We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BEST IBIS HOTELS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Historique
Ranked #41 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST IBIS HOTELS”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have stayed at ibis hotels all over the world and this is one of the best. Of course it appeals to those who are looking for a functional place to stay (bedroom, shower, and television) while exploring a city as opposed to those for whom a hotel is the main objective (as in Las Vegas). The rooms are clean and modern and an added bonus is that the building is architecturally interesting with its semi-tubular style.

The hotel is at the edge of the Grand Ile which is an island surrounded by rivers and canals and the medieval center of Strasbourg as well as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is next to the medieval Ponts Couverts (covered bridges) part of the island but the bridges are no longer covered.

From the hotel you can walk towards Strasbourg Cathedral and pass through the Petite France area which consists of medieval tudor-style buildings next to canals. These buildings have been converted to restaurants, cafes, and shops.

Strasbourg Cathedral is an impressive Gothic structure made of reddish stone which dates back to the Middle Ages. It is apparently the tallest Gothic cathedral in the world and was the tallest building in the world for a few centuries. You can climb almost to the top up a spiral stone stairway (about 300 steps).

The French have to be different and one thing you won't find in Strasbourg are the countless money exchange places you see in most of the rest of Europe. You can't even exchange money at the main railway station and the same may be true for the airport. The only place you can exchange money seems to be the governmental Banque Postale next to the cathedral. It is much easier to change your money in a place like Germany across the Rhine if you are coming from there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    636
    340
    82
    24
See reviews for
181
645
97
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I really loved this hotel. Everyone there was very kind and helpful. No one from my group speaks French but they help us find our way in the city.The only thing i didn't like was the fact that the bedrooms were very small.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location is tricky - the hotel is situated above one of the big crossroads and near the police station, so all the night you can hear the sirens of police cars.
On the other hand - it's very close to the magic heart of Strassbourg - the petite France neighborhood, only a few minutes walking.
The hotel is another standard IBIS hotel, everything is good - the staff, the breakfast, the rooms.
Would recommend to stay there.

Room Tip: Try to book the rear side rooms - it will be much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelK_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in Ibis Ponts Couverts for the weekend. The localization is perfect, you can go by foot to Petit France and to the other turistic points of the city. The room, especially the tolilet is not so big but the bed is very confortable and for a weekend is perfectly sufficient. The breakfast corresponds to the proposal of the hotel: economic but efficient. I have nothing to say about the service other than very good. The hotel is also clean and organized. I recommed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaís C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limousin, France
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We couldnt get to the hotel we originally researched, so came across this one whilst driving around in a bit of a panic. Walked into reception at 7pm and asked to see room. We stayed 6 nights. The room was a bit tight, with a very small bathroom, no bath and only shower curtain. The first few nights were okay, the bed big enough, but Friday and Saturday nights we had quite loud music coming from somewhere near. There was also a constant smoke smell even though the hotel was non smoking. Good for a couple of nights but there is a lot to see in Strasbourg so you really need a week at a better hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level than 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackatwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
#27 of 129 in Strasbourg
911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Petite France
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Strasbourg Ouest
Comfort Hotel Strasbourg Ouest
#17 of 129 in Strasbourg
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Halles
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Halles
#32 of 129 in Strasbourg
787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
2.8 mi away
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirch
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirc...
#3 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Strasbourg Centre Historique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Strasbourg Centre Historique

Property: Ibis Strasbourg Centre Historique
Address: 7 Rue de Molsheim, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Strasbourg Centre Historique 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ibis Strasbourg Historical Center is located 5 min walk from the Petite France , the TGV station and the historic districts of Strasbourg and 10 minutes walk from the Cathedral. The hotel has 244 air-conditioned rooms with free WIFI , a bar serving snacks 24 / 24 and a restaurant. It is ideal for business trips , visiting Strasbourg, to get to Europapark , discover the wine trail or visiting the many castles and villages in Alsace . " Try our Ibis Restaurant Kitchen and buffets formulas. Terrace and bar are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Strasbourg Centre Historique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Ponts Couverts Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing