We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great, we're plaaning to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa d'Est

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa d'Est
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was great, we're plaaning to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Our first impression, and on the check in, the staff was very friendly and helpful. And during our stay they were always ready to provide us with the best service. The room was very nice, comfortable, wide, nicely decorated, and most of all clean. We appreciated the quiet location of the hotel. We surely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Najjars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    215
    53
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
316
24
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We were greeted by a very professional and helpful lady having made a last minute booking and she smiled and put us in a suite -- because it was open. A lovely room and bath. We LIKE to walk so being 10 minutes from the center of everything (including noise) was just fine. Our car was safe in an underground garage and we wished we could have stayed longer. We will be back!

Room Tip: Book, then ask for best available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

I would agree with the previous reviewer mentioning the difference between photos of modern, refurbished rooms and the reality. I travelled with family in Dec 2010 and booked two separate rooms. Although the lobby is fairly nice, both rooms were incredibly dilapidated and unbelievably dark (only a tiny, cheap bedside lamp that wasn't even suitable for reading). The bed was hardly big enough for two people (a small double) and the mattress quality was worse than the cheapest 1 star hotel I've ever stayed in. The bathroom had black mould in the grouting and our bath tap was broken. Additionally, the hotel also pulled the standard trick of acting as if breakfast was included in our rate only to then be charged about eu15/person for a buffet breakfast (on top of eu140 room rate). Definitely will not be back. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalahorse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARO67, Directeur général at Hotel Villa d'Est, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Nous avons le plaisir de vous informer de la totale rénovation de notre établissement en 2013. Nous vous invitons à découvrir un hôtel neuf et magnifiquement rénové qui validera sa 4* en2014.

Bien cordialement,

La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Texas
Level Contributor
316 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

Taking advantage of a internet special we stayed at this hotel and were very pleased. The two hotel rooms we stayed in were both updated, as well as a third room which we were shown. I think the rooms' design was understated and showed attention to detail (spreads matched the pictures and the accesories). There was plenty of hot water in the bathrooms which were very clean and well-designed. I followed the advice on breakfast and ate at a Salon de The away from the hotel. Paying extra for a parking slot in the underground parking (a short block away from the hotel) made sense. The hotel is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the old town, but it is safe. Pets were allowed for a small fee: we later learned they had dog beds and bowls but we had brought our own.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

You won't be disappointed even if you are picky about bathrooms like me. Clean, recently renovated bathrooms with big showers. The other couple we were travelling with asked for a tube so they were upgraded to a deluxe room. Staff was helpful and nice. Sauna is to be booked in advance but then you can use all the wellness part privately. Between 2 guests they clean it. Be careful with beds, if you like sleeping together, ask for double bed (grand lit) while booking. Breakfast is not included and quite expensive so we ate elsewhere. And they have no capuccino at all. But anyways if you eat out it is not a problem anymore. City center is a 10 minutes walk but we had sunny weather so it was ok. The hotel is close to the motorway exit so easy if you are by car and especially if you plan to go to the wine road.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Our room was practically a suite by other French Hotel standards. Very well thought out use space and well designed. Be sure to request a double rather than twin-single room if you romantically inclined and the classic European "shower over bath" will always be tricky for those not familiar with yoga positions. Conveniently close to the centre of old Strasbourg and walking distance to a number of decent restaurants. The Velhop Bicycle system is the way to see the town. Espresso from room service surprisingly good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Generally, we liked the Hotel Villa d'Est, and the staff were very welcoming, accommodating, and helpful. However, we would have both liked to have had hot showers in the morning before setting off on our tours of the city. Our first morning, there was only enough hot water for one. When I phoned the front desk about this, they were very helpful and took my partner down to the workout room in the basement so that he could use the shower there. But the second day, the problem recurred, and we just didn't feel like going through that song and dance again, so one of us did without the shower. I think the hotel management should have been more proactive in getting this problem fixed.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doughlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel D
#3 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe by HappyCulture
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Athena Hotel & Spa
#5 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa d'Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa d'Est

Property: Hotel Villa d'Est
Address: 12 rue Jacques Kable, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa d'Est 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace at the heart of Strasbourg, the Villa d' Est is the ideal spot for your stays. A short walk from the historical places, train station, convention center and European institutions.From our elegant breakfast room to our bar “Le Rohan”, from our inviting terrace at the heart of the hotel to our fitness room : we place emphasis on our high-end style of reception blended with French life style and manners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa d'Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Est Hotel Strasbourg
Hotel d Est

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing