We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, great comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Ranked #33 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
London
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Location, great comfort”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

As the previous poster points out, the hotel is not exactly located in the city centre, but a short distance away from the city centre. Getting to the hotel from the Central Station is really easy and is frequently served by a single line bus, except for on weekends, holidays when the frequency turns to a nightmarish a bus an hour. However, it's about 30 mins walk from the Station, so there's nothing to panic.

Exit the station, cross the road and there are two bustops on this side of the road. Ignore the first one and keep walking waya from the station until you see the next stop. Hop on bus number 2 from this stop and get off at Lycee Kleber.

The hotel is immediately visible from the stop once you get off. It is right in front of Tram Stations and is conveniently served by many tram lines. Tram B takes you directly to the city centre and is only 3 stops from the hotel and the European Institutions are only a stop away. Strasbourg is a small place and easily walkable. A walk from the hotel to the City Centre shouldn't take more than 15 mins although it is three stops away. That's about transport.

The hotel itself is just like any other Holiday Inn. Howeever, the rooms here are extremely large and clean. Staff are friendly and can speak in English/French/German so communication is not much of a problem. The hotel has a small lunge bar, which is open quite late and a decent restaurant open until 10 PM. Since we were here on a Easter Holiday when eveything else was shut, we had no option but to have few of our meals at the Lounge Bar as well as the restaurant. The Bar serves more than nibbles. You have some salads, soups and omelettes on its fare, which is not exactly out of this world but not bad either. Having heard so much about Sauerkraut, I wanted to try it immediately on arrival and I was impressed with what was offered at the in-house restaurant. I had the pork option and the meat was succulent and pickled cabbages were awesome. At about 16.50 Euros, I thought the price was a bit steep, but then realised the next day that all the restuarants in the city centre had pretty much same pricing.

The Gym area is quite small, and the indoor swmming pool more than serves the purpuse. The nroom itself is quite bit (We stayed in 212) and has a large bed, a couch, a small dining table to two, a 21 inch Lcd with cable, a cable for internet, small fridge, coffee and tea making facilities etc. As with the room, the bathroom was clean and quite spacious. The furniture was not of high quality, but looked good. Internet at 4.50 Euros an hour or 10 Euros a day is quite expensive. The speeds are quite good though and I got a consistent speed of 1.5 mbps.

One complaint about the room is the interconnected doors for each rooms. This makes the sound actually travel from room to room.

Breakfast is elaborate and you have a nice selection of cold meats, hot sausages, ham, breads, cakes etc.

All in all, a fantastic stay at a decent hotel. Highly recommened.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adarshry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    386
    160
    35
    19
See reviews for
254
235
25
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2010

contrary to it's name, this hotel is not in the center, but next to a tram stop, which brings you in less than 10' into the city center

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter_from_Braine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Rooms are fine a little tired but very clean. Tram is very close to hotel makes it very convenient to old town center.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank somanyplaces56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Quite large Holiday Inn. ABove average size rooms (for Europe). Clean. Very large carpark. Next to tram into city center. For Jewish visitors, very well located for easy access to synagogues , kosher restauranst and stores. We were entirely satisfied with our 6 day stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeathTikvaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pixley
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

My wife and i have just returned from a 6 day holiday with Traveleditions Holidays to Alsace regio staying at this hotel.I was a bit dubious before i booked this as I have not been that impressed by some of the Holiday Inns particularly the slightly older ones.
I am please to say all my worries were quickly dispersed.The Hotel is located across the road from one of Strasbourgs tram stops on the B line so you are 3 stops from the city center ,4 from the station or a half hour walk. Its also a stones thorw from the ring road as well for anyone travelling by car. The trams start at around 5 in the morning and not finish till late so if you want a slightly quiter room ask for one at the rear of the hotel. and We found the Hotel an excellent location for a stroll around the quiter parts of the city in the evening,the staff were nothing less than helpful and pleasant and while breakfast is a pretty bog standatrd affair we did eat at the hotel on three evenings and can report the food was very good with more than ample proportions.Food was not overly expensive either and far better in quality than some of the street restaurants in the city itself which are a bit of a hit amd miss affair.I would definitely stay there again. If you want to go a bit more upmarket out of town then try the Hilton just behind this holte which I am told is also very good but much more expensive.Beware going when the Euro parliament is in session as prices apparently rise somewhat. its also close to several venues for concerts as well and only 5 minutes walk to a delightful park and the river running around the city where you can walk around to the center.Yes the hotel may be looking just slightly dated but its clean and efficient with decent food and thats what counts.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kawasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed there a couple of days last week-end and here is our review:

* Hotel: It definitely needs renovation and, maybe more important for the IHG Group, a clear re-branding!
When you arrive at Place de Bordeaux, it's pretty difficult to see the Holiday Inn Logo on the roof of the building.
More visible is the Hilton not so far away...
So, surely not a beautiful hotel from the outside (I understand why they don't put a pic of it in their brochure...) but inside, it's slightly better.
At least, you could think this is the "Alsace Style" with wood everywhere.
Check the restaurant to have an idea of how a "Wine Stub" looks like...

* Reception: Nice and polite, very helpful.

* Location: Conveniently located between the European Institutions and the City Centre.
Both are on walking distance but there is a tram stop nearby the hotel (3 stops and you're in the heart of Strasbourg).
Great advantage as well: a large, safe and free parking!

* Room: Executive with a view on the City and the Cathedral, so perfect!
Not the latest trends in decoration (wall-paper, bathroom) but spotlessly clean.

* Breakfast: enough of everything (croissants, cheese, ham, fruits, bacon, eggs, sausages, ...), so absolutly nothing to complain about.

All in all, a good hotel and we'll surely book it again if we come back in Strasbourg!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHV009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We paid an unscheduled visit to Strasbourg on a European road trip, and were so glad we did. The big hotel car park (no extra charge) was exactly what we needed. We walked into the hotel un-announced and were offered a room for around £100. As the room wasn't ready, we were upgraded to a larger room at the front of the hotel, which had amazing views towards the city centre and the cathedral. The hotel is not right in the centre, but the tram stop right outside makes it really quick and easy to get in and out - only 3 stops and a few minutes on the very efficient tram system which we figured out with no problems. The room was clean, spacious, modern and quiet, and the staff were very efficient and welcoming. If you are travelling with a car, and don't want to spend too much, this hotel is a great option. We will definitely be back to this absolutely beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
2.1 mi away
Athena Hotel & Spa
Athena Hotel & Spa
#6 of 129 in Strasbourg
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Strasbourg
Hilton Strasbourg
#38 of 129 in Strasbourg
1,494 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
0.7 mi away
Hotel D
Hotel D
#3 of 129 in Strasbourg
679 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Strasbourg Centre Halles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres

Property: Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Address: 20 Place de Bordeaux, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the capital of Alsace, a short walk from the headquarters of the European Institutions, the Concert Hall and Conference Centre, the Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congrès is the ideal place to stay whether visiting on business or for pleasure. This historic city is very attractive: pedestrianized centre, the Palais de Rohan, Notre-Dame cathedral and “winstubs alsaciennes”.The hotel, renovated in 2010, offers 174 spacious rooms including 26 “Privilege” rooms.Our new restaurant “La Table du 20” offers a light cooking which emphasizes the flavours and the seasonal produce.The Lounge Bar offers an inviting and totally modern setting. A restful and Zen atmosphere, jazz style music in the evening, cocktails and interesting food throughout the day.Free admission to the Health Club will help you relax. Fitness facilities include a sauna, Turkish bath and large indoor pool.A Business Point, open 24 hours a day, provides services for business: Internet access, scanner, photocopies, fax, printer, etc. A Wi-Fi system is installed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing