We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for a location that good,there had to be a catch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell
Ranked #101 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night and thankfully not more than that. This place served our purpose for quickly getting in and out of the city while being in close proximity to all the sights, but for longer stays I would suggest looking elsewhere.

For us the hotel overall left much to be desired. The staff did not know English all that well and our room had a tremendous beam cutting straight through our bed as well as our bathroom at an angle. It was cute upon first look but it got old very fast to the point I left thinking it was downright dangerous. You literally had to duck to and exit the bathroom without smashing your head open. We opted not to eat in the restaurant due to the horrible service reviews and I think it was a good decision. When I peeked in on one of the dining rooms, it seemed that several people were looking around in a way that suggested they were held against their will.

It was a little strange to stay in a place like this. It's primarily a busy restaurant that makes you feel that the hotel was an afterthought. For example you have to walk past the main kitchen doors with waiters constantly going in and out just to get to the elevator that brings you up to the rooms and the "front desk" is basically a corner of the bar. If you want the old world Strasbourg experience, this will do. If you typically like a little more comfort and service from your hotel, look further.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sneakyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is a charming restuarant that isn't as good as it has been in recent years. However if you are visiting Strasbourg for a short stay, try and book a table on the first floor beside over looking the flood lit Cathedral - it's a great location. The food and service aren't as good as they used to be, but it's still very good with plenty of choice. The wine list is excellent. Wouldn't be rushing back, but it's worth a visit if you have never been before.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jamirogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Location is excellent,nx to the cathedral.We went for a drink and booked a table for the next night. Gautier was very helpful and booked us a table on the first floor next to the window looking out at the cathedral.Perfect spot.
Food was very good too. I am vegetarian and had the Risotto. The others has fish and we all thought how good the food was.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kermit122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Our tour guide recommended the restaurant for a good shoukrut and we arrived for the lunch.We took the "set menu"that includes first cours,shoukrut with 7 different meat and dessert.Ordered a bottle of Gewurztraminer to accompain the meal.
The restaurant is significant and charming but the sitting is alittle tight and the service very correct but slow.The food was very tasty and the main course is huge size come hungry.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
Thank IsraelTuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We hade dinner in the main square at the Restaurant of the Hotel. The location was very nice but the service quite slow and we waited a few miuntes to get a table. We tried the local main course of various meat and it was abundant and delicious but slow to be prepared.
Good if you want to enjoy the localtion but come late afternoon.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
Thank andreailcujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

This is a great find in a fabulous city. The location is perfectly placed next to the Cathedral and in 5 minutes walking distance of the amazing Petite France area of the city.

The hotel is charming with original features, a unique exterior and querky interior murals and staircase. Our bathroom was so tasteful with light oak beams slanting over the modern fittings.

Our view through the little windows overlooked the high peaks of the roofs of the neighbouring properties with their picture book Alsacian windows.

The restaurant had great murals of the merchant life of 15th century Strasbourg, tasteful fittings and pleasant ambience. Food was outstanding with all the traditional specialities of the region. The staff were casual but very efficient and the restaurant manager excellent.
It struck us how very kind they were and made you feel instantly at home.

A recommended experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StellarSofWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

The feeling of staying and dinning at the heart of historical centre of Srasbourg itself gave me a very special prestige to be a real VIP!

Not only the meaning and atmosphere, but also the quality of cusine is beyond expression! I was deeply impressed by it unique secialities: Alastian Sour Kraut created by the Chef Mr Baumann. It was basically fish with sauer kraut which tasted so gooood with fantastic service in mediaeval atmosphere.

Surely I'll come back with my family some day before long...

Stayed: September 2008
Thank EuroKorTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Gutenberg
Hotel Gutenberg
#10 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,136 reviews
Mairie Sud
Hotel Cathedrale
Hotel Cathedrale
#64 of 130 in Strasbourg
463 reviews
Mairie Nord
Adagio Strasbourg Place Kleber
Adagio Strasbourg Place Kleber
#60 of 130 in Strasbourg
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Strasbourg Centre
#31 of 130 in Strasbourg
758 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Maison Rouge Hotel
Maison Rouge Hotel
#17 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,179 reviews
Hotel D
#2 of 130 in Strasbourg
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell

Address: 16 Place de la Cathedrale, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: £98 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Exclusive Hotel Baumann - Maison Kammerzell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exclusive Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing