We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit different” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #54 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Dorsten
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A bit different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Le Grand Hotel, very close to the railway station, but also to the city centre, is in an excellent location. Even if you arrive by car, they have a special (at 7.40 per night affordable) deal with a very good parking situated about 250m away.
The hotel itself is in an old building, but thoroughly renovated and redesigned in a modern way. It is not exactly what calls itself a "design hotel", but the direction is visible.
We had been in a "superior" room and it was spacious, especially considering the hotel is a bit older. Most of all, the bathroom was huge. It offered a bidet (be careful, the water pressure easily wets half the room), a bathtub and a huge sink with a wide mirror. The bed was very large as well. And, a problem in most other hotels, it even offered a rather large bed. After we had mentioned during the online-booking that we had two children with us, a 3rd bed and a crib were put into the room even before our arrival.
The staff was very friendly, helpful and multilingual. Most of them spoke excellent German and nobody failed when it came to English.
The breakfast was fresh and tasty, quite French (croissants and baguettes).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoernla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    245
    167
    38
    24
See reviews for
104
235
36
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed as a couple in the hotel on the 10.6.2011. The rooms were very clean and pleasant. Location is great (5 min. from down town) and the included breakfast was quite tasty. Our room doesn't include an air-condition - so it can be unpleasant during summer time. the only remark is that the free internet conection (Yaaa!!!) was very slow.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YohaiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed here with 2 adults and one small child for two nights.

Pros - The location is great, next to train station and short walk to main tourist spots. Staff were very helpful and the room was spacious and fairly clean. Breakfast was very good but could be busy at times, but we did not eat here if they did dinner. Nearby restaurants were quite good. Free internet was good to have but a little slow.

Cons - Becasue the air conditioning was not the best, it got a little noisy at night with the window open and the street and nightclub noise was apparent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lethhaly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
646 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

We stayed one night at Le Grand Hotel in December 2010 to attend the Christmas market. We wanted a hotel within walking distance of the markets and because we were driving, easy in/out of the city. The location was good, directly across from the train station and a 15-20 minute walk to the city center and all the sites. There are restaurants close by. The hotel has an agreement with a garage for parking at 7EU/day but we were able to park on a side street. As mentioned in previous reviews, the rooms are SMALL! Prior to arrival I requested a larger room, but did not receive one. The room was very clean, functional, with a flat screen TV, tiny “desk” no coffee maker and very quite. The high speed free internest service worked very well in the room. The size for an overnight was fine, but if you plan to stay longer, you might look elsewhere. The bathroom has a very tiny shower stall. Check in/out was fast and efficient. Breakfast buffet was included in the price and was well picked over upon our arrival and not often replenished. Hot/cold food, cheese (never replenished) plus meat/breads were served. It is well located for the Christmas market, shopping and historic sites. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but not a memorable hotel for either service or it's hotel rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

While it was chilly and raining for the Christmas Markets in Strasbourg, we fully enjoyed our stay at Le Grand Hotel. We spent two nights in early Dec 2010. Modern styling. 5 - 10 minute walk to the city center and 1 minute to the train station, so this hotel has a very good location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ch5082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We recently stayed here for 6 nights and found the hotel to be delightful. We paid the extra 20 Euro for the “Privileged” room which gave about 50% extra space a lounge and a separate toilet / bathroom as we were travelling with our adult daughter. The beds were very comfortable with both European and Western pillows.

The hotel foyer has a modern feel and the staff at reception and in the kitchen are very friendly and helpful.

Parking is in a nearby public car par and costs 7 Euro once your ticket is stamped at the front desk. Wi fi is also free but does not reach to the rooms at the extremities of the building. You can also hard wire your connection if you have a cable or pick one up from reception for a deposit of 10 Euro. The connection is also free.

It is directly opposite the modern Strasbourg station and only a 10 minute walk from beautiful downtown Strasbourg.

I can highly recommend this hotel as one of the best we have stayed at during our 3 month European trek.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlturner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

The room was good with a good view
Location is not very far from the touristic area

Air condition smelled bad and made the room smell bad
Small bed bugs that might give serious allergy

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary-elsannady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
#25 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Inter Hotel Le Bristol
#27 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe by HappyCulture
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 12 Place de la Gare, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of the ideal location, right in front the TGV train station, in the centre of Strasbourg, just 5 minutes walk from the historic area 'La Petite France' and 10 minutes from the main tourist attractions. With its simple setting, brightened with a touch of Pop art, the Grand Hotel prepares to give you a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking and Booking.com so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Strasbourg
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing