We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, Hotel okay for 2 stars”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #108 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in Hotel des Arts for 3 nights in January and were not disappointed.

Location:
The location of the hotel is simply perfect. In the heart of Strasbourg on a picturesque small square, just 2 minutes walk from the Cathedral. Tram and bus stops just some minutes away, easy access to all parts of Strasbourg.
Strasbourg is not made for cars, nevertheless it was possible to park on a road just some minutes away as parking is free during the night.

Hotel:
It's a tiny hotel in an old building, real french style rooms. Breakfast room and reception is okay, there was always enough space. A little refurbishment of the rooms and staircase would not be a mistake.

Room:
We had a room (as we asked for in the booking) on the 3rd floor with excellent views. Heating was okay, but the bath room was oldstylish and there was no heating inside. Quite a "cool" experience after a shower.
Cleanliness was in the middle, some black spots next to the windows.
Bed was very comfortable, two pillows, one chair and writing desk, small closet, Flat-screen TV (French and German programs), phone, good lighting.

Breakfast:
Typical french breakfast, definately more than usually. Fresh baguette, butter, margarine, different jams of high quality, honey, juice, water, fruit, selection of different yoghurts, Cornflakes. One Pain auf chocolat per person, coffee machine (Espresso, Cappuccino, ...), selection of tea.

Staff:
We had to do Check-In in Hotel Rohan, which is about 2 minutes walk away as the reception hours are limited. Lady was friendly, gave good information. Check-Out easily. Gay-friendly behaviour, what I appreciated in general very much in France.

All in all a nice hotel which is living from its location, compared to other hotels in Strasbourg a good deal for the price and a short stay. Don't forget: It's just 2 stars. If there would be an update in the room furniture, it would be simply perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alohafan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

The best I can say is that the location near the cathedral and Maison Kammerzell, is excellent.However, the rooms were dingy with old and rather battered furniture. Breakfast was included and it was OK.This hotel is fine for an overnight stay and is good value for money but that is all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We were looking for the best location on a limited budget. Can't beat the location at all! The cathedral is a two minute walk as are several Christmas markets. But the room we stayed in was barely passable. The front desk clerk put us into room 104 which is the first room at the top of the stairs next to the public toilet. You can hear everything in the rooms and hall. People have complained about the size of the bathroom but it's a standard size European bathroom... So no complaints about that at all. However, the stained carpet, nicked/ worn furniture and the TV in a closet are really *barely* passable. Our room was musty, too.The beds were fine enough but the room was boiling hot, even with the window open and radiator off which made for uncomfortable sleeping, even in December! The breakfast was included in our rate and was surprisingly good but very simple. Bottom line is if you're just looking for somewhere to sleep for a quick weekend trip, it's fine. Don't expect grandeur... And the staff is also just okay, not super friendly even if you speak French. Good wifi service. (Note: 12 Euro taxi ride from train station...)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at this hotel because we wanted something affordable and near the town square for our short visit. The location was wonderful and the staff very helpful and friendly. They were great with maps, directions and assisting with transportation. The room, like many hotels in Europe, was small and that was fine. There was ample room for 2 large suitcases and 2 adults to move around. However, the condition of the room was still shabby. Stained carped, distressed furniture, a terrible mattress. Only one outlet in the room and the one in the bathroom didn't work. There was black mold spores growing on the bathroom wall and the whole room had an old musty smell. I was expecting less than 4 star in Strasbourg for $100 per night but this hotel should have been $50. I'm
glad I only spent 2 nights sleeping with a spring jabbing me in the back....

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDeneuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

i stayed in Citotel Des Arts for one night on the way from Paris to Austria

Advantages:
- very good location in the heart of the old city and main attractions.
- clean rooms with nice view from the window.
- firendly helpful staff
- good price

Disadvantages:
- difficult to find.. no proper direction and boards
- no staff at night. if you reach the hotel at night you'll not find anyone to check you in, after many tries , someobdy answered the bell saying that the check-in is available in another hotel whoch is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. it was kind of a bit inconvenient.
- if you are driving, it is difficult to find a car park around.
- small rooms, and the smallest bath/toilet i ever seen in my life.
- Poor Breakfast.

However, it is recommended if you want to sleep for one night

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayrouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Location, Location, Location. You cannot get a better location if you're looking to see the Cathedral, Le Petit France, and take a boat tour of the city. You're less than a block from the Cathedral and the river boat locations, and only a short walk to Le Petit France. Daytime noise could be an issue, but the night time noise could be worse. It all depends on you, and when you want your silence. If we had wanted to take a nap during the day, you'd definitely need all the windows closed. If you wanted to go to sleep before midnight, again, close the windows. If you like the lively atmosphere with all the different sounds (people, music, traffic, etc), then no problem. In addition to the tourist sights, you're within walking distance to all kinds of shops for food and material things. On Saturday morning there is a great street market that takes place about 1/2 block due west of the front door (can be seen from any west facing room). The internet worked fine, although I seem to remember a proxy server that limits the ports that you can access. We opted not to pay for the expensive coffee/croissant breakfast, so we don't know if it was worth it or not. We found that the walking distance to the main train station was just fine, although some may say it is too far. After we figured out how to run the AC, leaving the windows open no longer became a problem. Opening the windows in the early mornings is quite nice though. Do not be fooled by complaints about church bells being too loud. We found that even with both windows opened (corner room) we could barely hear any. The only negatives that we had were that when we did leave the windows open, we got a lot of cig. smoke from the street level coming in, and that the desk staff was not overly friendly. They certainly were not rude, but did not go out of their way to be friendly either. Would definitely stay here again and have no problems recommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoiseBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

very good location -- can walk everywhere --- located in a noisy spot during the day but that makes it even more part of the ambiance -- parking is available very close ( you need to pay , but i advise that you do this )-- i apprieciate the citotel chain and try to stay at one of these hotels whenever i travel ..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel Patricia
#74 of 130 in Strasbourg
152 reviews
Mairie Sud
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#30 of 130 in Strasbourg
333 reviews
Hotel du Dragon
#51 of 130 in Strasbourg
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Centre
Hotel des Anges
Hotel des Anges
#103 of 130 in Strasbourg
67 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Le Kleber Hotel
Le Kleber Hotel
#66 of 130 in Strasbourg
320 reviews
Logis Hotel Au Cerf d'Or
#68 of 130 in Strasbourg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: 10 Pl du Marche aux Cochons de Lait, 67060, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: £52 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Des Arts Strasbourg
Citotel Des Arts Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing