We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a first-timer to Strasbourg”
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vendome
Ranked #53 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

All the reviews are spot on. Very nice clean budget hotel located 100 yards from the train station. Very nice staff. Luggage storage for free. Nice beds and larger than expected room. Quiet even with the windows wide open. Lot of food options nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed on this hotel for 2 nights after long drive from Switzerland. Located close to railway station and cathedral area. Greeted by friendly receptionist who spoke very good English. We were given map for local area and ticket for nearby car park which gave good reduction on parking fee. Room spacious with large comfortable bed. Bathroom with toiletries. No tea making facilities. Opted for breakfast which was very basic continental. Waitress very pleasant. I would compare this hotel to a Travelodge with a more personal atmosphere. Excellent if on a budget and a great location to explore the beautiful city of Strasbourg. Would use again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 52Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Vendome for two nights during May, and I really liked it! The lady at the desk gave me a map and solid directions once I'd checked in, so I was able to find my way to the city square quite easily. It's a budget hotel, but I found everything very satisfying; the room was quite large, and had a nice view of the station. Speaking of which, it's literally a one minute walk from it! Very handy if you have an early/late train.

It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the cathedral from the hotel, but I like to walk so it didn't bother me. There are closer options, yes, but if you want a quality place to stay then I would definitely recommend Hotel Vendome. Very good!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location just 2 minutes walk from Strasbourg station. It was perfect for our one day family stopover to see the sights in Strasbourg. The room was a little basic but certainly comfortable and very clean, and the bathroom and toilet were a good size and had been recently refurbished to a high standard. The free wifi was very useful and we found the hotel to be very quiet despite its location near the station. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and are on hand 24 hours a day, which was helpful as we had to leave very early. The only downsides to this hotel is the need to climb some steps to enter - not the easiest situation with luggage and children in buggies. The lift is also the smallest I've ever been in - it will take 3 at a push but if you've a lot of luggage you may find you are making quite a few journeys to move everything! And it isn't much fun if you're claustrophobic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Methven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is just across the square and just 2mins walk away from the station. The staff speak perfect English, the rooms are very cleans and are of a reasonable size with very good Wi-Fi access. A good 2star budget hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickBulkingtonWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were looking for a hotel that wasn't cheap and nasty but that was convenient and good value for money. We were only staying one night as we passed through so couldn't care for frills and all that Jazz. The recommendations for Hotel Vendome on TA were reasonably positive and we felt it was good enough for what we needed.

We were pleasantly surprised, it was a cute little local hotel, that we felt was excellent value. It is in a very good location, a short walk to La Petit France, close to restaurants and for those travelling via train, it is conveniently over the road.

We were welcomed by a very friendly staff member who checked us in with no fuss, assisted us with internet and provided us with a map to see the sights.

Our room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and had a tiny balcony which allowed for some fresh air, sun light and a great way to see whats happening around the place. Ideal for what we paid for and highly recommended as it catered to all our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyofleisureisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is one of a string of hotels surrounding the station. Thus, if you travel by train, finding this hotel at whatever time of day should not be a problem, as will see the sign as soon as you leave the station. If you decide to drive to Strasbourg, you can park at a 24/7 multi-level parking facility that's a few hundred meters from the hotel. Before you pay for parking, don't forget to ask the people at reception for a discount card that lets you park at the facility for only EUR 7,40 per day.

The area around a train station tends not to be very pretty in most cases, and Strasbourg is no exception. Nevertheless, the neighborhood seemed quite safe and convenient, with shops and major sites (such as La Petite France) being within walking distance from the hotel. Just watch out for the road work, as there seems to be a lot of this going on in Strasbourg right now, including on the street where the hotel is located.

Most rooms face the street, but if you keep your windows shut during the night, the noise should be tolerable. The lights on the street (e.g., from the McDonalds near the hotel) can disrupt sleep, so don't forget to draw the curtains before you go to bed.

The room is spacious for a two-star hotel, and while the decor and furnishings were simple, they were not cheap looking. What I liked best about the room was its functional design. There were enough corners where you could put your stuff down and power outlets were very smartly located (e.g., there was one by the headboard, near the light switch).

Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but you're in France, so enjoy and explore the innumerable cafés and boulangeries around town!

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, choose a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Talampakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 131 in Strasbourg
859 reviews
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
#25 of 131 in Strasbourg
986 reviews
Couvent des Franciscains
#68 of 131 in Strasbourg
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gare Centre
Hotel Nid de Cigognes
Hotel Nid de Cigognes
#82 of 131 in Strasbourg
161 reviews
Hotel des Vosges
#100 of 131 in Strasbourg
68 reviews
Hotel Victoria
#72 of 131 in Strasbourg
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Address: 9 Place de la Gare, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: £54 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing