We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Service by Owner and Front Desk Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De France
Ranked #40 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Orem, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Service by Owner and Front Desk Staff”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We made our reservation on line very late Sunday night, intending it to be for Monday night. When we arrived, there was no record of a reservation. The hotel owner and her front manager worked tirelessly to resolve the matter, first getting us a room anyway, and second finding that the reservation was made for the night before (although it was already about 2 AM in Germany where we made it on www.bestwestern.com, but the program is probably set up on USA time). The price had changed b/c of it being a Monday, rather than Sunday, but they worked very hard to make sure we were accommodated.
We had a large room (#306) with a large bathroom, with separate toilet facilities. Everything was very clean. Our room faced the street and we did not feel any vibrations or outside interference with sleeping.
We had breakfast which we thought was more extensive than many hotels provide: eggs, bacon, croissants, fruit, cereal, many drink choices, yogurts. Very nice, large dining room just off the hotel entrance. Service was very good.
This hotel is close to a large mall and main streets and only about 2 miles from the motorway. We took a large car into the garage and the car was well-protected and never at risk for damage. It is underground and around the corner from the entrance and requires a key, understandable security feature.
We walked all over the streets at night and during the day. Nearby restaurants, cash points, pharmacies, and move theater.
We would definitely stay there again. We appreciated their kind and dedicated service very much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileendoylecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHUBSCHER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sir , dear Madam
Thank you for leaving your comment despite worries at your arrival
we are pleased to be able to welcome you and hope to see you soon

Best regards
Claudine HUBSCHER
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    219
    111
    37
    10
See reviews for
99
201
11
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel not suitable if you come by car.
The hotel is located in the walking center zone and your car could be damaged by the parking who is the steepest we ever saw. We could not use it without damage, so we had to avoid it and park further at very high rates.
No help at reception for your luggage (the number of stars and the prices oblige them to help to carry the suitcases : they answer : " we are not enough in the staff, and not well paid, so you must carry your luggage by yourself ";
Apart from the manager (a lady in her 40-50 ties we rarely saw) who seemed kind, the young ladies at reception have a very high opinion of themselves, are arrogant, super ego trips and do not hesitate to critize customers publicly in front of other customers (never seen that before). Esp. Celine showed extreme impoliteness.
The big GSM scale of the City is just behind the hotel, at 30 meters from your window if you sleep at the back. So whether or not you see it, you endure the hyper radiations due to the proximity of the scale.
Rooms are very very small, too small for 2 normal adults who wish to rest, read or relax in the room.
Beds are too hard and made it impossible for us to sleep.
The hardness of the matrasses caused back pain during all the stay.
They only have one sort of matrasses, hard as stone.
Breakfast is OK, as coffie sets in the room.
But the prices are totally exagerated.
Problem: Strasbourg is very poor in good modern 5 stars hotels.

Room Tip: In front : noise. At the back : direct view of the BIG GSM SCALE OF THE CITY !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHUBSCHER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Sir

Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. your opinion is very important for me and for the team and I present you my apologies. I have taken good note of your comments.

Best regards

Claudine HUBSCHER
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

When I travel I don't expect an American size hotel room . Being low season, we got a good deal on a "Superior Double Room. It was very clean and VERY roomy. Our room was street side but they had double windows so noise wasn't an issue. Refrigerator in room

The hotel is an ugly 1970's building among all the cute buildings . Its about a 5 minute walk from the train station. We stopped at the Tourist Office in the train station to get directions to the street it is on. It is in a great location for all the sites

The tall gentleman who works the evening shift was very friendly and helpful.









.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labonvoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHUBSCHER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir

We thank you for your comment, and are glad you spent a pleasant stay
we hope to welcome you again
cordially
Claudine HUBSCHER
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Space is luxury here. It has large corridors on floors. Excellent carpet. Bathroom decors is good. Room supplies like soap, shampoo should have been more generous and branded. Excellent work desk. I could enjoy my supper here I reached very late. Excellent if reserved through travel agents for good rates. It is a little away from Rail station of Strasbourg. But with just 1 small trolley one can do. One has to cross a bridge and tramway track to reach here after passing through Rue Kuss from Rail station. Good breakfast array. Nice gentle similing service by a mid-aged lady at breakfast - really amicable and professional. Some accuracy and ease of handling complex booking is required by reception staff. Reception area can be decorated more, it looks very simple than rest of hotel.

Room Tip: View on the small saquare over looking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHUBSCHER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Sir
Thank you for your comment and thank you also for Maria serving breakfasts. We have noted your comments about the decoration and we are working on it.
Hoping to welcome you again
Cordially
CL HUBSCHER
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is far from being the prettiest one around, but it is very well located. The room I was in was of a good size, clean, had coffee and tea making facilities and a very comfortable bed. It was, I think, recently refurbished, but a bit sloppily, which is a pity. The bathroom was rather small, but clean and functional. Sound insulation was rather good although the hotel is located near a busy crossroad. Breakfast is a bit pricy at 14 euro, especially if one has in mind the fact that there are numerous bakeries quite close to the hotel. The strongest point of the hotel is definitely its staff - professional, forthcoming and efficient. There was a problem with my booking (not the hotel's fault) - sorted out very efficiently, a mistake on my bill - corrected promptly, I felt cold despite the radiator in my room - a mobile one was brought to my room within 15 minutes, and one more thing I found really amazing - my umbrella broke down and it was pouring down with rain outside. There were no hotel umbrellas to spare, but the lady at the reception offered me hers instead. This hotel is my second choice in Strasbourg just because I really like the general feeling my first choice gives me, but would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandaZg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHUBSCHER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur
Au nom de toute l'equipe je vous remercie pour votre commentaire. Votre avis à beaucoup d'importance pour nous et nous permet d'ameliorer notre service
Nous esperons pouvoir vous accueillir à nouveau dans notre hotel;
Bien cordialement

CL HUBSCHER
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spent one night in room 310 last weekend. The room was smallish but fine. We were given a twin, instead of double, room. It didn’t matter since the two beds were right next to each other. For our second stay in a row here the door card-key didn’t work and we had to use an old fashioned key. Not a problem but it is a bit frustrating to try the card-key (again) only to have it not work. I do wish they’d either fix the broken card readers or just revert to keys. There was no mini-fridge in the room although some others do have them.
Breakfast is okay. They’ve got a coffee machine so you can choose what you’d like. The bread and meat selections were kinda Spartan. And I still don’t understand the pre-packaged cheeses they serve. Really, this is France, home to some excellent cheeses and yet they serve packaged cheese? It’s decent but nothing better.
We really like the hotel, its staff, and the location. We’ll likely stay here again but the little frustrations are annoying.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHUBSCHER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr
Vielen Dank für Ihre Anmerkungen, informieren wir Sie, dass alle Schlösser im Hotel wurden geändert und wir werden Ihre Meinung zum Frühstück betrachten
Herzlich
CL Hübscher
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

For our first visit of Strasbourg, we stayed at this hotel: good location at walking distance of all the main landmarks of the city. We experienced professional staff and they were helpful every time we had a question or request. The room was not very large but for a short stay, this was just fine. The hotel is rated as a 4 star but it is more like a 3 star - but again, this is not a problem as the service made it up for the rest.
There is a kettle for tea or coffee in the room which is a big plus for us. We used the parking of the hotel: we asked for a large place because we drive a large family car. If you ask in advance, the hotel can accommodate to the size of your car. Overall, it was a positive experience and we don´t regret picking this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel-ZRH-MLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHUBSCHER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur

Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un agreable sejour dans notre hotel .
N'hesitez pas à aller sur notre site pour beneficier de nos differentes offres!
Dans l'espoir de pouvoir vous accueillir à nouveau

Bien cordialement

CL HUBSCHER
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#13 of 129 in Strasbourg
793 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#9 of 129 in Strasbourg
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Ouest
Citadines Strasbourg Kleber
Citadines Strasbourg Kleber
#45 of 129 in Strasbourg
290 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Maison Rouge Hotel
Maison Rouge Hotel
#19 of 129 in Strasbourg
1,121 reviews
Mairie Nord
Adagio Strasbourg Place Kleber
Adagio Strasbourg Place Kleber
#42 of 129 in Strasbourg
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De France

Property: Best Western Hotel De France
Address: 20 Rue Du Jeu Des Enfants, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel De France by HappyCulture)
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel De France 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Petite France" district, in Strasbourg's historic center, the Best Western Hôtel de France is the ideal host for a trip to Strasbourg. This hotel completely renovated in 2012 welcomes you all year in a lush softness and refinement. Every day, discover our HappyTime "Regional Aperitif" from 6pm to 8pm, you are our guests ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel De France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De France
Best Western Strasbourg
Strasbourg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing