We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“average everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

An average hotel, stayed 4 days, but for the Strasbourg I think is a good option. Is good to have the booking as far from the arriving date possible because the prices for accommodation are usually high if the booking is made close to the check in date. Despite this 3 star hotel is clean, at ground level is a heavy smell, maybe because of the building. The room is quite large for the category, and the room facilities are fair, fridge, coffee/tee facilities. The tv programmes are very poor, only 3 french programs available, other ones only by paying. Internet connection very very poor, the speed is from an "escargot". The breakfast is poor and modest, taking into consideration we are in a 3 star hotel. Because there is no restaurant in this hotel, you are forced to fulfil the food needs in other places.
If you are coming with the car, be advised there is an underground parking 60 m from the hotel, quite narrow, so take care to the car belly.
For around 100-110 eur/night including parking fee, normally I would have expect a little more from the hotel. Anyway, for a night, two can be an option. The staff is helpful and is sweetening the bad parts of the stay. Accessible to the downtown, only 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: on the street side can be heard sometimes shouts from the dunks, noisy groups, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeroniqueSiegel, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly, I am at your entire disposal.

With BEST regards,
Veronique Siegel, CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    447
    107
    16
    9
See reviews for
189
516
71
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
264 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend in Strasbourg and stayed here The location is very near the train station. Easy walk to downtown, although the area was a little run down. Never felt in danger but not really nice. Parking is at a public lot about 3 blocks away, not the most convenient but worked fine for us. Parked the car once and walked the city all weekend. Room at the hotel was a nice size with a nice sized bathroom, good and clean. Good shower. Room decor was not to my taste but for the price was pretty good. Staff was attentive and friendly. Breakfast was served in a nice room and had a good selection of food. Probably had the smallest elevator that I have ever seen. I would stay here again. Not the nicest place I have been but well worth the money.

Room Tip: We had an inside room so we just looked out into the courtyard and other rooms. The outside windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddy3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeroniqueSiegel, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you very much for your review. Your opinion is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our comfort, garage, breakfast and especially that you would choose us again for a future stay in Strasbourg.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again and we thank you for your confidence.

Awaiting this pleasure, I remain with BEST regards from Strasbourg,
Véronique Siegel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Nice hotel, good breakfast in Alsatian environment. Private parking at short distance from the hotel, if you want to access your car you have to ask at the reception. Free wifi. Very good location for the city center.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faith6feb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeroniqueSiegel, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay in our property. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed our accomodation, location, breakfast and parking.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a next stay in our nice city and I stay at your entire disposal for any help I could provide.
With BEST regards,
Véronique Siegel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I travelled to Strasbourg last early December with my parent when we decided to include it for Strasbourg in 2013 itinerary for the Christmas Markets before travel to Germany.
In august with my husband I had a terrible experience in this hotel but now, i only can say: it was perfect, clean, big room (the luxury room in the newest part of the building). Our room was very spacious and comfortable.) Keep going

Room Tip: Choose a room in the newest part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieGirona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeroniqueSiegel, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your survey, regarding your 2nd stay in our property.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed it and that you have taken the time again to share your opinion with the community of travellers of Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is really important to us and we use our guest's comment to improve our service and product continually.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a next overstop in Strasbourg and I stay personnaly at your entire disposal.
With BEST regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We enjoyed the BW Monopole Metropole Hotel last year that when we decided to include it for Strasbourg in this year's itinerary for the Christmas Markets. The hotel did not disappoint us. The staff was most accommodating, and very helpful. With its close proximity to the rail station, it is ideally located. As well, the Cathedral and the Petit France is within walking distance, so this was a practical choice for seeing the Christmas Markets. The room was spacious, well appointed, and comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful, with a lot of food to choose. When visiting Strasbourg, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaa0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeroniqueSiegel, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay in Strasbourg. I will forward your message to the entire team. Everyone does his best to make the stay of your guests enjoyable and comfortable. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our location, decoration and facilities and we are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in Europ.
Awaiting this pleasure, I wish you all the BEST for 2014 and remain with warm wishes,
Véronique Siegel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This was an overnight stop on a great railway journeys tour .Excellent location cross square from station and 5 minute walk down street straight in front of you. Old building but interior refurbished and rooms everything you would expect from a Best Westen Hotel .Rooms clean tidy with tea and coffee facilities. Good selection of food for breakfast . Good hotel for stopover.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank manwithsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeroniqueSiegel, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to fill in the review regarding your recent stay in our property. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and facilities and are looking forward to welcoming you back for a next stay in Strasbourg.
with BEST regards,
Véronique Siegel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is quite deceiving, It looks old and quaint from the outside, painted orange which fits in with the older buildings. As you enter, the lobby is quite modern, a lounge and breakfast room to the right are old looking and full of antiquey looking furniture. The stairs and corridors are looking a bit tatty with coloured carpets and wallpaper. But when we opened the bedroom door we were surprised how modern the room was. A quite big room with dark wooden floors, white walls, a white and chrome bathroom. It was also very quiet and comfortable.

it is about two minute walk to the outskirts of the old town, so it it well positioned. There are lots of restaurants near the hotel which are slightly cheaper than in the centre.

We were here to see the Christmas markets and lights and I loved Strasbourg. You need a few days to get round and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. (ask for a room at the back if you want peace and quiet)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe by HappyCulture
Hotel D
#3 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole

Property: Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
Address: 16 rue Kuhn, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Strasbourg
#3 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#9 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Monopole Metropole, close to the TGV train station and the old town La Petite France, is one of the most historical of Strasbourg. Discover the charms of the lounges with antiques and paintings of famous Alsatian artists and visit the collections featured in the "little museum" at the lobby. The rooms, traditionally furbished or contemporary styled are all non smoking and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monopole Metropole Hotel Strasbourg
Best Western Hotel Strasbourg
Best Western Strasbourg
Strasbourg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing