We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of Maison Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison Rouge Hotel
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights and found it to be really well located for sightseeing and shopping. It is right in the centre of town and only a short walk from the train station. A great base to explore the old parts of the city.

Rooms are well appointed and good value for money. Breakfast is your typical French style meal but one of the better ones we have had set in a very pleasant dining room.

The hotel is well maintained and it is very reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again.

We caught the train to Colmar, 40kms away. I hadn't been there since I was a child but remembered it as worth visiting. The old town is beautiful and it is a lovely day trip from Strasbourg on the train.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshMaiden_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    577
    171
    36
    15
See reviews for
168
540
55
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Good but somehow plain in services. Very centraly located. Staff was nice and willing to help. Internet connection sometimes was a bit slow and often was dropped. Clean and tidy. Nicely decorated rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Maison Rouge is a big name in Strasbourg, right in the middle of the old town. Good for wandering, shopping, and travelling to other little cities, like Baden-Baden and Colmar.

Transportation: if you come from the train station, pass the little garden in front of the station and find the main busy road right in the middle, follow it and walk for 10 mins (you will also pass a lillte bridge) until you see Galeries Lafayette on your right and the hotel is just next to it. You can also take tram A or D and it is the third stop just pass Lafayette. Hotel is on the same side of street, 20 steps away.

Room: medium sized, classic decoration. I think my room is newly decorated with a modern toilet, new furniture and wardrobe. There is hair dryer but no kettle or fridge.

View: my room is facing the tramway and busy street but I have no problem with it. The noisy is manageable even when you open the window. When you close the window, the room is sound proofed.

Concierge: there are two middle-aged men serving the reception in day time - one is rude and one is ok. The rude man is such that you shouldn't ask him any questions. But serving a reception includes the job of answering questions, am I right? You should expect to answer thousands of the same questions each day, but this is you job when you serve the reception! At night time there were one younger man and woman who were much better and nice.

Breakfast: you can find the famous PAUL and a chained brasserie and MacDonald's on the parallel main road (just pass the alleys in front of the hotel and you will find them) for about 5-7 euros for breakfast. Supermarket is also on this road.

Price: the published price for a single or double room is around 150 Euros per night. As I booked almost 6 six months ago and on uncancellable terms, the price is half of it.

I saw small groups of about 10-15 person staying at this hotel (probably Japanese) and large coach parking right in front of the hotel in the morning. If you don't like groups staying, you should avoid this hotel.

Overall: For half of the published price, location and decoration, I think this hotel is a good bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucerneSau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night in January with my parents. The hotel is very well located with the walking distance to main pedestrian streets and good restaurants. My room was quite big, although my parents' room was much smaller. The furniture was very modest, not too modern. This hotel was a pleasant short stay, although I would not choose this hotel for a long stay - it lacks some style and character.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiem_Travel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We (two of us) stayed here 23 to 27 May.

The location is great because it's smack in the middle of the city and within 10-15 minutes walking distance to just about everything you want to see. It's a nice enough hotel with relatively clean and reasonably sized bedroom and bathroom but it has seen better days - it's age was evident. It has a 4 star rating which I'm unable to figure out even if I seriously strain my imagination. If I'm being very generous and somewhat happily inebriated, I'd say that it's an average 3-star hotel.

We were on the 5th floor overlooking the corner of the main street and a side street. Although we can hear the trams, the noise wasn't very loud. Unless you're super sensitive, the sounds from the trams shouldn't be a bother. I wouldn't say that the staff were "friendly" in the sense that you would say they were "warm". Rather they were "professional" - just doing their job, so to speak. I spoke French, by the way.

We didn't opt for the breakfast because I wasn't willing to pay the price for it so I can't comment on how good or bad it was. There're lots of places you can go within 5-10 minutes walking distance for coffee, croissants and other goodies for less than 10 euros. Like some others before me, I found that the wifi doesn't work in the room. When a hotel advertises that wifi is free and available, it's disappointing to find out that it's only partially true. It works - if you're willing to go down to the lobby.

Strasbourg itself was nice but somewhat overrated. Colmar, some half hour or so south by train, is a much prettier town. You can also head all the way to Basel in Switzerland, about 50 minutes or so away from Strasbourg. Freiburg, in Germany, can be reached by a combination of train and bus within about 45 minutes from Colmar.

Room Tip: No wifi on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenn831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, CA
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel was elegant and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was courteous, helpful, warm and welcoming. Breakfast was bountiful with a wide range of choices. The best was its location, right on the A Tram line, and within walking distance to the train station as well as the cathedral. There were plenty of shops nearby. Unfortunately, our 2 days there landed on Sunday and Monday, Ascension Day--so none of the stores were open. I was so disappointed and kicked myself for not checking out the stores upon arrival late Saturday afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stepsinthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vero beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is an excellent location-but not great for drivers. There's no easy way to drop off the luggage in front of the hotel. It is a maze of one way streets and pedestrian zones. We parked in a public garage for $25 per night. The wi fi did not work in the room. Breakfast was 15 euro per person. Room was a little dated, but it was nice to be in the center of things.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel Hannong
#9 of 129 in Strasbourg
942 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 129 in Strasbourg
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#5 of 129 in Strasbourg
1,021 reviews
Hotel D
#3 of 129 in Strasbourg
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Rouge Hotel

Property: Maison Rouge Hotel
Address: 4 rue des Francs Bourgeois | 67000, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#17 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Rouge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maison Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Rouge Strasbourg
Hotel Maison Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing