We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently situated stay”
Review of Maison Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Rouge Hotel
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Espoo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Conveniently situated stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Having stayed in Maison Rouge several times, it is my favorite hotel in Strasbourg - thanks to its excellent location, near Galeries Lafayette and FNAC, and bookshop opposite. Breakfast is very good and even healthy. My rooms have always been very clean, I have seen bigger rooms elsewhere, but I like quiet corridors of this hotel, some nice paintings and autographs of celebrities who has stayed here. The personnell has always been very friendly and helpful. There is also nice possibility for Wifi and TV set is of high quality. Rooms with balconies are very nice - to have a drink and look to the city.

Room Tip: Make reservation early - fill up among first hotels in busy time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malverns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    556
    166
    35
    14
See reviews for
159
522
52
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, N.Y.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

"Close to railway station, close to Cathedral. Hotel lobby and staff excellent. Decor fine, rooms are
adequately sized, quiet, although balconies open onto street. We were totally satisfied with this hotel!"

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tymichna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Spent several nights here on a recent trip to Alsace. The hotel was in a great central walking location. The room may be a bit small, but pretty standard for Europe. Like most of France, breakfast was an additional charge and while plentiful wasn't anything outstanding.

Yes, it's a tour group type hotel, but I found the service, price and location to be perfect for my needs. I'd be pretty happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalDixieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Perfect location in the center walking distance to everywhere.
The lobby downstairs very is nice ,spacious and confortable;first floor very pleasant as well with great armchairs.
The room (121) was very small ,very dull,and very poor. what was unbearable is the bed linen : a sheet and an old worn out blanket...i got alergy in my eyes..
Bathroom was very basic as well.
The fire alarm got off in the middle of the night,we went to the office desk and had no excuses.
The receptionist on our departure could not give any information except there was no restaurant opened on sunday for lunch except the macdonald and that there was no other mean of transportation except taxi to go to the airport (she ordered one for us :it costed us 50 euros to go to the airport;it was sunday but still !)
Too bad they do not make an effort for the bedrooms ,because this hotel would be great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Twp., Mich. United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The Maison Rouge is a well appointed downtown hotel, offering very well appointed compfortable rooms. The hotel was quiet making for nice sleeping. The staff was very polite and extremely helpful in answering any of our questions. When you come by car, the hotel is difficult to get to so call when your get near by and they will open the streett posts for you. We spent two very pleasant nights here. We did not eat breakfast although it looked very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubber8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two nights and the location couldn´t be better. It´s close to everything and you can walk to the train central station (about 15 minutes walking with luggage). At first we´ve thought about choosing a hotel in the little france, but that wouldn´t have been the best choice. The hotel employees were also very giving and the room was excelent (Cozy and clean).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klettenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Wanted to like this hotel but it fell way short. I believe this is a tourist hotel where groups travelers tend to go since we saw several large groups a couple of times. The lobby is fine and breakfast area seems okay but the room we had was pretty bad. Very small and that's okay but the furnishings are old and worn, the television is old but the bed is the worst thing... it is so low it feels like you are sleeping on the floor and the mattress is way past its expiration date. My back was killing me after the first night. To top it off it sounded like running water in our bathroom constantly and also like there was a giant dryer above our room ...maybe their laundry is up there...it was very odd. Our room looked nothing like the rooms on their website and when I asked the front desk if we had gotten the right room I got absolutely no satisfaction...in fact the girl I dealt with was very rude and everytime we saw her she seemed completely overwhelmed. We are not demanding people so we just left it go and went about our business but we would never return to this hotel. The location is terrific but the hotel itself needs to renovate the rooms judging by our room and maybe they need to train their staff to be a little more accommodating. This was our 2nd time in Strasbourg and we love it. We went there this time for the Christmas Markets and they were wonderful...enjoyed it alot. Also found a great restaurant.....Au Dauphin near the Cathedral....the Charlois Chateaubriand for two was outstanding ! Hope to get back to Strasbourg again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#2 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Rouge Hotel

Property: Maison Rouge Hotel
Address: 4 rue des Francs Bourgeois | 67000, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#17 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Rouge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Rouge Strasbourg
Hotel Maison Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing