We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with friendly and professional staff”
Review of Maison Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison Rouge Hotel
Ranked #18 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location with friendly and professional staff”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel. Rooms were lovely and comfortable (superior room with giant bathtub). Location perfect and staff were friendly as well as very helpful.

One tip: streets around this hotel are a complication mess. Our navi kept telling us to go down streets that were blocked off. Next time I would just drive to the parkhouse nearby (the hotel has special rates at one of them -- call them first) and walk from there.

Room Tip: Superior room much larger than standard ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m-in-heidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    564
    169
    35
    14
See reviews for
164
529
53
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Hotel is just in the Quality of Hilton. The hotel is located very well. It should be among the Top 3 list of Strasbourg Hotels

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I thought the location of the Maison Rouge was very good as it is central to the inner city. A city parking garage was only 200 meters away with reasonable rates. The condition of the hotel and the friendliness, courtesy and helpfulness of the staff was very good. The room was perfectly adequate for short stays. I used hotels.com to book and was able to save money over the advertised rates despite it being the weekend of the big independent wine producers exposition. I thought I got my money's worth all the way around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel due to the passing trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank_wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I had to cut my vacation super short during a three week business trip in France and threw away two months of research and diverted the dumped the multi-city holiday to visit Strasbourg, which I knew nearly nothing about. Of course I looked up reviews on Tripadvisor and Maison Rouge looked like a good place for base camp and was very reasonably priced.

Upon arrival the outside of the building is beautiful and the entry is also very nice. The front desk people were very pleasant and every clerk we met there spoke excellent English. There are unique couch/lounge type areas on each floor near the elevators that create a space perfect for relaxing to read a book or drink coffee. All of this combined with nice hallways to the rooms all left a good first impression on us as we made our way back. It was a surprise when we got into our room and saw how small the rooms actually are. They aren't overly tiny (i've been to Japan and seen tiny rooms, lol) but compared with the nice entry, hallways, and lounge areas I guess it just seemed a little unexpected. I'm not condemning the room size or anything, just was a surprise when the door opened. Then you open the door to the bathroom and it gets big again. The bathroom in our room was huge with a double sink and lots of counter space and extra wide floor area and deep tub.

The location for this hotel couldn't be better. The tram is directly in front of the hotel, shopping is on all sides, the giant square is one block away and Notre Dame Cathedral is maybe a 10 minute walk. The area wasn't loud with drunkards at night or anything and we slept like babies all three nights. You are pretty much in the center of everything. Petite France is less than 10 minute walk too. We never even grabbed a map because the hotel was so centrally located that it was easy to find. There are tons of places to eat within a five minute walk.

My only real complaint was the breakfast situation. We tried to eat breakfast there on the first morning and took the elevator down to the first floor and found the entrance and there was no one to be found. We talked for a bit waiting for someone to show up but nobody was arriving. We finally started saying hello loudly because we could hear some staff behind a closed door laughing and talking but they couldn't hear us. We were standing out there for quite a long time and I'm a pretty patient person. Finally we got loud enough that someone came out and they took our room number and pointed into the room and left never to be seen again. We sat ourselves and browsed the breakfast bar. It is yogurt, canned fruit cocktail, bad scrambled eggs and soggy bacon. The instant coffee machine was not up par with the coffee I had been having in France. We took our sweet time eating and drinking the mediocre coffee and nobody ever came out to check on the buffet, ask how we were, or see if other guests arrived. It was rather strange. We didn't have breakfast there again.

If I go back to Strasbourg I would stay at this hotel again. The location, front desk staff, and value of this hotel are great!

PS: There appears to be a very nice espresso/coffee machine booth next to the reception desk that I wish we would have tried instead of venturing out each morning. I genuinely was having a lot of hit and miss experiences with the coffee in Strasbourg.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanSolo3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Ideal location in the center of Strasbourg for a short stay. Heating had a bit of a mind of its own in our room. Tram runs directly outside but you get used to its low rumble. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br0ssac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here New Years Eve. The location is very convenient and the hotel is clean. My main complaint is the paper-thin walls - could hear other guests very clearly, especially in the bath.

Room Tip: My room was just over the street car line, ask for one that is not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BReisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Maison Rouge is a clean, well positioned, reasonably priced hotel. It is competently run by pleasant staff, but its a bit plastic.

Good things: its in the city centre, close to the Christmas markets, the old quarter, the gluwein, the shops, the cathedral etc, and walking distance from the railway station.Its clean and the staff are helpful and friendly.
But: the rooms are a bit tired, the breakfast is unmemorable, and that's kind, We didn't try any other meal, this is hotel that does what it does and is resting on its laurels, stay if you need somewhere convenient, but this isn't an "experience"

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingshuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 127 in Strasbourg
774 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 127 in Strasbourg
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 127 in Strasbourg
999 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#2 of 127 in Strasbourg
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Rouge Hotel

Property: Maison Rouge Hotel
Address: 4 rue des Francs Bourgeois | 67000, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#17 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Rouge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Rouge Strasbourg
Hotel Maison Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing