We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable room”
Review of Maison Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison Rouge Hotel
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at the Maison Rouge Hotel when visiting Strasbourg for the Christmas markets. The hotel is perfectly located and it's quite an easy walk--one market is just across the street.

The room was large and fairly standard--what you'd expect from a large hotel. Our room faced the street and had motorized rolladen, which were great for blocking out light and noise. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

Wifi was only accessible from the hallway, which was a total pain. We could hear guests in the neighboring room.

The staff were helpful and efficient. We passed on breakfast because we thought it overpriced and we had breakfast in a nearby cafe.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athena-fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

Fantastic location in the centre of town. Nice and quiet, big spacious rooms, extremely helpful front desk. Taxi ride from the train station costs only 6.50 euro and saves lugging suitcases over the cobblestone roads. Delicious food nearby on la petite France and great vibe in the city with the capitale de Noel - mulled wine and Xmas markets throughout the city centre, loved it! Make sure you try the tarte flambée and special Xmas brew beer!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The location of the Maison Rouge is excellent. It is right in the middle of the Cathedral, Place Kleber and Il le France. We stayed there for two nights on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and though the entire Strasbourg was a bit quiet, we loved the experience. They make such a huge deal about Christmas and the decorations are spectacular!!

The hotel bathroom was spacious and the room size is also perfectly adequate. Having read that Strasbourg is one of the 100 most expensive cities in the world, we thought this hotel was rather good value at 111 Euro (breakfast excluded). The wifi worked well in our room and the reception staff was friendly, professional and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilzedewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights in December for the Christmas markets. Location is a 10 minute walk from the train station or you can take a tram from the station to a block past the hotel. Rooms were large (had bedspreads and drapes with a shoe and boot pattern). We had a little French balcony outside our room. Our bath was in two parts- sink and tub one room, toilet in another room. Our friends had a larger bath with everyting all in one room. Rooms were clean. Hotel has elevator and each floor had a landing area with sofas and Christmas trees while we were there. We arrived before checkin, but they have a locked room you can leave all your luggage in with access to a bathroom. There was a computer in the lobby for use and wifi seemed to work fine for my friend. Breakfast was good with meats, cheese, breads, sweet rolls, yogurt, cereals, fruit, and eggs. Coffee machine to make all types of coffees. We were close for walking to all the markets, the Cathedral, and la Petit France. We enjoyed walking in that area and shopping the markets there. Took the train down to Colmar and enjoyed that town and market too. Two hour train ride from Frankfurt or Stuttgart.

Room Tip: The trams run outside the hotel till midnight, I think. If you aren't used to any noise, you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-Seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Located right next to Place Kleber, 10-min walk from the train station. Very spacious rooms, clean, nice reception from the staff. Breakfast (buffet) was varied and very good. Only disavantage: wifi access in the room was not very easy, had to go out in the hall for a clear reception.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Location Saves this Hotel...

One night weekend stay from Switzerland for the Christmas Market. Booked a few days before and therefore we had very little (no) choice in the city....but we were expecting a little more given the reviews on TA.

Funny thing when you walk in is the door has four stars on it...the pamphlet with the map has three stars next to the name :-)

That little sign made me ears stand up...

Hotel decor is dated but the entire establishment is clean- absolutely nothing to say here...the place is kept up. Staff is attentive. They are also worked hard during this period and perhaps they are sometimes a bit sharp...so I cannot fault them...they are trying hard.

The room was 'superior' and for 200euros a night disappointing (w Bfast for 2).

Two low beds on wheels- reminded me of Ikea beds you have that slide out from under other beds....the bedding is passable- ie the sheets are fine (clean) but the blankets and bedspread really quite low end and not comfortable.

The TV is small BUT they have free wifi- unfortunately our room didnt have coverage :-(

The bathroom was big and bright (and recently renovated)- loved the bidet.

Bathroom amenities were really basic and unimpressive- for this price where are the little extras in the bathroom?!

Finally, the furniture in the room- brown and ugly....and though we saw AC (good in summer), but in December, the double windows let alot of cold into the room....thank goodness for the curtains that blocked out the cold mostly...still....another sign of a hotel that doesn't have everything together....not for four stars.

What saves this place is the great location- and if there was nowhere else to stay, I'd stay here again as the people are nice and the place is clean....but for the money and assuming choice, I would recommend trying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We are currently staying here and are so impressed and happy about this choice. We are here for the Christmas Markets and the ones here in Strasbourg are exceptional. The Maison Rouge is centrally located in this best of European cities. Our room is large. Bathroom is big with marble everything. We have a large batthub. Love that after a busy day of sightseeing. The service is wonderful. We are Americans who do not speak French. And yet we are treated with warmth and welcome. There is free Wifii. I highly recommend Strasbourg. It is now one of my favorite non- capital cities in Europe- Salzburg is another favorite. And staying at Maison Rouge adds to the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzbraughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear Sir, dear Madam

Your opinion is very important to us and I would like to thank you for having filled in the survey regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We just can say thank you very much for your compliments to all our team.

We just hope you'll be back asap in Strasbourg !

Sincerely

Emmanuel DELEPINE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#9 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,088 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 130 in Strasbourg
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
#10 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,403 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#7 of 130 in Strasbourg
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Rouge Hotel

Address: 4 rue des Francs Bourgeois, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#17 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: £66 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Rouge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Standard rooms to Suites, each room offers discreet comfort and relaxing elegance. Whether for work or leisure, the pleasure remains the same ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Rouge Strasbourg
Hotel Maison Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing