We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with parking at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Regent Petite France & Spa
Ranked #6 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great location with parking at a price”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Perfect location astride the canal in old town. Modern comfort in the old world, flat screen TV (CNN/CNBC/BBC), Paris Herald Tribune in the lobby, mini-bar, a/c, free WI-fi, welcome glass of champagne in the bar, parking at 24 euros per night, Room 203 had desk with one chair and table with two chairs and wonder of wonders a 240v outlet right under the room mirror so wifey could do her hair. Missing wash cloths appeared on day 2. There is a projector in the hall ceiling that projects your room number on to the rug, very cool. This hotel continues the inexplicable world-wide tradition of providing only one luggage stand for a double room so one suitcase goes on the floor. Unique location, excellent hotel..stay if you can afford it (recognize that Strasbourg is expensive (at this writing...1 euro = $1.40).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    326
    77
    24
    16
See reviews for
182
523
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed there 3 nights late in May....requested early checking but when arrived around 1pm our room was not ready....It was Monday and hotel's restaurant was closed. Receptionist was very nice and directed us to a restaurant across the canal...When we returned just before 3pm our room was ready....It was on a third floor but the elevator only went up to 2nd floor...So we had to walk up....Room itself was very spacious and clean but it looked as it was built in a former attic; with ceiling slanted...It was a hot day, and we were tired so we looked in our mini bar and they only had two beers....too bad the restaurant was closed.....first night was cool and we slept with open windows...just to be awaken next morning with a racket from a construction site just next to the hotel....after closing our windows, we found out that air conditioning was not working.
We called front desk and were told to move across the hall ( there were only 2 room on our floor )
No problem...the second room had air and actually it was better than the original ( 302 ). We ate breakfast at the hotel; mostly continental with average selection. We enjoyed local bar, with great server ( Michel ) but drinks were little overpriced.....Really, the only advantage this hotel has is a good location but otherwise it is an average establishment and little overpriced

Room Tip: Do not stay on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenePavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Strasbourg, Directeur général at Regent Petite France & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Mr. Pavol,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit. We have read with great interest your comments, and they are valuable to us to improve a quality that we want still increasing.

All your points, regarding the improvements that need to be made in specific fields and services have been reviewed with our team in order to take necessary action and correct any shortcomings.

In reference to our prices, we are sorry for the dissatisfaction you felt. Your points have been taken into serious consideration.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Regent Petite France & Spa as we would like to show you that this was an exception rather than the rule.

Kind regards

Sandrine Hugonot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is a combination of historic buildings and actually spans the river. It is perfectly placed for walking through the old town or down the riverside and the free Spa facilities are excellent.
Our "Classic" room was very well set up with quality furnishings, desk, table and chairs and was one of the most spacious we have had.
A memorable feature of the room was the huge ancient pillar and beam which the developers have wisely left exposed. On the "ground" floor, original water-powered machinery tells a lot about the important former life of the hotel buildings.
It's difficult to criticize such a fine and apparently well conceived renovation except to say that
there was a distinct lack of character or focus at the Reception area. Which did not spoil a memorable overnight stop.
Drivers: you can park at the door to drop off your bags and there is plenty parking space almost opposite the front of the hotel. It was free on the Sunday we were there but I think paid-for at other times.
Warning: We had a heck of a time driving to the hotel. Although we only had to cross a 20-metre long bridge, the "automatic" bollard refused to drop down into the road. Unfortunately when I phoned the hotel I was given misleading advice. The second call got what turned to be good info. But be warned, although the hotel address is 5 rue des Moulins, to access it, we were advised to drive to Place Henri Dunant which our GPS recognised as simply "Dunant." Once we found the nondescript Place, we asked around and found the car park in front of the hotel just round the corner (on the other end of the bridge with the dodgy bollard.) I was too tired to bother trying to make sense of this with Reception. Maybe it was just a Sunday thing but drivers might was to make a note as it could save a hassle.
Excellent hotel though in a great position, if you can find it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location and the superior room was lovely and a really good size. The only downside was we were on the top floor on quite a warm evening with no real air conditioning. Apparently they had a problem earlier in the week, so I understand it was better on other floors.

Whilst the hotel itself was excellent , what made it nearly outstanding were the staff who were all exceptional. They were all charming and efficient, whilst the young man on duty who came with me to find my car after I had to park it after getting lost couldn't have been anymore helpful. He probably stopped a divorce.

Would definitely recommend - just make sure you have a good map

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ajb693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have been here now a few times and it is a nice hotel in a great location. It is right in the middle of the river and very close to the historic centre. The rooms are good but because it is an old building, the vary a lot. Also during one of my stays, the air conditioning did not work and I could not open the window. Apparently the hotel needs to set the aircon on cooling or heating centrally - and it was on heating on a hot day. For the rest the hotel is good and a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Strasbourg, Directeur général at Regent Petite France & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear TravelAddictUK,

According to your comments, you seem to come back with pleasure in our establishment, and we thank you for that.

As you clearly explain it, the air-conditioning system needs to be switched on cooling or heating, and unfortunately we cannot have both in the same time.

We hope that you will keep a great memory of your stay and that we will welcome you again as soon as possible in the Regent Petite France.

Regards.
Sandrine Hugonot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Regent Petite France in Dec 2013 during the Christmas Markets (I know this review is a bit late) and we had such a fantastic stay. From the location, the room, the staff, everything was truly the best.

The city is a bit difficult to navigate with a car, so we were unsure on how to get to the hotel. We parked near the hotel and walked to check in. They were immediately so helpful in telling us how to get to the front and valet the car. Check in was great, easy and friendly, but the highlight was our room. Big, clean, and gorgeous, and the view was out of this world. We faced the river (I think all the rooms might) and could see the Christmas Market. The lights at night made it seem like we were in a fairy tale. The architecture in Strasbourg is stunning, and our room gave us the best vantage point to experience it. The bathrooms were very chic, modern and with full amenities.

The location was perfect for us to see the city and the markets. Right in the mix but just set back enough to feel serene. We didn't use the spa or restaurant so unfortunately cannot comment on that, but we looked around the hotel and the way it is built and decorated is great.

I'm sorry we didn't spend more time there, we only jetted over from Germany briefly, but we will definitely come back. We'd love to see the city more and this is the perfect place from which to do that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel at Strasbourg.The building used to be a fabric and now with the complete renovation is a nice modern hotel building.
Amazing experience since the begin due to we got upgraded to superior room with view to the canals. The room size was spacious and very clean, the decoration was good but not our tasted, the bed was very good and firm to sleep nicely through all night. Only the temperature of the room was very warm, it's necessary to turn it off as soon you arrived and open the windows.
The hotel has parking place very exclusive for this area of the city.
The personnel can speak English and they were very polite and proper.
About the breakfast is good but very pricey (Eur.24,00 per person).
To improve: if they charge so much for breakfast, they should give more variety and amount in case they have a lot of guests in the hotel.
The terrace was closed even when the weather was nice and sunny.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarceloenJen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#2 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athena Hotel & Spa
#5 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Hotel Les Haras
#4 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Hotel D
#3 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Petite France & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Petite France & Spa

Property: Regent Petite France & Spa
Address: 5 rue des Moulins | Place Henri Dunant, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Strasbourg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#8 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Petite France & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the magic of this exceptional establishment, located in the historic quarter of La Petite France, on the banks of the river Ill. You will be delighted by the hotel's selection of 75 rooms, each with its own sophisticated style. All rooms offer fantastic views over the river Ill or the traditional Alsatian timber-framed houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Petite France & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Petite France
Regent Hotel Petite France
Regent Strasbourg
Strasbourg Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing