We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #106 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Whilst the hotel is clean it is very basic, it has a good location and has a fairly cheap rate. I spent 2 nights there on a business trip, i was disappointed that the walls were very very thin and you could everything that was going on next door. There is no contact at reception from 9pm until 7am as it is locked up and shut. The breaksfast is basic with only bread & cheese coffee & orange juice and a small amount of fruit. This hotel is o.k. for a sleep over 1 nighter but that is about all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeC602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Arts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

not suitable for an extended stay. As others have pointed out, it is located in the heart of the old city. The three staff members with whom we interacted over our 4 nights here were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast offerings were above average. I especially appreciated the opportunity to have my fill of coffee in the morning.

The room was the only drawback. The bed was comfortable. This was our third hotel room in a recent tour of France and the one that lead us to understand complaints about small rooms in European hotels. Storage was limited, as was space to place our suitcases. In an era of electronics, it's almost a crime to offer only one open electrical outlet. We unplugged the television as well, but even two outlets is a stretch for two people carrying phones, cameras and tablets.

The bathroom was the smallest I've ever encountered, approximately one meter by two meters, into which are crammed a toilet, a very small sink and a very small shower. I literally could not shave unless I left the door open and could rest my chin on the sink while sitting on the toilet. That's acceptable for one night, tiring after four.

Although the area can become quite loud in the evening, the double-glazed windows do a good job of sealing out the sound.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teguzco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband & I are a matured aged couple and stayed here early May 2014. We had a corner room that had a fantastic view over the square. The room was basic but clean. There was no street noise. Staff were friendly & breakfast was pleasant. Would highly recommend this hotel & would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the square.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel has the advantage that it is very close to the cathedral and for this location is quite affordable. It comes with downsides.. the rooms are tiny and the hotel itself feels kind of cramped into a small space. The hotel has a small open space in front of it and this is shared by a few restaurants that put out tables and more than a handful of souvenir shops. No parking.

Room Tip: If you drive in, you will have to find a parking garage. The ones on the side of the L'Ill (the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here around Christmas Eve 2013 and it was quite magical. The front desk graciously put up with our rusty French and were very helpful throughout the entire stay. I requested a room facing the square and I was not disappointed. The room furnishings are spartan, but clean. Our TV didn't work but we didn't care as we were in Strasbourg, the Capital of Christmas. The hotel is a short walk from the cathedral and if you get there just after sunrise, you will see the sunlight hit the sandstone and it will change your life. The hotel is within comfortable walking distance of the train station and the entire walk is enchanting. Breakfast is served in a small room by the front desk but there is plenty to chose from. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the square and you won't be disappointed. You will also have an excellent...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursus9Arctos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Traveled here with two friends and we shared a triple. The room was cheaply priced because of the time of our travel, but it was spacious enough that it served our needs comfortably. The best part was the location, two blocks from the beautiful Strasbourg Cathedral (it was visible from our window). Greatest downsides, a toilet with questionable water pressure and one power outlet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhthomas1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel has a perfect location, it´s very clean and has a good service, the people on the reception are very nice and helpfull. it is definitely a good option to stay in Strasbourg, 100% recomended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ximena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Hotel des Anges
Hotel des Anges
#102 of 128 in Strasbourg
62 reviews
Hotel Patricia
#81 of 128 in Strasbourg
125 reviews
Krutenau Nord Ouest
Hotel Roses
Hotel Roses
#43 of 128 in Strasbourg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mairie Sud
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#35 of 128 in Strasbourg
318 reviews
Mairie Sud
Hotel Cathedrale
Hotel Cathedrale
#56 of 128 in Strasbourg
457 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
ETC Hotel
ETC Hotel
#66 of 128 in Strasbourg
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: 10 Pl du Marche aux Cochons de Lait, 67060, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: £63 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Des Arts Strasbourg
Citotel Des Arts Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing