We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had only several entries, was good”
Review of Le Gruber

Le Gruber
Reserve with
Le Gruber is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #418 of 1,470 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Price range: US$11 - US$29
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Had only several entries, was good”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Recommended by locals. Interior of restaurant was kind of country style. Service was friendly. Snacks (we were not very hungry) met expectations.

Helpful?
Thank Princessha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    412
    260
    163
    153
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely old restaurant”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Only here for one night. The restaurant has a very warm, traditional feel. Lots of wood! The food was delicious and the apple pie superb.

They made really welcome. I'm writing this in the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Ealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Service_commercial67, Responsable réception at Le Gruber, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Google Translation
Chers clients,

Nous vous remercions pour vos remarques positives concernant notre établissement.

En effet, nous sommes ravis d'apprendre que notre restaurant vous ait séduit.
Nous souhaiterions vivement vous y accueillir à nouveau.

Dans l'espoir de vous y revoir très prochainement,
Cordialement,

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“welcoming and warm”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We just walked in off the street on a cold winters night, just because the restaurant looked nice!!
We were a family of 7 and a quick bit of organising we were seated and warm.
Service was very efficient and reasonably fast, which is good when you have some tired children.
Pasta and pizzas and a wine and beer and we were all happy. The Casa al Salmone was good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Good and fast service close to the place de la Cathedrale, tasty local kitchen. Situated in a historical building with nice stylized decoration. A little bit narrow, though. On the contrary, easy to find a table.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Center of town and tasty”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This restaurant is just a quick walk down from the Cathedral (in the center of town) and just looks incredibly quaint. Inside, you would never guess that they can hold 450 people in 7 different rooms. The peak season in Strasbourg is December (Christmas markets), so coming now was ideal as the restaurant was busy, but not crazy. I had the best French Onion Soup I've ever had with a rich, silky beef broth with a nice amount of onions and crisp toast/cheese to soak in the broth. For my main, I went with the Flambe with Munster as munster cheese is traditional to this region. It was win with a really nice creamy sauce and not too filling. I ended the meal with a succulent piece of Black Forest Cake. The bottom layer had some cherry liquor that kept it moist and it had a layer of chocoalte mouse in addition to two layers of cream which made it epic!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Gruber also viewed

 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Le Gruber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing