We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, clean and friendly”
Review of Hotel Gutenberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gutenberg
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location, clean and friendly”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is right at Place Gutenberg in the heart of Old Town, between the Cathedral and "La petite France. The welcome was lovely, very decent room. At the front desk the staff could speak & understand English very well. The staircase is beautiful and the breakfast quite complete. The lobby decor is neat, the rooms may have need a little bit fresh but stylish. We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was on 3rd floor with the view of the lovely Cathedral. It was just perfect. There is free Wi-Fi. Really good value for money. Would Definitely recommend others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehernosh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, réceptionniste at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guests,

Through your review we understand that you spend a nice stay in our hotel.

The hotel is located between the Cathedral and the old city “Petite France”. You can use the wifi with no extra charge or you can use the business center. You can have the breakfast in the breakfast room with a large buffet or in your room. We have different Privilege rooms with a cathedral view. The style for the hotel is modern and contemporary. When we renovated the hotel we decided to keep the staircase for the charm and authenticity. We will welcome you a next time with pleasure.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    481
    96
    20
    20
See reviews for
152
585
57
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Gutenberg the first two nights of our visit to Alsace and were so pleased we stayed again before our return to Paris. The rooms were quiet, comfortable and clean with nice amenities (including a pot to heat water in the room!) We were a short walk from everything we wanted to see and do. The prices booked through the hotel website were reasonable and the process easy. We have only a couple recommendations to make things perfect: a lighter duvet for the beds in summer and to please provide accurate information to front desk staff on parking fees, laundry facilities and other information travelers often need.
Strasbourg is wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyhoundWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, réceptionniste at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your reviex on Tripadvisor.
In all Privilege rooms you find a kettle, a bottle of water and a pair of slippers. Some rooms are on quiet side. The reception team explain to each new guest the possibilities to park the car with a city map and tell the rates. the hotel don't have a laundry service, but we can tell you a laundry located 5 minutes from the hotel. The reception is open 24 hours on 24 to ask your needs (put a sheet and blanket instead of a duvet, air conditioning ...). Do not hesitate to come to the reception.
You can call us for your next stay in the beautiful city of Strasbourg!

Best regards,

Mélanie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As a three star hotel, the Gutenberg exceeded our expectations. We stayed at a 4 star in Paris and the Gutenberg was far superior in every respect. There was no Eiffel tour outside but the Gutenberg is a stone's throw from an amazing Cathedral and an enchanting and absorbing city centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, réceptionniste at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
You spend a nice stay in our hotel and in Strasbourg, all the team are touched by your positive remarks. We have different rooms with a cathedral view.
Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It is so nice to see that there are still hotels in this world that bring real value to a stay.
The rooms are all up-to-date with air conditioning and functioning services, also nice interior design that combines an historic building with modern rooms.
The windows are really double, isolating completely from the city noises so you can have a good sleep.
The breakfast includes natural (bio, organic) products, local from the region.
Staff friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, right in the historic center of the town, the shopping area is all around and the underground downtown parking is less than 3 minute walking from the entrance.
And last but not least: the price is fair. This place is an example that you can have a fine hotel without making it too complicated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, réceptionniste at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank your for your stay in our hotel. We read your rewiew and we appreciate your positive remarks regarding the staff, the establishement and the city.
Along the year you can find special rates in our website. For the breakfast you have the choice between a large buffet with fresh and local products and room service. You can park your car in the underground public parking Gutenberg located near the hotel.
The reception team is available 24 hours if you need to book another stay.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great comfortable location near famous Strasbourg landmarks , fabulous rooms- 503, 504, kindly professional stuff, very good breakfest , what else???
i am sure, I will back next year....

Maciek Barański

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaciekBaranski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, réceptionniste at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mr Baranski,

Thank you for taking time to write a message on Tripadvisor.
Our attic standard rooms are on the 4th and 5th floor located under the roof and some are duplex with a beautiful Cathedral view. Our rooms are well equipped and comfortable.
Tourists appreciate the hotel for the location and the nice team reception who has always the smile whatever the circumstances.
We will be happy to see you next time, your are welcome in hôtel Gutenberg!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Comfortable and perfectly located. Our room was light, quiet & comfortable but the shower room was cramped.The breakfast room is not very well designed & gets congested. Staff very helpful - with great restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are light and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, récepionniste at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. The front desk team is 24 hours available to inform you about the visits, the restaurants and shops ...
Our Standard rooms have a double or quadruple glazing for the comfort of our guests. You can have the breakfast in the breakfast room with a large buffet or in your room with no extra charge.
Don't hesitate to contact us to reserve a next stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to seeing you.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had two adjoining rooms on the 2nd floor which were very quiet. Well furnished rooms, only complaint is that the stand for suitcase does not fold away and becomes a little obstructive. Housekeeping did a thorough job every day and the rooms were very clean. Front desk staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was good quality but the room becomes a little crowded when busy.

Location is very convenient for the Cathedral, only a couple of minutes from Tram and a pleasant walk to Petit France area. Plenty of good restaurants close by. The front desk staff provided great recommendations on places to eat.

Definitely recommend this to anybody looking for quality accommodation at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Recommend Prestige rooms which are a little larger and be aware that some rooms are a few steps up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotInAnRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutenberg60, réceptionniste at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear family,
Thank you very much for your visit and rour nice rewiew regarding your stay in our hotel.
We have different rooms for 3 or 4 persons or we have adjoining rooms. If something disturb you in your room you can inform the reception and we will find a solution.Our hotel is appreciate for his great location, you can find easyly several restaurants that we recommend you. The housekeeping is affected for your compliments about the rooms cleanliness. Don't hesitate to mention our hotel to your friends. We will be happy to welcome you a next time.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel D
#3 of 129 in Strasbourg
678 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#9 of 129 in Strasbourg
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 129 in Strasbourg
791 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Maison Rouge Hotel
Maison Rouge Hotel
#20 of 129 in Strasbourg
1,119 reviews
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#5 of 129 in Strasbourg
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenberg

Property: Hotel Gutenberg
Address: 31 rue des Serruriers, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#4 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#4 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gutenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Gutenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenberg Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing