We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, modern, clean, big rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Lutetia
Ranked #66 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice, modern, clean, big rooms”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Our room was big for a European city hotel, with a huge comfortable bed, and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very nice, looked newly remodeled. We also had a small adjoining room to put all our bags and stuff. The only issue was finding parking in the area. It's limited to street parking, with a maximum of three hours at a time. No parking garages close by.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    70
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
54
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Having stayed in Strasbourg several times before, and having never enjoyed the other bearably-priced but pretty poor hotels, I actually fell a little bit in love with Hotel Royal Lutetia. The price/quality/location ratio is excellent, and I would definitely stay here again, for work and for leisure.

The hotel itself is relatively small, stylish inside and quite sweet. More importantly, it is clean, it smells nice and has all the basic comforts plus a little more. I found it very quiet at night (hooray!), my room had both a heater and air-conditioning, hair dryer, safe and basic toiletries. At the same time, the location is excellent - a 15-minute walk to the centre.

The service was nice (especially the breakfast lady. Speaking of breakfast, at 10 euros it is a little pricey, but if you want to spoil yourself, the choice of food is good, and I hear there is a terrace in the summer).

The only two minor bones I had to pick was a blocked sink (again, I have found this problem time and time again in Strasbourg - am I missing something?) and the fact that they didn't replenish my teabag supply once I had used it up for the kettle I found in the room (come on, one little teabag will cost you almost nothing, but will make the guests very happy).

Overall, I really wish I had known about this hotel sooner.

P.S. Dear room service, please don't change the used towels if they are hung up, not on the floor. You even have a sign saying this. A common hotel problem around the world, but why bother trying to save the environment if you don't follow your own rules?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We wanted to stay in Strasbourg to visit the many Christmas markets but all hotel accommodation closer to the old town area were fully booked. Found this hotel and SO glad we stayed here. A lovely cosy hotel in a quiet residential part of town only a 10 minute easy walk from the Cathedral. Please don't be put off with the exterior. It's a pretty hotel inside - the outside isn't as attractive. Our room - room 42 - was enormous and very comfortable. Plenty of wardrobe space, separate toilet, a wonderful shower, toiletries and towels replaced every day, a very comfortable bed and everything spotlessly clean and well maintained. We had a kettle and fixings for tea and coffee. Breakfast is served in a quaint breakfast room. Plenty of choice of cereals, breads, cheeses, yoghurts, fruits and jams and delicious pastries with attentive hardworking staff. We took a taxi to and from the station though it is a walkable distance but not with luggage...well we did go to the Christmas markets to BUY after all!! There is a pharmacy and little cafe/bistros close by but within 10 minutes you are in the heart of the old town and spoilt for choice for restaurants and coffee shops. Would we stay again - ABSOLUTELY. We recommend this hotel to you. A little 3 star hotel that is exactly that.

Room Tip: Room 42 is huge. Set to the front it is still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

If 3-star hotels in the UK were all of the standard of the 3-star Lutetia, then we'd be getting value for money. This hotel does more or less exactly what it says on its website. It's a good quality 3-star, offering comfortable accommodation. The hotel isn't luxurious, and I didn't expect it to be. But My double room was perfectly satisfactory for one person. Comfortable bed, spotlessly clean, good-size bathroom, effective climate control, adequate storage. As is often the case on the Continent, there was no kettle. The buffet breakfast had a good selection of food. Staff were very helpful, and whatever one asked for was no trouble for them.

The city centre is a 15-minute walk away, and the hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood. There are a number of restaurants, cafés, patisseries, take-aways, and small supermarkets in the adjacent streets.

For a short stay, this hotel is ideal, and I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had one of the less expensive "attic" rooms on the top floor. The room had a sloping ceiling along the roof line, and the "windows" popped up out of the roof. However, we found the room to be comfortable and cozy and clean, and since we are not tall, the sloping ceiling was no problem. Very pretty breakfast room, with a gracious host and plenty of items to choose from. Location is about 1 km from the train station, so about a 20 minute walk, which is doable but somewhat strenuous with heavy luggage. Location is within easy walking distance of the main sights of the city. Free wifi internet was adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Hotel Royal Lutetia is a cozy boutique hotel located in a quiet neighborhood and is a 10 minute walk to the centre of Strasbourg. My boyfriend an I stayed in the junior suite, which consisted of two rooms that were elegantly decorated. The hotel has a quaint dining room where breakfast is served and a good selection of breads,cheeses and chatecurie.
The staff was very professional and gave us great restaurant recommendations for lunch and dinner.
Strasbourg is a beautiful city and December is a good month to visit as you will experience the magic of the Christmas markets, with vendors selling crafts, wine, vin chaud, delicious Alsatian treats, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITSALLABOUTLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Quaint hotel walkable to the Cathedral and the train/bus. We had a small “attic” room (with skylight) which was cute and reasonably priced. Mallory at the front desk may be the nicest hotel clerk I have ever met—cheerful and very helpful with transportation and dining recommendations. Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.3 mi away
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
#71 of 127 in Strasbourg
118 reviews
8.9 mi away
Au Boeuf
Au Boeuf
#1 of 1 in Blaesheim
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Couvent des Franciscains
Couvent des Franciscains
#56 of 127 in Strasbourg
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa d'Est
Hotel Villa d'Est
#8 of 127 in Strasbourg
542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel des Princes
Hotel des Princes
#13 of 127 in Strasbourg
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Halles
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Halles
#32 of 127 in Strasbourg
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Lutetia

Property: Hotel Royal Lutetia
Address: 2 B rue du General Rapp, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Lutetia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing