We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cour du Corbeau Strasbourg - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel, Great Service”
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I booked a package called the City Experience which included breakfast, a Strasbourg City Pass, and chocolates. The service was excellent. I was escorted to my room in a secluded part of the hotel. The room was very nice with up-to-date amenities such as plenty of electrical outlets, a great shower, and Wifi. There was a charge but reasonable at €9 for 2 days. The connection was excellent and I was able to use Skype with no problems. The bed was very comfortable with turn down service and a little cookie. There was a robe and slippers (that actually stayed on my feet). My room had 4 or 5 windows overlooking tiled rooftops and a patio. It was very quiet at all times of the day and night.

The location was fantastic. Just walk out through the courtyard, cross Pont du Corbeau, and the cathedral is about a 5 minute walk. It’s about a 10 minute walk to Petite France and larger stores for shopping are also only about 10 minutes away. Don’t miss the free boat ride (included with the City Pass) or the light show at the cathedral at night. It was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkhult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    332
    48
    11
    2
See reviews for
313
952
66
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Just wanted to post a quick review and my rating of the Hotel after a recent stay in Strasbourg.

Hotel Overall score : A
Location: A
Room: A-
Ambiance: A+
Breakfast: B
Staff: A
Value for the money: A

We stayed at the hotel for (2) nights in July. Reserved a Classic Room under the City Experience rate of 131 Euro/night, incl. taxes. The package included breakfast for (2) people, City Passes ( free sightseeing boat trips with various other museum and shopping discounts ) and a box of Kougelhopf chocolates.

A week before our stay, I contacted the hotel and asked for help arranging a special birthday gift for my sweetheart. My e-mail was promptly answered by the Front Office Manager who suggested a “ box of chocolates from the shop Liztler which is very famous in Strasbourg”. The e-mail also stated that we will be upgraded to a Deluxe Room with our private garden ( I was hoping for an upgrade as I am a Gold member with A|Club ). My later e-mail requesting the detailed directions on how to get to the Hotel from the train station was also answered promptly.

When we arrived, we were blown away by the beauty of the building and its courtyard and by the quality of restoration job. Having breakfast outside, in the middle of the courtyard is a memorable experience. Even the boat tour recording guide mentions this building and the hotel as one of the “must see” places in Strasbourg.

The room number 002 was very comfortable, with a modern bathroom, safe, a beautiful courtyard with (2) outdoor reclining chairs and a lot of flowers and plants. There was a welcoming gift of a bottle of wine and a package of sweets, in addition to the Liztler chocolates as my requested birthday gift.
On the wall, there was a large photograph of our room “before” restoration. Stunning job.

The location of the hotel is perfect: right in the middle of all tourist attractions, with many bars and restaurants all around.

Breakfast was good, even though there was no hot food. There were fresh pastries, great coffee, yogurt, jams, meat, cheese, etc. The ambiance of the courtyard just added to the enjoyment.

The staff at this hotel has a very friendly, cheerful and helpful attitude. There were smiles all around, even at midnight.

I realize that my review sounds too rosy, almost like it’s being written by someone employed by the hotel. Therefore in the spirit of fareness I need to say something critical about my stay, just so I would sound more “real”.

OK, here it goes: two tiny suggestions for the hotel to make things perfect.

1) Train the front desk personnel to use current exchange rate to correctly convert A|Club vouchers from US dollars to Euro ( $60 voucher does not equal 40 Euro );
2) Make the waiters at breakfast more “invisible”. At times, it felt like you are constantly being watched by the wait personnel, even though you do not need any help or service. This over-zealousness gets to be too much at times, especially when you just want to relax with a cup of coffee.

To summarize, Cour du Corbeau is a beautiful hotel. It is a very fine addition to Accor’s MGallery collection of hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuitarFanIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Having read the reviews posted on this site I decided to go for this hotel and am really pleased that I did. Our romm wasn't the biggest of rooms but was very well appointed - maybe a lick of paint to cover a blue crayon mark (left by a previous occupant I might add) on the wall adjacent to the bathroom door - and comfortable. The building was beautiful and location excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownhairedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I had a meeting in Strasbourg with clients flying in from Switzerland and America, so everything had to be right. I got the idea of this hotel from TripAdvisor and am so glad I did. It set everything off on the right note.

There is not a lot to say without repeating what the previous comments, and I was not surprised to learn that the renovation of this ancient building has taken five years.
Location: Superb; within easy walking distance of the cathedral, Petit France and all the sights, cafes and restaurants the city centre.
Rooms: Spacious, beautifully furnished with excellent bathrooms, everything looking that little bit different from "standard" hotel rooms.
Breakfast: Expensive, but worth it for the standard of catering, variety and quality.
Ambience: Lovely to sit out with a beer in the cobbled alley surrounded by ancient timbered balconies.
Staff: Excellent staff, all of whom really seemed to enjoy their job....helpful with information, tips, parking............they could not do enough.
Value: The rack rates of 250-300€ are high, but totally appropriate for the standard of accommodation. However, the hotel offers promotional rates at quiet times to those certain of their dates and willing to pay (non-refundable) up front, when the rate comes down to 109€, which offers astonishing value.

Curmudgeonly moment: I gave only 3* to sleep quality, but only because I sleep badly if the pillows are too soft and foamy, so that your head sinks in, gets hote and wakes you up. All I will have to remember if to take a firm pillow with me next time.....and there will definitely be a next time.

I thought this one of the loveliest hotels I have stayed in and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Strasbourg and wanting to stay in "the best hotel".

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellensian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This was the nicest hotel we stayed at during out 2 week trip to europe. The Rooms we stayed in #204 and 205 had "balconies" to the historic part of the building that has been refurbished but kept all the original charm. The insides of the rooms were totally renovated - gorgeous modern slate tiled bathroom with all new fixtures..towel warmer, bathtub, etc. The beds were comfortable with nice soft sheets and soft down-filled comforters. The staff were all very pleasant, knowledgable, and helpful. The European breakfast was also the best of our whole trip-fresh pasteries and fruits in a georgeous atmosphere. The town was so charming, especially Le Petit France area with the beautiful timbered buildings and the waterways that weave through the town. We had a beautiful visit.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Goingeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Most of the other reviews of this property are glowing, as well they should be. One would have to be hopelessly curmudgeonly to find much to fault here, for the following reasons:

1. Location. As convenient as it gets for immediate access to all of the most appealing sites of interest, old town, the cathedral area, Petit France, etc.

2. Staff. They are unfailingly friendly and helpful, especially to those of us with limited facility in French. On the day we checked out, I rather stupidly forgot a rain hat in my room that I'd tucked away somewhere, mainly because we didn't encounter much rain. We were traveling from there to Paris, and one of the lovely staff had previously called ahead to a restaurant there to assist with a booking for that evening. Imagine my shocked and pleasant surprise when, upon arrival at the restaurant, the host informed me that he'd received a call to alert me to the fact that I'd left a hat back in Strasbourg earlier that day!

Rooms. Large, by the general standards of France, and tastefully decorated. All are wonderfully quiet, with the one caveat being that if you like to sleep with the windows open, as we do, the cooing pigeons seem to find the environs of the hotel as attractive as the guests do. Pas de problem, however.

Value. Everything in Strasbourg (and everywhere else) seems to be proportionally less expensive than in, say Paris, where the opposite protocol reigns, and this hotel is no exception. Terrific bang for the buck, with the only exception listed below.

The only criticism that I could possibly offer about a potential stay here is that breakfast is not only unincluded (perfectly understandable at these room rates), but costs 22 Euros a person, prix fixe, while one can venture just a few meters out to a cafe in the neighborhood and have a lovely alternative at a third of the cost. But this is a small complaint against so delightful a backdrop in all other respects!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
168 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

The rooms are beautifully furnished and the remodeling of this old bulding is remarkable. Each room appears to be different from one another as they follow the building's original shapes. The only suggestion I would make would be to add a shower in room 107 which has amply the space for it. Otherwise I strongly recommend this hotel both for business or leisure (location is great)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4etoiles, Responsable commercial at Hotel Cour du Corbeau Strasbourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Many thanks for the recommendation. For information, 14 rooms have a separate shower. Do not hesitate for asking next time of this kind of room. The management of the Hotel Cour du Corbeau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 127 in Strasbourg
999 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#2 of 127 in Strasbourg
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel D
#3 of 127 in Strasbourg
651 reviews
Hotel Les Haras
#4 of 127 in Strasbourg
354 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 127 in Strasbourg
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cour du Corbeau Strasbourg - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cour du Corbeau Strasbourg - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Cour du Corbeau Strasbourg - MGallery Collection
Address: 6-8 Rue des Couples, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#1 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#2 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cour du Corbeau Strasbourg - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk and get lost in corridors and on the passageways of a building of the 16th Century, perceive the courtyard through a window, or a sculptured statue which enjoys itself while the time goes by. Memory of formerly Alsatian inn from the time of all Czars and Princes. An established 4-star hotel of 63 rooms including 12 Junior Suites and 10 Suites at just a step from the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cour du Corbeau Strasbourg - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Du Corbeau Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing