We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
Ranked #9 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I love Sofitel as you always know that you will get an exceptional experience. Everything about our stay was perfect and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Great location within easy reach of everything and very quiet. Beautiful inside courtyard and seating outside as well as inside bar and seating area. Free wifi, Superb breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carsickchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile.
At Sofitel Strasbourg , we do our best so that every minute spend with us is a pleasure, that is why I am happy to read that you are satisfied with your stay.
It’s a real pleasure to read your satisfaction about the competence of our staff and the care reserved for our guests.
I’m looking forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is ideally situated for a tourist trip (10 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral and the most known tourist areas like "Petite France"). The hotel is classy, the staff amazing. All have been really nice and welcoming.

Travelling with kids we decided to take the junior suite, but, I have to concur with all the other comments the rooms are really small. With 2 baby cots (which are fantastic, because real ones and not pack-and-plays, which I have experienced in other hotels of the same class), the room gets easily packed. There is no space to move around. Which would also happen if you open the sleeping sofa.

The bathroom was of a nice size and the toilet is seperated. But the tub is very high, so when entering and especially when exiting you really have to be careful.

The best about the hotel is it's staff. They have all been great. Lazlo, the bell man, was charming, remembered us on the next morning and inquired about our day.

The breakfast (25€ per adult) may sound a little bit expensive, but is the money worth. The choice is great, the food excellent, hot, cold, all kinds of fruit. And the service was outstanding. The kids adored their first strawberries of the season!

All in all when returning to Strasbourg, I will definitively stay in the Sofitel again. But would in any case chose the suite again, because I can only imagine how small the rooms must be.

Room Tip: Take a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014
Google Translation

Chère Zivana,

Je vous remercie sincèrement d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience sur Tripadvisor et je suis ravie que vous soyez satisfaite de votre séjour dans son ensemble.

Je suis très heureuse que vous ayez apprécié nos services ainsi que l’attention qu’a porté notre personnel à votre égard.

Quant à vos remarques sur la taille de la chambre, je me permets de préciser que notre bâtiment, ayant été construit en 1964 nous oblige à composer avec de lourdes contraintes structurelles.

Je suis enchantée de lire que vous reviendrez séjourner dans notre hôtel lors de votre prochain passage à Strasbourg et j’espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à cette occasion.

Bien cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I started so well. Perfect welcome at the door, at the reception, swift check in, smiles, smiles and more smiles. For a moment I felt in Thaïland ! I booked a superior room in order to have a bit more space.
Sofitel is as unreliable as Best Western is regarding room quality.
The superior room isalmost smaller than a regular Ibis room. Accor's luxury brand, Sofitel, has the same room siez than the budget brand, Ibis.
Don't they know that the first luxury is space ?
On top of the smallest 4 star hotel room ever : a dirty toilet !
Long story short, the staff at the reception and the customer relation manager handled the problem in a gracious and effective way. We got an upgrade: luxury room category.
This is the room you need if you're two guests.
Being a platinum cardmember I should have been upgrated at check in. It didn't happen. In fact it never does. That's another problem with Accor : great marketing stories about recognition of the platinum status but no upgrade in real life.
Sofitel does a great job in training and motivating their staff.
Unfortunately their hard product is far too irregular except for the beds which are always fantastic.
The basic room in Strasbourg is 17 sqm. In Brussels it's 28 sqm. Go figure !
Nice breakfast.

Room Tip: luxury room is recommened if you're two guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nico m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear nico m,

I would like to thank you for your feedback about your experience at Sofitel Strabourg Grande Ile and I’m really sorry that our product didn’t fit with your expectations.
The size of our superior rooms is in fact restricted, due to the age of our walls. We were indeed, the very first Sofitel to have opened throughout the world.
Today, we must compose with this building and its configuration. Concerning the inconvenience with the toilets, I would like to apologize and to assure you that the general housekeeper has taken all necessary measures to ensure that such thing does not happen again.
At Accor, we always strive to thank our clients for their loyalty, that’s why I’m sorry that we couldn’t offer you an upgrade for your Platinium Status. The upgrade service is subject to availability and sometimes can’t be possible because of our activity.
I very much hope that these inconveniences didn’t alter the memory of your stay in our hotel and I would be pleased to welcome you in person for your next stay at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is a high standard hotel. It is about 10 minutes walk from Strasbourg Cathedral (a must see!!!), but in a very quiet área. The room has almost everything you need for a confortable stay. The Hermes products in the bathroom are very good. They have a kind staff( one, Jean Baptistte is portuguese speaking ). The breakfast is good, with hot and cold itens ( a little bit expensive ..).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CR1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014
Google Translation

Cher hôte,

Je vous remercie sincèrement de vous être pris le temps de partager votre expérience avec les membres de la communauté Tripadvisor. C’est avec un réel plaisir que je constate, après lecture de votre commentaire, que votre séjour s’est bien déroulé et que nos équipes vous ont donné entière satisfaction.
En espérant que votre retour se soit bien déroulé et dans l’attente de vous accueillir à nouveau au Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, je vous prie d’accepter mes sincères salutations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We went here for an anniversary weekend and enjoyed our stay. We were put in a room but found the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. So we were placed in the largest suite on the top floor that boasted a terrace, lounge, 2 bathrooms etc etc. This was of course superb. Location is brilliant. I really recommend this hotel and Strasbourg for a great weekend

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ophelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia A, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014
Google Translation

Chère Madame,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos impressions qui constituent un retour essentiel et nécessaire pour nous.
Je suis également ravie de lire que votre séjour vous ait été agréable et que vous ayez apprécié notre hôtel et surtout le professionnalisme de nos équipes.

J'espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau prochainement et de pouvoir vous saluer personnellement.

Bien cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice for work purposes but also had a few days free in Strasbourg. The bedrooms are excellent and the hotel is in the best position and location for a stay in the city.

Round the corner is the Place Kleber and the area has wonderful shops and restaurants. The Crocodile is magnificent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186334Judith_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia A, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us in the capital of Alsace. We are delighted to see that your stay was enjoyable and thank you for your positive review.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We left this hotel with mixed feelings. Our room was spacious and clean, and we had a nice view of the Place Saint-Pierre Le Jeune. The bed was big and comfy. The staff on the reception desk was welcoming and friendly. The hotel has a great location in Grande Île, the historic centre of Strasbourg.

On the bad side. The breakfast is terrible. It costs 25 Euro (inexpensive for a 5 stars hotel), but every time we practically had just some croissants and coffee with juice for this price. No cereals or yoghurt and poor choice of cheese and fruits. On the Monday morning we came down quite late around 9-30 am. And the buffet was almost empty. And they never filled it again. Also the service in the bar is awful too. Everything is slow. One day we wanted to order some cheese with wine and the waiter said he wasn't sure if kitchen was not closed, but he promised to ask. And he never came back with the answer. We thought okay, we came too late to have even cheese plate. So imagine our surprise when one hour later he came to the table near and told them that the kitchen was closing but they still could order something else! We we were astonished but obviously didn't want to have anything at this time.

So it's a nice hotel for spending a weekend in Strasbourg, but I think it could be much much better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happiest_girl_carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#5 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,060 reviews
Hotel D
#2 of 130 in Strasbourg
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 130 in Strasbourg
962 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#4 of 130 in Strasbourg
424 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 130 in Strasbourg
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile

Address: 4 Place Saint Pierre le Jeune, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#2 Green Hotel in Strasbourg
#2 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: £133 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the European capital, the Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile is preserved from the bustle city with an exceptional location. It has 150 rooms and suites and discreet luxury, a gym, a business center and a private garage with valet porter. The Terroir & Co restaurant offering local food products and The Link bar offer fine gourmet stop and an inventive menu to delight gourmets. Finally, the hotel offers 750m² of meeting rooms fully equipped with free unlimited wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Strasbourg Hotel Strasbourg
Strasbourg Sofitel
Accor Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing