We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gutenberg
Nearby Hotels
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Cathedrale(Strasbourg)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Beaucour(Strasbourg)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Hannong(Strasbourg)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveller rating
552
544
99
21
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
544
99
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfifth floorstreet noiserecommend this hoteltrain stationwithin walking distancecorner roomthe hotel is cleanpetite francestandard roomlovely roomspoke good englishold buildingcentral locationrooms are moderncomfortable bedan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very good hotel where we stayed a couple of nights for the Easter break.
Belongs to a small hotel chain of the area - we actually stayed in another hotel of the group in Colmar.
Location is very central. The room was spacious, very clean and recently refurbished with a couple a fine painting by a modern artist we like very much, Jerome Mesnager.
The very central location of the hotel makes it possibly noisy at night at week-end as there are quite a few pubs in the area.
The breakfast buffet is good though the breakfast area is quite small.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chairyandsquarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, réceptionniste at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay in hotel Colombier in Colmar too.
Our hotel is appreciated for the nice location in the heart of Strasbourg near the train station, the Cathedral and the old city “Petite-France”. You have the possibility to have a continental breakfast to your room too.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent-just minutes from the beautiful cathedral. The staff are very friendly and helpful -they booked our favourite restaurant for us (La Couiller a Pot-see separate review).The room was spotless and quiet.However we had booked a Privilege room and have to confess we were slightly disappointed.It was rather dark and the bathroom was very problematic.The shower was in the bath, with only a very short piece of glass and no real shower screen.Everytime we showered there was then a huge puddle of water all across the bathroom floor! ....not what one expects in a 'Privilege'room.Also,there were only 5 hangers in the warderobe.All in all it's ok but not great....perhaps I would recommend avoiding room 208 because of the bathroom problem.

Room Tip: Avoid room 208 as the shower over the bath splashes everywhere causing huge puddles on the bathroom floor!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABarrett_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, réceptionniste at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor
All reception staff is touched by your compliments. Our receptionists are at your disposal to advise you about tourist places to visit, or to book a table at a good restaurant or a taxi. Regarding the room we thought to do well by giving you a quiet room, but if you want to come again, we will give you a Privilege room on the ground floor, more spacious with a different bathroom. We hope to see you during a next stay.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I just spent 3 wonderful days in the Hotel Gutenberg. The room was small but very clean and had a great view. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. The location was perfect, close to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, Directeur général at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your very nice review regarding your recent stay!
We are pleased to read that our service and location met with your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you back soon!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Mixed feelings about this hotel.If you are in Strasbourg as a tourist, you really could not find a better location. Staff seem friendly, although when I rang reception to request an iron and ironing board, the reply was " can you come and get it or do I have to bring it up to you?" which was a disappointing response. We had a basic room on the top floor. The room itself was decorated in a modern style,quite small (although not Parisian small) but the bathroom was minute. Also the bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a thin (frosted) glass door which had quite a gap top and bottom, so it felt like the bathroom was in the bedroom ! If we return to Strasbourg (and I hope to - Strasbourg is a beautiful city) I would probably give this hotel another go if I could get a good deal on one of the "Prestige" rooms found on the lower floors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrowmanBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, Directeur général at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment. About the size room, we are sorry that it has not been at your convenience but for your next stay you could book a Privilege room (good deal for you, please contact us directly).
We would like to apology about the answer given by my receptionist, assure you that we are doing our best for this not to happen.

We hope to welcome you for your next stay in Strasbourg.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We spent 2 nights in Strasbourg and found the Hotel Gutenberg to be in an ideal central location, between the cathedral and Petite France. There are many bars, restaurants and shops nearby; the area is safe and busy with activity. Rooms are tiny -- I think the smallest we have ever stayed in and there was some tricky rearranging of furniture to accomodate our cases, but they are well equipped with modern bathrooms. No bar/mini fridge would be the only thing lacking. We like a firm mattress but ours was possibly a bit too firm, not sure if you could request a different room with a different mattress type. Overall, good base for exploring, but too small a room to spend more than a couple of days in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieCVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, Directeur général at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Madam,

We thank you very much for your nice review!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We just have 6 Standard rooms under the roof and they are not the biggest rooms, but do not hesitate to book and enjoy another category of room during your next stay in our hotel. We have a 24hours room service at your disposal.
We are pleased to know that the design of the hotel and its location have been at your convenience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews