We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What does 4 star mean ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #21 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What does 4 star mean ?”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Lovely hotel with welcoming and helpful staff, especially reception. My fault that I did not read the detail on the hotel. NO restaurant, only a small ( beautifully decorated) room for breakfast. NO tea/coffee in rooms although you could use the minibar if you were rich and daft. nobody used the bar, very rarely manned. reception called the concierge/porter/waiter and you waited for him. Mind you once you hd been charged 20 euros for 2 brandies you did not call him again ! A lovely hotel tainted by a couple of omissions. They did offer a "free" taxi to their sister hotel Regent Petite France if you wanted a meal. 140 euros for the 2 of us but the taxi was indeed free. I am just confused as to how you get 4 stars without a restaurant or tea in the room ? I book 4 star hotels to get that sort of amenity. I guess I need to read all the small print from now on. Still a nice place mind and lovely staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    222
    55
    13
    8
See reviews for
77
249
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My husband and I are stationed in Germany and decided to take a little mini vacation for the holiday weekend. We booked through Hotels.com and received a great rate including breakfast for a two night stay.
The hotel is located on a main area next to the canal. We paid for a standard room, but what we received was not standard to us and we have done a lot of traveling through France and Europe in general. Our bathroom had a rain shower head, with great water pressure and a great tub to match., the toliet had a seperate door, so it was nice to have the two areas.
The breakfast was a tradional french spread with cheeses, croissants and the regular fare. Since it was included we made sure not to miss it each more. Make sure to look for that special if you book on hotels.com.
Since we live in Germany we drove and the hotel recommended we take advantage of the free street parking after 7:00 pm on Saturday through Monday at 9:00 am. This was a great suggestion and saved us 20 euro per night to park in their secure garage. We parked in the same area as porsches, bmws and audi's, so we felt good about the decision to park outside. I also read on another tripadvisor review, that the hotel would be happy to pay the meter in your absence, so you could just enjoy the day.
It was about a ten minute walk tot he cathedral, but that was not an issue at all. Strasbourg has so much to look at and with the main areas being on the canal system it is a nice stroll.
Make sure to make your dinner reservations well in advance to arriving for your trip. Almost impossible to get a reservation at any good restaurant without getting a reservation. The hotels sometimes have a tasting menu deal with a specific restaurant, so call the hotel, they speak english and they could probably set it up for you.
Make sure to have exact addresses to the places you want to go, if taking a taxi. We had a restaurant name only and the driver took us to the wrong place.
The sauna in this hotel is incredible. It has a locked room, so you have privacy while you are in the sauna and you need to reserve a time, so it allows the hotel time to heat the sauna arena and get it ready for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

This hotel is very good and comfortable. The staff was very solicitous and they all speak good English (what is a miracle in France). Waking, it's 10 minutes far from the center .

The only problem is and you should take it into consideration was the restaurant recommendation.

IMPORTANT: If they recommend you a restauran located near the Cathedral called CHEZ YVONNE don't go! It was an awful place, awful meal and most of all awful service. The service was good only for the locals meanwhile all the tourists tables were complaining. They showed disdain towards tourists. It was a very awful French experience. I know it's not the hotel's fault, but I must alert everyone about the restaurant Chez Yvonne and, since it was recommended by the hotel, I am registering my complaint here so the staff will not recommend it anymore and prevent other fellow travellers from having this awful experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_vattimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Went with a group of friends for the weekend. We were allowed to check in a couple hours early. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Said our cars were probably too big to park in the parking deck (which was 20 euros per night anyway) so they offered to feed the parking meters for us (since the times that the meters are in effect are a little random). We were able to park on the street in front of the hotel. Just gave them 5 euros and our car keys so they could put the tickets on our dashboard. So easy! Hotel is beautiful. Turn down service included, free disposable slippers, beds very comfy, rooms extremely quiet. Within walking distance to cathedral and town center (~10 mins). Only negative is that breakfast is not included. It is 20 euros per person so we did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Also internet is 7 euros per day. But we got a great rate on the hotel room. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeacrossthepond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I would absolutely recommend this lovely, luxurious hotel to anyone visiting the charming area of Strasbourg, France. My husband, 4lb. yorkie, & I spent 3 fabulous nights here, and would have loved to have stayed longer! The entire Staff, from Pierre(who brought our luggage to our room, and made sure we were constantly happy with everything), to the lovely reception & Concierge team (the only names I can remember are Fannie, Valentine, and the welcoming "Directrice" of the hotel), to room service and the "femmes de Menage", there was a feeling of warmth, friendliness, helpfulness, and a general desire to make all guests feel at home and welcome to this 4* hotel. The best example I can relate is that my husband inadvertently left one of his favorite leather gloves in our room when we left. We could not find it anywhere after we were on our way to Paris, and just assumed he lost it in transit. When we, on a lark, asked the Concierge of our hotel in Paris to call & check at The Regent Contades, we were informed that only did they find it, but it was already on it's way to our home in the U.S.! Shortly after we returned home, it came in the mail, perfectly wrapped & airmailed to our address!
I can not IMAGINE a hotel in our country doing such a kind favor, without even being requested! When I immediately phoned the hotel to thank them, they replied that it was "normale" to do such a kind thing!! I can not tell you how impressed we are with this hotel!
It is beautiful, immaculate, and absolutely magnifique!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaZuckerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed here recently for three nights. Arrived late in Strasbourg by auto with our GPS not working. Took us an hour plus in the dark to find the hotel. When we did, the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. They took our car, parked it ,upgraded us to a suite plus made us a late dinner reservation at a nearby restaurant. All without asking. Pierre, Fanny, Catherine and the rest of the staff were terrific.

Hotel itself is great and mostly walkable to all the sights. Strasbourg is a beautiful city but we did find it confusing to get around.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Regent Contades for two nights as we travelled across Europe. The hotel is a bit far from the train station but within easy walking distance to the sites of Strasbourg. In all, this is a pleasant hotel, but nothing really stood out, good or bad.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#2 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection

Property: Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection
Address: 8 Avenue De La Liberte, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Regent Contades, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Strasbourg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Strasbourg, only a few steps away from the Cathedral, and close to the European Institutions, this is a magical place where time seems to have stood still. The Regent Contades Hotel is a magnificent 19th century mansion with a stunning façade. Located on the banks of the river Ill, our establishment is the ideal starting point for an on-foot discovery of Strasbourg, all its places of interest, and its gastronomic delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western FR, Fastbooking, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Contades Hotel Strasbourg
Regent Hotel Strasbourg
Regent Strasbourg
Strasbourg Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing