We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in Strasbourg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rohan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rohan
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Strasbourg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

A wonderful few days at Hotel Rohan. The location is wonderful and the service was excellent. I booked a traditional room, but was upgraded for 20 euros extra. The traditional room was more than adequate, though a bit old fashioned. The 'Chambre Comfort' was better, but saying that, I still would have been satisfied in the traditional.

The staff were friendly and professional, especially Anna (at least, I think that was her name!) I would definitely recommend this hotel again.

The only negative point I will make is regarding the cleanliness of the rooms. Don't get me wrong, they weren't dirty, but maybe a little more care could have been given (the wall and backs of the bed side tables etc were quite dusty).

Room Tip: Ask about upgrades, especially in off peak periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISTOPHEStrasbourg, Propriétaire at Hotel Rohan, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you so much for your comment.

The rate difference is really not much between our renovated and non renovated rooms during our low season and we are glad you had the chance to upgrade.

Anna thanks you for your nice comment and she and the team hope to welcome you soon again

Yours sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    145
    45
    6
    10
See reviews for
51
191
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Good quality and excelent location. Room was clean and confortable.Good service. It was very easy to walk or get a tram from the hotel to get to know the whole city. People are nice and polite at the reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristiane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISTOPHEStrasbourg, Propriétaire at Hotel Rohan, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this nice comment.

We hope to welcome you soon again in our city Strasbourg.

Yours sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Hotel is very well located, the rooms are nice and with good style and comfort. The staff very helpful and warm. We felt extremely welcome. The restaurant is also a good choice and used not only by hotel guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISTOPHEStrasbourg, Propriétaire at Hotel Rohan, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

Nowing you felt welcome in our quiet house is our best reward.

We all wish you a very happy 2014 year.

Yours sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We were traveling in a great Xtmas family trip. The Hotel is simple amazing. The location, food and mainly the staff we consider the high points. The rooms are very well decorated, modern style. Even been a Hotel not for child the they were very concern to make us at home with our boy of 2 years old. I really recommend the Hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisiane0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISTOPHEStrasbourg, Propriétaire at Hotel Rohan, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your feeling about our hotel.

We had a great christmas with all our clients, and we hope you enjoyed it as much as we did.

Having little guests is a pleasure for us, aspecially for the holiday season were the family spirit is so present.

We wish all of your family a wonderful 2014.

Yours sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I was very happy with my stay at Hotel Rohan. The location was superb; just steps from the Cathedral and other important sites. My room was very quiet despite the Christmas Market festivities going on outside. The room was very small (not unlike most hotel rooms in France) but nicely decorated and very posh. The bathroom was larger than I am used to for European hotel rooms so that was a plus.

I was very happy with my stay; I thought the price was a bit high but it was at the peak time for the Marche de Noel so it's not surprising.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISTOPHEStrasbourg, Propriétaire at Hotel Rohan, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

Choosing a hotel right in the middle of the city can be a risk.
That is why we have a double window in each room.

The fact that our street is very animated in daytime but very quite at night might help aswell.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you on another occasion.

Yours sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peron, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The first expression of the hôtel is nice, but there are few negative things we had to face furing our 2 nights stay. First of all the room doesnt look like a four star room , its very small and noisy from outside. Also they offer during booking a king size bed, however we never got it, instead of that we got two small single beds put next to each other which were rolling away all the time , sleeping wasnt comfortable at all.
Air conditioner simply not working. Bath is not a four star standing either.
But one of the biggest disappointments was the dinner at the hotel restaurant. The service was about 2/10. Food was very good but the way its provided just makes want to leave as fast as we can. Waitresses are not nice, and not concerned about our table, took us 2 hrs for one course and a coffee with a small dessert. Bill came after about 20 minutes and with no pen to sign... Took more time to wait for them again to bring one. Left , and no one took any attention.
The one more good thing about the hotel is the location, in the heart of christmas market, close from everything. For the rest hotel deserves 3 stars maximum .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
197 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

by purpose, we have chosen a hotel right in the city center of Strasbourg as we were more outside previously. And so we have chosen also a room which promised a really comfortable stay. The prestige room was overlooking the backside street.
The hotel reception sent directions and information on beforehand but we were positively surprised how easy we can sneek into Strasbourg by car and drop our baggage at the hotel. The recetion staff was welcoming use very friendly and everything was prepared.
We could park the car safely in a garage 2min away:
We went out for a stroll and to have dinner in a typical restaurant.
The room offered all required comfort, it was quite, the aircon could be adjusted to cosy temperature and there was no noise at all.
Te bathroom modern and convenient, space enough to move but maybe not enough options to store and leave things. The breakfast as expected with a nice variety of bread, cheese, fruit etc..
The best came with our extended shopping day after the check-out, we could still leave our car for a while during the day. central Strasbourg - what elso !

Room Tip: rooms to the backside, "Prestige" room certainly a very nice choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caramellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISTOPHEStrasbourg, Propriétaire at Hotel Rohan, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for your visit.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and hope to welcome you on some other occasion.

Yours sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe by HappyCulture
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#2 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Gutenberg
Hotel Gutenberg
#12 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rohan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rohan

Property: Hotel Rohan
Address: 17- 19 Rue du Maroquin, 67060, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rohan 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rohan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal De Rohan Strasbourg
Cardinal De Rohan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing