We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the very heart of Strasbourg”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guesthouse Solen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasbourg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guesthouse Solen
Warsaw
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“In the very heart of Strasbourg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have originally rented Portofino apartment, because we needed 3 bedrooms and at least 2 bathrooms. On our arrival it turned out there was some plumbing problem there, so we have been offered (no additional charges) two double bedroom apartments: Cappucino & Ste Helene. We absolutely loved them. They are very clean, perfectly located next to Kleber & Tanneurs parkings, they offer very good speed free WiFi, and there are at least 6 bars and restaurants just metres away and all of Strasbourg central island within 10 minutes walk. Both apartments are very quiet, so no worries here.
The bathrooms are on the small side, but it's the only (and very minor) complaint I can think of, and easily understandable, as the building is a renovated historical old Alsatian building.
The Guesthouse Solen staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
If you want to go to Strasbourg, that's the right choice to be made.

Room Tip: You can watch most of the movies in the original language - the digital channels have the option to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TupMiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    4
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed as two couples in the Capuccino appartment whilst visiting the Christmas Markets in Strasbourg. After a bit of a false start with the booking (there was a UK agent showing the same appartment which got me a bit suspicious, but a phonecall quickly resolved any problems) we confirmed the booking and paid our deposit. It would've been nice to pay with a credit card rather than incur charges to make a transfer in Euro but overall the booking was professionally handled and friendly. The apartment was well furnished although as always with these kind of places there's not enough comfy seating for the number of people the appartment is usually rented to (just a 2 seater sofa). There's just a small shower room so if you have problems with mobility you may need to bear this in mind. Overall though the apartment itself was very clean and tidy and had everything we were looking for. Location wise it's a ten minute walk from the station for the TGV and right next to the Kleber square and within a short walk of all the main shopping and tourist attractions and right on the tram route too so excellent in terms of location. Overall we were very pleased with the apartment and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_T_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We had booked 10 days in Strasbourg over Christmas and understood that we would be in a 2-bed apartment for the first four nights as the Ecurie de Broglie apartment was unavailable until the 27th. We spent this first 4 nights in the Montreux apartment (see separate review).

On the day of the changeover we were told there had been a double booking (our booking of Ecurie de Broglie made 3 months prior) and were moved to the Portofino apartment. Not only did it bear no resemblance to the charming images of Ecurie de Broglie on the Solen website, it had only small living space, no DVD (we wanted to watch English programmes), little wardrobe space, minimal furniture, plastic bags on windows in one bedroom (no curtains yet!), but it was also noisy in the extreme. The traffic and pedestrian noise was horrendous at night and we were woken by vans and rubbish collection in the mornings! Not just on New Year's Eve, but all week! If you want to sleep before 3am or after 6am this is not the apartment to book!

Whist the owner was apologetic, we were offered a discount of less that 5% of the cost of the apartment for the error! We loved Strasbourg, but this apartment was no substitute for what we had booked and paid for and really impacted on what should have been a perfect Christmas holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the apartment you are booking is what you've seen on the website! Apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strasbourg hotels

Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed at 'cour des bateliers'. The apartment was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The owners were extremely helpful and flexible. The location was fantastic- within minutes walk of all the attractions but quiet and peaceful. I'd thoroughly recommend for a short or longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonRockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Est
ETC Hotel
ETC Hotel
#71 of 128 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Gutenberg
Hotel Gutenberg
#12 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Mairie Sud
Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe by HappyCulture
Petite France Centre
La Cruche D'or
La Cruche D'or
#19 of 25 in Strasbourg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Loft Kleber
Loft Kleber
#16 of 25 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Solen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Solen

Property: Guesthouse Solen
Address: 2 B rue Brulee, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Nord
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guesthouse / Luxury apartments in the city center ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing