We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly commendable stay”
Review of Hotel Les Haras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Les Haras
Ranked #4 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly commendable stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Fantastic Front of House staff, great valet service and very attentive, genuine employees. We even got water bottles for our departure! Design features are clean and of a high quality. If you have kids ask for the interconnecting rooms. You may eat at the independent in house brasserie which has lovely food, though is let down by poorly untrained service staff.

Overall we will be back, this place is a gem within its great, convenient location and tranquill surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    108
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
70
178
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed a few nights. It is very close to the center of Strasbourg, but out of the bustle and thus quiet as can be. Close walking distance to all of the main attractions of the city. The hotel provides a buffet breakfast for $24 euro. The second floor rooms lack full widows, instead there is one small window in the bedroom and one in the bath. These are also quite high on the wall, making the place seem cavelike at times.

There is a nice little bakery right across the street, where a ham and cheese baguette will run you $3.10e.

Room Tip: get a room with real windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is not a hotel. This is a re-mastered work of art.

We stayed in this hotel during its soft opening stage.

The quality of the reception is excellent. Saddle leather counter, horse and medical imagery on the stained glass windows and solid wood butcher block flooring.

The hotel is a converted premier stable in the medical district of Strasbourg. This fact is touched upon throughout the hotel.

The tailor made carpeting has delicate Fleur de lis tapestry overlapping images outside each of the bedroom doors.

Inside the rooms are steel dressing tables, large flat screen TV, floor to ceiling curtains with leather and horsehair pulls. The headboards resemble a Porsche dashboard with deep leather and LED bedside lighting.

We visited for the Christmas market and were not disappointed. The hotel is very close to the Petite France area of Strasbourg.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherriwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in central Strasbourg and within a 5-10 min walking distance to the Barrage Vauban and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. Newly opened in Oct 2013, the architecture and interior decoration is quite stunning. So is the external courtyard behind the hotel, which makes you feel like you are staying in an exclusive hotel.
The staff welcome you with a smile, and carry the luggage for you upstairs (I know some European hotels don't). The room, upon entering, has a very warm and cosy feel about it, fresh and clean. The leather fittings were pretty, keeping to the equestrian theme, styled a la Hermes.
The beds were soft and comfortable for a good night's rest. The breakfast the following morning was sumptuous with a spread of a very filling breakfast; local breads, baguette and croissants, yogurt, fruit juices, fruit, cereal, slices of ham, cheese, coffee, and tea.
The only complaint would be the position of the shower which had to be hand-held in the bathtub instead of it being on the wall and the water pressure which was extremely low for a cold winter's night. (We were in the third floor)
Overall I must say we had a very pleasant experience at Les Haras - the brasserie they have in the courtyard has stunning architecture worth a look, with good modern cuisine (not cheap though) - and will definitely return on our next visit to Strasbourg.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bonvoyage2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 2days in strasbourg and stayed at les haras. This is a very recent and good hotel. Its location is very good, less than 400m from la petite france. The staff is very nice, polite, useful and always willing to help. They recommended us a very good restaurant, and offered to make the booking for us. The room was very nice, clean and spacy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank foblire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoGeHo, Hotel Director at Hotel Les Haras, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for charing your experience with us.
Your kind words about the staff, and the service provided, will be a real source of motivation for the whole team.
This is our philosophy, making your stay in the hotel a memorable moment, and staying at your entire disposal to give you the best advices about the city and restaurants.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

In the hope to welcome you again,

Our best regards,

Médéric Brendel-Manier
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The staff went our of their way to make our stay better than grand. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in beautiful, historic Strasbourg. The way the hotel has been carved out of the old buildings is extraordinary and make the stay that much more special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoGeHo, Hotel Director at Hotel Les Haras, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Mrs Bridget,

We first want to thank you for charing your experience through these kind words.

We are very happy to read how much your enjoyed your stay at les Haras.

Your feed back is so important for us, as we opened only 2 months

We'll do our best to keep this quality of service, and your kind words increase our motivation.

In the wait to the have the opportunity to welcome you again,

Our best regards,

Médéric Brendel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Well, it's OK but definitely not what you would normally expect for 400 Euro per night even in unreasonably priced places like NYC or Moscow.

I can't blame the staff (except an unknown person who left the window open in the room prepared for me). They were nice, english speaking and quite effective and they did find the electric heater device for my room... But why there isn't central heating for the price? Or - why air conditioner doesn't work properly in the heating  mode, at least? Why there isn't any heating in the bathroom? It's winter, guys!

And while the building is all renovated you wouldn't expect hot water running so slow that it took almost half an hour to fill the bathtub to the half.

The breakfast is perfect and appropriate for its 24 euro (if you do like rich breakfast) but "hot dishes can not be delivered in the room" - which is not a problem for some less pricey hotels

The location is great - absolutely silent (which is very valuable in the holiday season) but close to everything. It seems that the hotel even has private parking so may be it's location you're paying for, not the bathtub :)

Wifi works OK but it's_very_ annoying to input long login and password each and every time

I'm not sure if I would recommend the hotel - I book it for the central location, spacious room and tea /coffee facilities. They were provided. If in Strasbourg it must be 386 euro - it's up to you to decide.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank irka_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoGeHo, Directeur d'exploitation at Hotel Les Haras, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Madam Dear Sir,

I first want to thank you for charing your experience with us. I'm glad to have the opportunity to answer to your review.

I want to apologize for the technical issues that you mentionned and you had to face during your stay with us.
We already worked on solving these issues, out of our control, but impacting your global feeling about your stay.
Since the openning date (October 17th), we are solving the problems day by day, step by step, and for sure that the quality of the product is on the way of improving.

Moreover we are all glad to read your comments about the staff, which are under the control of our management team, and reflecting our philosophy of the service.

If you would give us the opportunity to welcome you once more, for sure that you will see that we have been sincere, by solving the technical probelms.

Thank you again, and hope to see you soon,

Our kindest regards,

Médéric Brendel-Manier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 127 in Strasbourg
999 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#2 of 127 in Strasbourg
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel D
#3 of 127 in Strasbourg
651 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 127 in Strasbourg
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Haras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Haras

Property: Hotel Les Haras
Address: 23 rue des Glacieres | 23 rue des Glacieres, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Haras 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an outstanding setting in the heart of Strasbourg, on the edge of the Petite France historical quarter, rediscover the unique charm of the former National Stud Farm. A prestigious hotel and a brasserie restaurant run by Marc Haeberlin, faithful to the spirit of the place and smartly decorated by the notorious Jouin-Manku design agency, A magical and secret place, built in the middle of the 18th century along the city’s medieval ramparts, harbored within Strasbourg’s former National Stud Farm and registered as a Historical Monument since 1922. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Fastbooking, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Haras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing