We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located Hotel”
Review of Maison Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison Rouge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a lovely old building which has maintained the wonderful staircase and kept the character of the building with its choice of furniture in the lobby on each level. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. I had chosen a Superior Room as the website said these had all been renovated. The room was very large and clean. I was disappointed the bed had sheets and blankets and not a duvet. We had tea making facilities - but when I used the tea bags on the first morning, these were not replenished by the cleaning staff, not were the mugs washed/replaced for clean ones.
The central location of the hotel is excellent. It's easily accessible by tram from the Gare Centrale. Tram A or D is only 3 stops and you actually pass the hotel in the tram then walk about 100m from the tram stop to the hotel. It's situated right next to Galleries Lafayette. The double glazing in the room stops any noise from the street or the trams.
We had breakfast in the hotel. The breakfast room was actually two smaller rooms with windows to the front street. There was a good selection of items for breakfast. Although the pastries (namely croissants/pan du chocolate) were a bit disappointing considering we were in France.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Lovely description.

Regarding the tea making facilities, you have adjusted the service
Regarding the breakfast room size ; did you notice you have 3 rooms side to side so you can accept more than 90 people at the same time.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here! Our room was air conditioned and very spacious. We loved the location, it was easy to find from the train station and for getting around to sight see! We will definitely stay here again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stacia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sir

Thanks for your great recommandation

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It's my first time visiting Strasbourg. I found I was totally right to choose this hotel. What a cool place I had. The hotel site is near to Strasbourg's attractions. I spent a wonderful time during the beginning of summer here. Thanks to the kind hotel staff. I'll be back again definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jutamard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sir

Really thank you for your kind recommandation.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The property is in an ok location, but not great if traveling by car. The room was clean and facilities were generally fine. However, I was extremely disappointed in the customer service when I realized I had left my old phone in the room. Several calls were not returned, the hotel never offered to follow up. If you stay here don't leave anything of value in your room, or it will be gone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Buckeye719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear SIr

A lot of thing are found every week.
Any found thing is registred.
Each time we're doing our best to find if lost.

I will inquire why we never follow up your request

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The main reason to choose this hotel is that it is really located centrally in the old town. It's a bit old fashioned but the staff are truly friendly, giving good advice on places to eat and see and really multilingual. The bedrooms are of a decent size but it was the first time in years i had a bed with sheets and a blanket rather than a duvet. Quite good sound isolation from the outside but not from the upstairs neighbours. The bathrooms are ok but one of the mornings there was no hot water, just lukewarm. Luckily they provide great towels. I understand the breakfast was ok, but given the nice weather we preferred to have it some other place where we could sit outside and enjoy the morning sun. Can't compare yet to other hotels in city, so i 'd say I think one pays extra here for only the location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntwerpDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Sir

Thanks for your great comment.

Regarding sheets and a blanket rather than duvet, just notice we have both half anf half equiped. Some people steel preferto have the choice.

We know now you prefer duvet so next time we will find it if you will

Really sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A very grand hotel under Gallery Lafayette. Many notable people have stayed here. Framed signatures on grand sweeping staircase. We had a room at the side with a balcony and electric shutters. Staff were very helpful and everything was luxiourious, is curtains, carpets. We only breakfast in a very pleasant room. So central to station and Rhone. Delighted.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

You really enjoyed your stay in Strasbourg at Hotel Maison Rouge.

Thanks for this nice recommandation.

We hope we will have time to stay again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is perfectly located within a few minutes' walk from several beautiful sceneries and places to eat in strasbourg. I loved walking around, a mall is nearby, easily accessible by public transport, a few minutes from petite france and basilica. Highly recommended to stay here and be in the heart of beautiful strasbourg!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leliz0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Sir

I really appreciate your "Highly recommended place to stay in the heart of beautiful strasbourg"

Thanks a lot for that.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#15 of 130 in Strasbourg
818 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 130 in Strasbourg
962 reviews
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#5 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel D
#2 of 130 in Strasbourg
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Rouge Hotel

Address: 4 rue des Francs Bourgeois | 67000, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#17 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: £76 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Rouge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Rouge Strasbourg
Hotel Maison Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing