We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located in a charming old building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Ranked #12 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level Contributor
657 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Centrally located in a charming old building”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

By Best Western standards this is not a big hotel but it was charming . Modern lobby but the rest was old style with antiques . Very pleasant and efficient staff , breakfast is an optional extra but if you take it it is good . We had a comfort room and whilst small it was perfectly adequate . As is often the case in France there was only a bath with an over the taps shower . Despite these two caveats I would definitely recommend this very conveniently situated hotel for a city break to the beautiful old city of Strasbourg

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    344
    72
    25
    19
See reviews for
111
458
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The rooms at this hotel were very small, but the location and the excellent staff made up for it. Both woman at the front reception, were overly friendly, funny, helpful and kind. The location is great, with parking right at the hotel. The rooms were small, but our room had been redone( but not the bathroom). It was clean, and quiet, with a nice window to the city. There was a nice selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Majority of places of interest are within 10 minutes walking. The staff are friendly and helpful, giving us directions and printing our boarding passes. Room is clean, but is extremely small. It is even smaller than the hotel rooms in some Asian cities in the downtown where land is scarce and expensive. There is no space for luggages, and we need to open one luggage on the floor in the narrow space between the bed and the window and the other one near the room entrance. We will try other hotel if we visit Strasbourg again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very pleasant and brief stay in this hotel. The front desk staff were exceptionally helpful (Marc and Elodie). Our room was a bit small, even by European standards, but very clean and completely functional. There is very little parking available in the hotel garage. The potential for damage to your vehicle is significant due to the extremely cramped space. We did not experience any vehicle damage. You must request your vehicle at least 30 minutes in advance of your departure due to the parking lift. It is centrally located with a wide range of dining and sightseeing options near by.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the hotel have a ton of street noise in the early AM due to deliveries to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdcrab73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here 9/15/13-9/18. Excellent location for all the things you'll want to see. Comfortable room, clean and roomy. Friendly, helpful staff. Special thanks to Anne-Marie for making our stay exceptional nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main street if staying on a weekend. The returning travelers dragging their r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ducatiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Were we to return to Strasbourg again, we will never stay at the Hôtel de L'Europe, and we will make sure no one we know does either. Let me explain why.

1) The night security guard is rude, incompetent, and in our two interactions with him, went as far as to threaten and shout at us. On our first day checking in, no one at the front desk told us that the doors will be locked after a certain time at night (we still don't know what mysterious time the doors are locked). After a good 10mins at the door that first night,we finally caught the attention of some people at the bar who alerted the guard who was in the back room the whole time. When we asked why the doors were locked and why we weren't told about it, he raised his voice and sarcastically said 'do you think we just leave the doors unlocked for robbers to come in?' and proceeded to raise his voice at us when we asked why we weren't told. There was no need for that attitude - we just needed an explanation for why the doors were locked and what needed to be done to get the attention of someone, lest there were no attentive bar patrons around (God knows the night guard was not as attentive as the bar patrons).

2) We had an early train to catch so we checked out early two mornings later. At that time there were no front desk staff, just the same night guard. When we asked to check out, he berated us and said we should have done so the night before (no one told us that was necessary when we checked in). He then tried to charge us nearly 70euro more on our bill, for the hotel breakfast even though we never had breakfast at the hotel - when we said the bill was not right, he said 'Well I'm just the guard, this is what we're charging you, its actually very reasonable because we usually charge other people more." How is that a reasonable explanation?! He then told us to accept the charges, just telephone back later, and then refused to give us our receipt (which we would need to contest the charges!). When we said we needed the receipt, he tried numerous delay tactics, which nearly caused us to miss our train. When we told him we needed to sort it out later because we were about to miss our train, he said 'well I don't care, you miss your train, you miss your train.' He also made some threatening remarks, and raised his voice (and arms) at us, which I don't care to repeat here. I've never had such an unpleasant experience checking out before.

3) We paid for a superior queen room, what turned out was two beds pushed together without any effort to keep them together. We spent the two nights trying to close the Grand Canyon between our beds. Not a great night's sleep in our book.

4) Housekeeping never cleared up some of the empty bottles and trash we had.

5) Front desk staff was not the most informative (if they were, they could have eliminated some of the unpleasant experiences we had with the night guard), but were also unhelpful and misleading at times. We got in at 4pm, and asked for a place for late lunch (if you're new to Strasbourg, do take note that most restaurants close after 2.30 or 3pm and open up again at 6 for dinner). The front desk staff sent us to a restaurant which was closed.

Granted, there are some good things about the hotel - it is centrally located near the cathedral, near Petite France, even near enough for you to make a run for the train station under 20mins (Which was what we had to do because the night guard delayed us by so much). Is anything about it great enough to tip the balance in its favor against all the other great, centrally located hotels in the area? I don't think so. Your stay could be completely pleasant if you don't run into any issues, but were you to run into any issues, don't expect this hotel to come up tops in service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

BE CAREFUL and CHECK YOUR CAR when you are leaving hotel. The repair costs me 1000€, VERY EXPENSIVE *** hotel
Hotel staff damaged my car when they were parking and they didnt accept the responsibility for this damage and especially what was very dishonestly...........they hided the damage - car was parked purposefully close to the tree kerb, so as to limit the opportunity to see the damage
NOT RECOMMENDATION

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DanielaLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Hotel D
#3 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#2 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De L'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De L'Europe

Property: Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Address: 38 rue du Fosse des Tanneurs, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Ouest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel De L'Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le bar, Deluxe rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Best Western FR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel De L'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Strasbourg
Best Western Strasbourg
Strasbourg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing