We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dont see why it has so many bad reviews”
Review of Hotel de Bruxelles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Bruxelles
Ranked #128 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here about 4 years ago and on a business trip stopping in Strasburg late at night recently. I headed to where I had stayed previously Hotel de bruxelles. Staff where well mannered I had a nice room. A pleasant stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

First there was a problem with our reservation and they didn`t have a free room for us so they put us in a triple bed room and price was higher than what we reserved. Only one receptionist speaks english well. Rooms were smelly, you couldn`t leave food on the table because there was lots of ants and bugs around, even mouse trap under bed. Bathroom had a GLASS DOOR and you had no privacy in there because you could see and hear almost everything, like you are inside with a person on toilet. Also the bathtub was awful, water was running slowly and you had to go in shared bathroom to take a shower. Closet was old with doors which were hard to open and close. Breakfast was poor and same everyday (nutella, marmalade, tea, coffee and yoghurt, if you were lucky there was a croissant). Everything was a bit uncomfortable and rooms had weird smell and i wouldn`t recommend it to anyone.

Only good thing was a hotel position and thats all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 350Marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We weren't looking for luxury for a short stay in this lovely city, so we chose Hotel de Bruxelles. You cannot beat the convenience to the train station and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The staff was very helpful and cordial. To be honest, it's old and the entire hotel could use a renovation, but we had a early train to catch so it was just fine for us. For the budget price, we had our own shower and bathroom so it's a step up from a hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldexplorer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

I've stayed in Hotel de Bruxelles twice and am sending my daughter there next month. It is convenient to the train station and to the sights in Petite France. Also near restaurants and pharmacy.

We loved the cheery dining area and the staff was very congenial and helpful. If you're on a tight budget you can save even more by booking a room with access to shower down the hall.

I was in Strasbourg doing research for a novel based on my ancestors in France. I didn't find my ancestors, but I included the hotel as one of the settings in my novel

The only downside I could see to this hotel was that the rooms seem a bit dark due to the decor.

  • Stayed: July 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

I have now stayed at this old style hotel three times, and for those who want a low price (45 euros) and authenticity, this is the place. The rooms have the feel of the 19th century, and are totally comfortable. I try to stay in room #8, but # 6 is also good. Not all the rooms have shower and toilet (these do - and they are fine), so it helps to call ahead - the place is very popular with French and German families.

It is only a 5 minute walk from the gare, down a small street one over from the main rue Kuss, so it is quiet. From here you can easily walk to all the sites in Strasbourg (10 minutes to La Petite France, 15 minutes to the Cathedral).

Keep in mind this is a genuine, old hotel, with creaking staircases and antique, original furnishings. For a low-price new hotel, the Etap right up the street is excellent. It is radically different, but I stay there when the Bruxelles is full (see reviews).

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobmauro1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#53 of 131 in Strasbourg
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#72 of 131 in Strasbourg
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Couvent des Franciscains
Couvent des Franciscains
#68 of 131 in Strasbourg
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
#25 of 131 in Strasbourg
986 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
4 mi away
Hotel Roi Soleil Strasbourg Mundolsheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bruxelles

Address: 13 rue Kuhn, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: £50 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Bruxelles 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Bruxelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing