We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, very plain and simple. About a 10-15 minute walk to City Center”
Review of Hotel Cap Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cap Europe
Ranked #120 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
280 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, very plain and simple. About a 10-15 minute walk to City Center”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel/apartment for nearly a week. We stayed in the largest apartment they have which consists of 2 beds in the main room, one cell like room with a full bed, a bathroom, a hot plate, a few dishes and a table with 4 chairs. The apartment would be great for 1-3 people for a week stay, but any longer the lack of space would be a huge issue. There is one small closet large enough for 3-4 winter coats and a few things stacked on the shelves. There are no drawers for other items. The hotel/apartment is very clean, but the only provide a few towels and no soap or dish towels for the kitchen area. Also since they have hard floors every noise bounces off the floor and walls and makes it very noisy. Also the hotel does offer internet for a charge. Because our room was on the top floor along the road we were too far from it and never received a signal in our room. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the tram station and a very nice park. There are a few restaurants in the area, but not a huge selection. There are also a few corner markets within a block or two of the hotel/apartment. I'm not sure that I would stay here again if we return to the city. While it is clean, the distance from the city center is a bit too much.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    98
    152
    116
    139
See reviews for
89
199
54
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2009

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor I booked two nights for my boyfriend and I at Cap Europe. At 75 euros a night mid-week, I expected better. Our room was small and smelled like stale cigarettes. There were no dishes or anything in the little kitchenette. The bathroom is smaller than the ones you get in a budget room on an aging cruise ship but similar in layout and style. Our shower drain clogged and overflowed. The cleaning service is agressive - yelling at us in French to get out of the room so they could clean after knocking several different times starting at 8:30 in the morning. At one point they were barging into the room while I was in the shower. Check in and out was easy and prompt. Talking to the locals in the Starsbourg, they seem surprised by how expensive our hotel was saying there were plenty of good places more in the 50 euro range. I don't know where or what they are, but I would highly recommend looking for them and skipping a stay at Cap Europe. My dingy freshman dorm was much nicer than this.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strasbourg hotels

Rotorua
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

A grim little apartment, with 6 single beds and only 4 coffee cups and half were cracked. Kitchen had no dishwash liquid or teatowels even though linen was supplied.
As one person got into bed the leg fell off and they fell to the floor. Extremely poor internet access in rooms. Bathroom was tiny similar to an airline bathroom with no ventilation. Shower curtain fitted poorly and water streamed over floor. Unable to wash feet in shower without accidently turning off shower. Avoid if possible.

  • Liked — Parking
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank littlelamb_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

This is a "residence" rather than a hotel. I stayed there as a last minute decision, on the way to somewhere else. Even so, I had rather hoped for slightly better facilities.

The room was clean and adequate but very spartan. The toilet and shower were in a self contained capsule - a little like in an aircraft. There were basic cooking facilities and the "crockery " was locked in a cupboard, to which I was given the key. I had to laugh when I saw what was there - two of everything, admittedly - but odd, mismatched cast-offs that was taking cost-cutting to the extreme.

There was internet, as advertised, but at 4,5 euros per hour, quite outrageous. I didn't try the breakfast at 8 Euros, but relied on patisseries.

There are no real problems with this place - and the price was reasonable. I think if I had been able to plan ahead, I would have been able to get better value elsewhere. Don't expect comfort or daily room service beyond a change of towels.

Strasbourg is a great place for a few days visit. I enjoyed my stay in the city immensely and the accommodation served its purpose. It is a pleasant walk away from the centre of town, and close to a bus that goes straight to the station.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — basic facilities
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisPossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2008

This is a little gem. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the city center. I felt very safe walking to/from the hostel. The rooms were HUGE, the bathroom was very nice, and the entire place was very clean. I was worried at first that they don't change the sheets/duvet cover between guests, but after seeing the cleaning staff every day, I realized it was like every other hotel. The breakfast offered was a bit weak, but overall a great and inexpensive place to stay. There were a few school groups there, but it didn't bother my friends and I. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Size of the room and bathroom
  • Disliked — Mattress wasn't great but it wasn't bad either
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bktraveler718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

Stayed in this appartment/hotel for two nights when on a trip to Strasbourg with 2 others. Had a large room with 3 single beds, a small kitchen, with cooker, fridge, plates etc and a decent bathroom. This is all you need on a weekend trip such as this. The room was clean and the staff more than friendly. I can't speak highly enough, especially at the price. It also has a private courtyard for parking which is essential in this busy area.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2007

The scores given this property did not in any way reflect my experience. I made a last minute decision to go to Strasbourg without knowing that it was a Christmas Market weekend and the place was packed. I had little choice and got the last online room at the Cap Europe. On arrival I found it spare but perfectly adequate--about a 10 minute walk from the cathedral--and certainly a bargain for the comparative offers. The breakfast at six euros was good value and overall I have no complaints. The staff was helpful and friendly so what's not to like?

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Rooms were very plain
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uskuhlmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.7 mi away
City Residence Strasbourg Centre
City Residence Strasbourg Centre
#114 of 127 in Strasbourg
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#96 of 127 in Strasbourg
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
#71 of 127 in Strasbourg
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirch
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirc...
#3 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Lutetia
Hotel Royal Lutetia
#67 of 127 in Strasbourg
135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cap Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap Europe

Property: Hotel Cap Europe
Address: 6 rue de Bitche, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cap Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel and residence is just a 5-minute walk from the Parc de la Musique Convention Centre and 1.7 km from the Strasbourg European Parliament. It offers a 24-hour reception.The studios and apartments are spacious and can accommodate up to 5 people. Most apartments have kitchens, which include cooking facilities and fridge.Facilities at the Cap Europe Appart'hotel include a 24-hour laundrette and an on-site car park. A buffet breakfast is served every morning and Wi-Fi is free available in the residence’s common areas.Cap Europe is just 200 metres from the Parc du Contades tram stop. The Notre Dame Cathedral and Strasbourg city centre are a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cap Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Europe Hotel
Cap Europe Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing