We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Qualys-Hotel des Princes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Esplanade Hotel(Strasbourg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Adam's Hotel(Lingolsheim)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des XV(Strasbourg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Roses(Strasbourg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel de l'Ill(Strasbourg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Cap Europe(Strasbourg)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
118
173
33
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
173
33
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseuropean institutionsquiet streetspeak frenchcity centrereception stafftrain stationbooked this hotelstayed here for nightson footsmall roommin walkconvenient locationold townrecommend this hotelcouncilparkingtub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is a pleasant small hotel in a quiet street very conveniently situated for the European institutions. The service is friendly and there is free wifi which works well. There are only few eating places nearby but they are passable. But the plumbing is appallingly noisy as a result of the use of the French 'back to front' toilets that need a tremendous rush of water to clean the bowl - the noise comes through the walls from neighbouring rooms. And the wide choice of television channels includes (so far as I could see) not a single English language station - certainly no BBC.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidJFPollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Technically, the Hotel des Prices is supposed to be a 3 star hotel. In reality, its facilities and services should rank it as a 1 or, at best, a 2 star establishment.
The issues with the hotel can be grouped in four categories:
1/ shabby, tiny bathrooms with very noisy plumbing
Basically, every time somebody went to the bathroom, flushed a toilet or took a shower, you could hear absolutely everything. It was extremely annoying to be woken up multiple times at night.
2/ overpriced rooms with very basic facilities
For a EUR 120 per night, without breakfast, I was expecting a little more comfort. The room was small, very basically furnished and had a horrible view.
3/ poor communication / service
I called twice to ask about parking and was told that there were reserved spots in front of the hotel. However, once I got there late at night, I was told that the overnight parking was EUR 5 per night and that I had to move the car by 9:00 the next morning. I wish they had explained that when I made the reservation or when I called.
Also, the breakfast cost was not explained when I made the reservation. I thought it was included in the room price but in fact is EUR 13 per person, which I found a little stiff.
Had the reservation staff been a little more on the ball or pro-active, these two details could have been made more explicit.
The receptionist on the first night was also quite surly and mechanical, not at all service-oriented.
4/ inconvenient location
The hotel is located in a nice residential neighborhood, about a brisk 20mn walk from the Cathedral, which means it is a 40-45 mn walk to other attractions. That just pushes it over the limit of an acceptable walking distance in my opinion.
Overall, while I intend to visit Strasbourg again (a very enjoyable, beautiful and fun place), I would not stay at the Hotel des Princes and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gys_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The Hotel des Princes is located in a nice part of the city of Strasbourg, 15-20 minutes on foot from the centre and its attractions or just a 7/8 minute walk to the nearest tram stop.

The lobby area is bright and pleasant with a small seating area. The staff on reception are very helpful and speak French, English and German. They were able to recommend us a lovely and traditional alsatian restaurant nearby.

We stayed in a "Superior" room and breakfast was included in the nightly rate. The room was well-equipped with a flat-screen LCD television (with German and French television channels available), a large wardrobe area as well as a mini-bar and safe. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms are well heated during the colder months of the year. The rooms have large windows which let lots of light in during the daylight hours.

The bathroom was very good and there was a half-size bath, a large sink, mirror and a hair drier. There is also a shower head above the bath.

Breakfast is taken in a small room in the basement of the building. The walls of the room are painted with a nice mural and the room, although rather small, is perfectly adequate. The food on offer at breakfast was of a very good standard and the staff were friendly and helpful, offering you tea and/or coffee upon your arrival. We visited in October and the hotel was not very busy. However, it could be possible that the room would fill up very quickly if the hotel was fully booked.

The hotel are opening a new breakfast room with outdoor sun terrace very soon which should eliminate this problem of overcrowding and possible waiting times.

The surroundings of the hotel are lovely. The area is predominantly residential with beautiful historic buildings, typical of the city. There are several delightful cafés and patisseries within the immediate vicinity as well as a supermarket and several smaller food shops (magasins d'alimentation)

The nearest tram stop is "Observatoire" which is served by three of the cities tram lines (Line C - orange/ Line E - purple/ Line F - green) The station is reached in a few minutes on foot and the journey time to the city centre (Broglie or Homme de Fer) is around 8-10 minutes respectively.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel des Princes and would definitely consider staying there again if we were in the city of Strasbourg.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesie1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stood there for two days on a work related trip. The hotel is very plain, clean and quite. The personnel is friendly and forthcoming and speak several languages. The bathroom is neither large nor small, well cleaned and the pressure and temperature of the water is just perfect. Pity they don't have a shower curtain. The sound insulation is ok although you do here the neighbors showering. Probably the only small minus is the price of the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My partner and I booked our two night stay in August for a visit to the Christmas Markets of Strasbourg (early December). Honestly, this is one of the last few hotels within our budget available.

We were very happy with our choice upon arrival. It's only a short tram ride away from the the train station, followed by a 10 minute walk. The hotel is located in a quiet part of town away from the tourists (which is what we always prefer).

The reception staff were lovely and had our room ready for us even though we arrived at 10am. We were able to check in and found our room was nicely decorated, spotless and inviting. Our rooms faced the street but since the neighbourhood is mostly residential, getting a good night's rest was very easy!

We didn't have a problem with the hotel location - it was a great way to walk off the extra kilo's from the heavy Alsatian food we ate :)

(We opted out of the breakfast because it was too expensive, and went to the bakery around the corner. You can get a good breakfast for 6 Euro instead - and a pastry for the road! The staff there are also wonderful).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cindy2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews