We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent address for a great stay in Strasbourg”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #108 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Loved this one! Stayed 4 nights. Super clean; fabulous pedestrian location, in the historic centre, a short walk from the Cathedral and river boat services, and surrounded by great traditional cafes/brasseries/restaurants & shops. Wonderful way to 'feel' this beautiful, romantic city.

As we would be exploring a lot we settled for a practical, budget hotel and while the room had quirky charms (slightly slopy flooring), it was very comfortable. If you close the windows at night noise shouldn't be a problem. The shower was good, the bed very clean and comfortable, and the view from the windows was lovely.

Breakfast was informal & good (+ wonderful coffee!) This place is basic, so don't expect drinks facilities in the room. TV & WiFi available. The furnishings are quite dated (e.g. carpet was tired) and there were imperfections (small holes in wall from a previous fixture). But everything was very clean. Reception staff were kind and helpful. Staircase only, so not great for those with mobility difficulties.

Will definitely come back. Book through a discount hotel site and you'll get unbeatable value for money - and definitely ask for a room at the front of the hotel. Shhh! room 202! (more windows and light)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

The only positive thing about this hotel is location. We are staying here for two nights and I can say that the first impressions are below our expectations. The hotel is rather shabby, rooms (at least the one we're staying in) are small, and the bathroom!!!!, it's difficult to call it bathroom, as it is so small that if you want to use the toilet, you must be rather slim to squeeze into the space. Be careful while washing your face as my partner hit his head twice on the shelf. Now the breakfast. It is so basic (just a croissant per person (and not more), some cereal, coffee and butter and cheese)! If you need milk for your coffee, you need to ask for it.
So, our overall opinion is average, if not poor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nbesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Bathroom was a joke (a) It's a really small shower room and (b) to be able to move around and use the sink you have to keep the so called bathroom door open. No indication that if you arrive after 9pm you need a pass code to get into the Hotel, and when we left at 6.30am there was no staff on duty. Also the room was full of flies and a couple of mosquitoes. Overall this Hotel might have a good location but it is basic to say the least.

Room Tip: It is not surprising they have included no pictures of the so called bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicDrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a 2 star hotel with a 5 star location, which is great, if you want the location, but don't want the huge price tag attached to it. Because of the value, we extended our stay from 3 nights to 6. Considering the price you can't complain much, though of course it would be nice if they had small amenities such as a water kettle and tea/coffee in the room, along with a mini-fridge. But, we checked other hotels near the cathedral and many start at double the price, with no guarantee of a view. From our room you could see the canal where the boat cruises depart. The bathroom is small but is not an issue, if you consider the price.The breakfast is basic, but does the trick, and the free wifi is great - they even have a computer in the reception/breakfast room. Overall, a clean, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safari_larki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel is good if all you care about is location, which in this case it was a fantastic location. The room was slightly larger than a closet and the bathroom was a shoebox. Probably better if you are traveling single. It is located in a pedestrian zone,so you need to park your car in the parking garage underground or find the hotel parking which was filled up when we got there.The cost is the same as the underground garage.We had a room on the 3rd floor, I think the stairs are double the amount of a normal flight. We decided to go to check out the hotel after parking the car underground before unloading our suitcases. Good thing, we ended up stuffing a couple of things for our overnight stay in a backpack instead of hauling anything more up those stairs. If you get a room that does not reek of urine, I guess you probably have a better room then ours. As I said before , the hotels location is its only plus. The weather was not to warm or cold,so we didn't need a/c or heat,so I cannot comment on that. I just know we kept our window open to try to get fresh air into the room.

Room Tip: Read the reviews and believe that some of them are true. I would have posted pictures but for some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Everything you need for a short stay. The rooms are small and basic but not cramped, aged but well-kept and clean. Located right in the heart of the old town. We didn't have breakfast here but there are plenty of cafes that will offer a decent breakfast. The walls are not soundproof but that didn't bother me at all for the price you pay. On the contrary it was a beautiful experience waking up to the clatter of cafes setting up their tables for breakfast and being able to watch the hustle and bustle of daily activity below us. (However this also means that you can hear your neighbours' conversations - so be wary if you're a light sleeper!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dthai90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in Hotel des Arts for 3 nights in January and were not disappointed.

Location:
The location of the hotel is simply perfect. In the heart of Strasbourg on a picturesque small square, just 2 minutes walk from the Cathedral. Tram and bus stops just some minutes away, easy access to all parts of Strasbourg.
Strasbourg is not made for cars, nevertheless it was possible to park on a road just some minutes away as parking is free during the night.

Hotel:
It's a tiny hotel in an old building, real french style rooms. Breakfast room and reception is okay, there was always enough space. A little refurbishment of the rooms and staircase would not be a mistake.

Room:
We had a room (as we asked for in the booking) on the 3rd floor with excellent views. Heating was okay, but the bath room was oldstylish and there was no heating inside. Quite a "cool" experience after a shower.
Cleanliness was in the middle, some black spots next to the windows.
Bed was very comfortable, two pillows, one chair and writing desk, small closet, Flat-screen TV (French and German programs), phone, good lighting.

Breakfast:
Typical french breakfast, definately more than usually. Fresh baguette, butter, margarine, different jams of high quality, honey, juice, water, fruit, selection of different yoghurts, Cornflakes. One Pain auf chocolat per person, coffee machine (Espresso, Cappuccino, ...), selection of tea.

Staff:
We had to do Check-In in Hotel Rohan, which is about 2 minutes walk away as the reception hours are limited. Lady was friendly, gave good information. Check-Out easily. Gay-friendly behaviour, what I appreciated in general very much in France.

All in all a nice hotel which is living from its location, compared to other hotels in Strasbourg a good deal for the price and a short stay. Don't forget: It's just 2 stars. If there would be an update in the room furniture, it would be simply perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alohafan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel du Dragon
#38 of 131 in Strasbourg
514 reviews
Mairie Sud
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#31 of 131 in Strasbourg
343 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Le Kleber Hotel
Le Kleber Hotel
#64 of 131 in Strasbourg
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Patricia
#73 of 131 in Strasbourg
172 reviews
Esplanade Hotel
#110 of 131 in Strasbourg
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: 10 Pl du Marche aux Cochons de Lait, 67060, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: £43 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Des Arts Strasbourg
Citotel Des Arts Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing