that we felt was excellent value. It is in a very good location, a short walk to La Petit France, close to restaurants and for those travelling via train, it is conveniently over the road.

We were welcomed by a very friendly staff member who checked us in with no fuss, assisted us with internet and provided us with a map to see the sights.

Our room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and had a tiny balcony which allowed for some fresh air, sun light and a great way to see whats happening around the place. Ideal for what we paid for and highly recommended as it catered to all our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyofleisureisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is one of a string of hotels surrounding the station. Thus, if you travel by train, finding this hotel at whatever time of day should not be a problem, as will see the sign as soon as you leave the station. If you decide to drive to Strasbourg, you can park at a 24/7 multi-level parking facility that's a few hundred meters from the hotel. Before you pay for parking, don't forget to ask the people at reception for a discount card that lets you park at the facility for only EUR 7,40 per day.

The area around a train station tends not to be very pretty in most cases, and Strasbourg is no exception. Nevertheless, the neighborhood seemed quite safe and convenient, with shops and major sites (such as La Petite France) being within walking distance from the hotel. Just watch out for the road work, as there seems to be a lot of this going on in Strasbourg right now, including on the street where the hotel is located.

Most rooms face the street, but if you keep your windows shut during the night, the noise should be tolerable. The lights on the street (e.g., from the McDonalds near the hotel) can disrupt sleep, so don't forget to draw the curtains before you go to bed.

The room is spacious for a two-star hotel, and while the decor and furnishings were simple, they were not cheap looking. What I liked best about the room was its functional design. There were enough corners where you could put your stuff down and power outlets were very smartly located (e.g., there was one by the headboard, near the light switch).

Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but you're in France, so enjoy and explore the innumerable cafés and boulangeries around town!

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, choose a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Talampakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of August 2013. Great location right opposite the train station, very friendly and helpful staff, good wifi. Our room faced the train station and the main road yet we heard absolutely no noise as the windows are of superior quality. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean. Booked online and saved 10 euros off published price. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very reasonably priced centrally located hotel. Will stay there again if we return to Strasbourg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here one night. We had a great experience here. The hotel was very centrally located and at a great price. The room was clean and certainly met our needs. The reception person was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paradeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here one night. Very good location. By the train station and only about 10 min walk from city centre. Very friendly and helpful staff. Parking is nearby in a multistory and was about €8 for 24 hours. Rooms are fine. Bathrooms are very small. Everything was clean. Definately good value for a city centre stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.5 mi away
Couvent des Franciscains
Couvent des Franciscains
#57 of 130 in Strasbourg
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#72 of 130 in Strasbourg
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
#21 of 130 in Strasbourg
941 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant d'Alsace
Hotel Restaurant d'Alsace
#1 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Strasbourg Ouest
Comfort Hotel Strasbourg Ouest
#16 of 130 in Strasbourg
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Address: 9 Place de la Gare, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: £60 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing