We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed!”
Review of Hotel Le Grillon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Grillon
Ranked #69 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I booked over Booking,com, payed more for better room. We are a couple with his mother 75 years old with us. I phoned few days before departure to explain that we have a senior person with us. Position of hotel is very good, everything is close - central train station, garage, center. Hotel is recently renewd, but not completely. Our room 106 was not bigger then 4 m2 with a tiny single bed (like for a child) very thin double bed (140 cm large), no air condition (with outside 36 Celsius) and cubicle of bathroom, not bigger then one in the airplane. There was only one tap for shower and bassin, and while you showered, the water run outside, because the shower place is 1 cm lower then the rest of the cubicle.
The view (which view)???? The receptionist hardly speaks and english or german, only french, but she tried to help and that is something positive. The oposite side of our room, 109 was open for cleaning so we could peer inside to see realy nice, big room, which woul cover all our needs. We are dissappointed, even for one night it could be a better experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room 106, ask for 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerone25012007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    80
    41
    23
    19
See reviews for
28
58
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel just steps away from the train station and the old town. I booked a single room and the room they offered me was a bit smelly, the carpet on the floor looked dirty and one of the lights was broken. I went to the reception and told them the light was broken and they gave me another room, which was totally different from the original room. The new room was very clean and bright with big windows. Overall, I satisfied with the service level of the hotel and felt comfortable during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

There were 4 of us that stayed here, not couples, and we got 2 queen sized beds (Not a massive problem). The room was rather spacious considering it was one of the cheapest hotels we found in the area but we weren't even in the hotel that long.

Pros
- Good location (Minutes away from the nearest Metro)
- Balcony large enough for all 4 of us to chill on
- Cheapest in the area
- Friendly staff

Cons
- Can be quite noisy all hours of the day/night
- Bathroom was tiny with low water pressure
- Room looked very outdated with old bedding, etc

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connorconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosignano Solvay, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Small rooms, Mediocre Bathrooms, very few electrical plugs, dirty, torn and ugly bedsheets.
Reception divited in Hotel-Pub all together and at night if you want the key you have to wait until customers are served "Beer" at the bar. Unfrendly Staffmembers.
Wouldn't reccomend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strasbourg hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Excellent location but very noisy at night. Windows open up into a courtyard which makes it very difficult to sleep. Nice big TV with HD and Wifi a plus. I'm not sure if any rooms open up onto the front street so their situation could be different.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanalane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel haw a good location as far as sightseeing is concerned but very very noisy as far as sleeping is concerned. It was not the cleanest hotel I have ever been but it was OK for the money.

The bathroom was a bit "claustrophobic" but clean and thank god we stayed for two nights so we managed without a shower.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PanosB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Hotel Le Grillon was nothing special but it was not bad. It is very basic and the location was pretty good. We did not have a hard time finding it either. The neighbourhood was average as well. If you are on a budget I would recommend Hotel Le Grillon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Gare Centre
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#60 of 127 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Hotel Vendome
#53 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Hotel Victoria
#76 of 127 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inter Hotel Le Bristol
#20 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Couvent des Franciscains
#57 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Hotel des Vosges
#92 of 127 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grillon

Property: Hotel Le Grillon
Address: 2 rue Thiergarten, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Grillon 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located 3 minutes on foot from the center of Strasbourg, the TGV station, the tram stations, the cars and bicycle rentals. An ideal localisation ! From the TGV station, walk down the rue du Maire Kuss, straight on for 150 meters. Possibilities to stop in front of the hotel, to deposit luggage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Grillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grillon Hotel
Le Grillon Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing