We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles
Ranked #120 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Upon our arrival, the receptionist was helpful and friendly. She allowed us to leave our bags with her until check in time so we could explore the city. When we came back, we got our room key and went up. The bed was not made, the towels were dirty, used, and hung to dry by previous guests, the trashcan was full... obviously the room had not been touched since the last guests left. We told the receptionist and she sent someone to the room to verify we were telling the truth. Then, she reassigned us to another room. This room was fine... until the hot water stopped working. When I informed reception, I was told that maintenance had already left for the night, so the only option was to move us to yet another different room. So we moved again. Three different rooms during our stay seems a bit excessive. The hallway carpets were disgusting. The kitchen cabinet doors look like they've never been wiped down. Over all, not clean. The location was convenient though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is the Ryanair of hotels. No frills or extras, but it's got everything you need, is the price of an F1 hotel. and is actually close to the centre of town.
The room has a ensuite shower w/c, a mini kitchenette with oven, sink, fridge etc. There a TV, and electrical points that work. The carpets could do with a wash, and there was no wifi in my room, but there was in reception (pay for wifi - not free) but overall is wasn't a bad experience at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeMaxBleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

There is a musty smell all over the place. The room was not so bad, however, the corridor
looks disgustingly dirty. The janitor who drills holes into the walls obviously does not know how to close them ...
WiFi only worked intermittently. Breakfast was actually quite good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoiry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Looks run down and it is. Needs an overhaul, bed was comfy but rooms are drab and uninspiring. Location not great as 20 min walk to Petite France area. Car park is as stated by others full and very narrow entrance. Would not recommend for the future. Citidines has been a better stop in the past.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Cheap in every ways... Ca. 45€ a night, very dirty, you gotta have courage to use the toilet... Room smells. Says it has parking space, but is always full... Shower has hot water for the first bath, if you are with companion, somebody will have a cold shower. Bathroom is really not acceptable. Bed seems to be good. Good and small LCD TV. Close to the city center. If you are really tired, for a night, almost acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel was clean, spacious and had a good breakfast. WIFI was only available in the lobby. The hotel had carpark space but you better hire a small car to fit through the garage. Pretty much every carpark space in France was tiny so small cars are the way to go. Strasbourg is a beautiful city and well worth the visit. Great shopping and awesome vibe. The only problem with this hotel is it's a little bit out of town. A 15 minute walk to get into town. The kitchenette looked pretty lo-fi but we didn't need to use it. The hotel has an elevator which is more spacious than most French hotels.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynchyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed here because there was no other option left in Strasbourg, did not expect much and did not receive much. The stay will be satisfactory - no more and no less. My room was on the ground floor, and on the way to the internal parking lot, so there was A LOT of noisy door slamming throughout the night. Not a good night's sleep at all.

Otherwise it was fine - clean, had the basic toiletries, a working TV and air conditioner, and the staff was friendly. The room was very dark, however, and slightly spooky.

Moreover, it is extremely expensive. If you have a car, I would recommend staying somewhere outside the city centre instead, as for the same price you will get a much better hotel - one which you might look forward to coming back to at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the ground floor, especially if you like to sleep with your windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anchorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.8 mi away
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
#84 of 131 in Strasbourg
174 reviews
0 mi away
City Residence Strasbourg Centre
City Residence Strasbourg Centre
#117 of 131 in Strasbourg
216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#110 of 131 in Strasbourg
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Strasbourg Nord Industrie
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Forum
Hotel Le Forum
#3 of 3 in Schiltigheim
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa d'Est
Hotel Villa d'Est
#13 of 131 in Strasbourg
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles

Address: 9 rue des Magasins, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Victoria Garden Suites Strasbourg)
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: £49 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our residence Ruby Suites is located at the heart of the Halles district, 750 m from the main train station, and at less than 20 min walking from the city center (quartier de la Petite France, Cathedrale Notre-Dame, Alsacien museum...). The renowned European Parliament is 2 km away from the hotel (reachable with the bus n°6), and the Strasbourg-Entzheim airport is 20 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing