We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argentoratum

Argentoratum
Ranked #24 of 1,416 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$54
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just a side street or two off the main walkways of Petite France, we came to this place after seeing the reviews and pictures on Tripadvisor. Wasn't very busy, but we decided to give it a try anyway. Glad we did, as it was one of my favorite meals, and my Dad's top favorite meal of our trip. Made even better by the best waitress we've had, who was helpful in translating, and hilarious to chat with. Refreshing after the bored and uninterested service we've had everywhere else on our 3 week trip. Cordon Blue was fantastic, Pig knuckle good, potatoes excellent, and escargot easily the best I've ever had. Highly recommended for a relaxing dinner on a quiet street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank d3mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    183
    32
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I always visit this place if I have a chance to be in Strasbourg. Nice environment, kind, helpful waiters fresh, tasty food. Very good wine too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikozsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
just outside of NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Went here after a rash of indecision in Petite France and a lack of interest in waiting for an hour for a good Alsatian dinner. The meal was fine, but unexceptional. The charcroute was OK - I had the misfortune of some particularly fatty cuts of meat and some unexceptional knockwurst (tho to be fair the pork was tasty).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank error403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Surprised and delighted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We went on a Monday evening and the restaurant was not full. We were warmly greeted at the door. The waitress was very nice and took the time to explain some of the menu items. The atmosphere was very modern and the restaurant was very clean.
We ordered a Toasted Goat Cheese Salad and an Onion Tart for our appetizers. A Bouchée a la Reine and a Cordon Bleu au Munster for our main courses. The food was served hot and tasted delicious! We were so full that we couldn't have dessert!
We will definitely go back to try other dishes and will recommend this adress to all our friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Carineaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Welcome newcomer to the Strasbourg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

This restaurant offers an interesting and enjoyable mixture of ancient and modern in Strasbourg. It is pleasantly quiet at the far end of Petit France. The food is consistently good and the service helpful and agreeable. Overall, a welcome addition to the sometimes rather sterotypical Strasbourg restaurant scene...

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Eurozoner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Argentoratum also viewed

Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Argentoratum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing