We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Strasbourg Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Centre
Ranked #38 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Sydney
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here.

I agree the rooms are dated and need an upgrade (and a much larger tv!), but they are clean, large and comfortable.

The location of the hotel is awesome with car parking and wifi works really well. You are about 5 minutes from the city centre and the cathedral.

We found the staff to be excellent - front desk and breakfast staff in particular!!!

The breakfast was good - large range and attentive staff.

We really like the hotel and would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SXBCENTRE, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us your feelings about your stay in Mercure Strasbourg center. I will share with pleasure your satisfaction with the staff.They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

We are happy to inform you that all our TV will be changed during next week, and that we will get more channels in english.

So we hope we will see you again soon.
Best regards,

Nathalie Peter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    386
    119
    44
    9
See reviews for
92
354
39
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days during business trip to Strasbourg. Hotel is located in the old town of the city. It is not easy to drive to the hotel due to the contraction around the hotel. It is very easy access to the centre square of the city, church and other major attractions. Petit France is also only walking distance for sightseeing and dining.

It is very very basic Mercure hotel, there is still some renovation going on at lobby, well just a tiny little lobby. Room is very old and basic. There are two doors in the room, you need to close both to stop the noise from outside. Luckily it was weekend, there is no contraction going on outside the hotel, So I hardly hear any noise. Breakfast is very basic as well, right on the top of the building on 7th floor. Beautiful view from the breakfast place, but still too cold to sit outside.

Staff are friendly and helpful in general. Safer is not working in my room, staff offered to change to another room but i can't be bothered to move. TV is very old fashioned, I could not work out how to turn on, staff have to come up helping me. Bed is comfortable, bathroom is functional.

All in all it was okey stay at a very basic hotel in the centre of Strasbourg, but I might try some other options next time here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SXBCENTRE, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg Centre, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We inform you that renovation work will be finished in June, and that all our TV will be changed in June for new, modern and bigger ones, with much more channels in english.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,

Nathalie Peter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
448 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was not the best Mercure we've stayed in but it was OK. There is a lot of construction work going on in the vicinity of the hotel, something we noticed two years ago when we were here last, and there is scaffolding in the middle of the hotel lobby. But if you ignore that, the room we had on the 5th floor was quite comfortable and quiet. The reception staff is helpful and friendly and there is a convenient underground carpark with stairs leading directly to the hotel lobby. The hotel is connected to the adjacent Sofitel which has a nice patio area for enjoying an evening cocktail or glass of wine. The central location is probably the best selling point for this hotel. The breakfast area on the 7th floor is bright and pleasant and the wait staff is excellent and attentive. 17 euros is a bit high for what you get which was closer to the options typically offered at an Ibis rather than a Mercure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbird12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SXBCENTRE, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your point of view on your stay in our hotel.

We are very grateful for your remarks, that encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Please not that our renovation works (lobby, breakfast-room, corridor) are quiet finished (end of may), but we keep of course our privileged situation in the center, and the panoramic view from the 7th floor for breakfast...

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly to rediscover Mercure Strasbourg center after relooking !

Yours faithfull,

Nathalie Peter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel is old and not clean. There is construction work done outside the hotel and also inside the hotel. We read bad reviews on TripAdvisor complaining about dated, dirty rooms, and we only chose this hotel because a staff member commented on those reviews that the hotel should be completely renovated before April 2014. Well, there was renovation work going on and lots of noise, but our room (and that entire floor) was old. On the first night we slept terribly and kept falling out of the bed because, apparently, the frame of the bed was broken. This was fixed on the following day but still, the mattress was not comfortable. The shower and the sink in the bathroom were clogged (we complained several times but the issue was only partially fixed on the last day of our stay). There was constant foul smell in the corridor and sometimes in the room. An attempt to turn on the A/C brought much more stale bad smell. There were long black curly hairs on the fresh towels one day, and the walls of the bathroom/toilet are probably never washed, there were brown stains on them. The breakfast is quite bad for 17 EUR per person, and while the hotel's description promises a view on the city from the breakfast lounge, in fact the view is quite ugly onto construction work and industrial rooftops. As someone who travels for business very often, I find the 4-star rating of this hotel ridiculous, should be 2 stars.

Room Tip: If you must stay in this hotel, inquire which rooms are not near the ongoing construction work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImaShela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SXBCENTRE, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg Centre, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us. That's the reason why Accor renovate this hotel. If the renovation work are late, as usual, they will be finished in June, for your futur comfort.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,

Nathalie Peter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here on business this week..found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and ideally suited near to the centre of town. I had a few hours to kill before meeting up with colleagues in the evening so "did" a walking tour of the city, saw the cathedral and little France as well as the city centre. Easy walking distance to the train station and has underground parking. Breakfast was OK..not sure it was worth €19...Staff very friendly and speak English well....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taffywire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SXBCENTRE, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg Centre, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you very much for taking time to give us your feelings about your stay in Mercure Strasbourg Center. I will share with pleasure your satisfaction with the staff. We hope we will see you again soon.
Best regards,

Nathalie Peter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel makes it ideal to enjoy the Christmas Markets of Strasbourg first hand. At walking distance from everything, the hotel was a great part of our trip. The warmth and willingness of their employees to make us feel welcome, was always a highlight of our stay. The room al this hotel was also spacious and very comfortable. We would definitely recommend the Mercure as a great stop..

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LiPiMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SXBCENTRE, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg Centre, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us your feelings about your stay in Mercure Strasbourg Center. I will share with pleasure your satisfaction with the staff. We hope we will see you again soon.
Best regards and an happy new year,

Nathalie Peter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe by HappyCulture
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mairie Nord
Adagio Strasbourg Place Kleber
Adagio Strasbourg Place Kleber
#42 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Centre

Property: Mercure Strasbourg Centre
Address: 25 rue Thomann, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#22 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Strasbourg Centre is ideally located in the heart of Strasbourg, close to Notre Dame Cathedral, the picturesque Petite France area, shops and the TGV train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Strasbourg Centre Hotel Strasbourg
Accor Strasbourg Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing