We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Tire-bouchon

Le Tire-bouchon
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Le Tire-bouchon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 1,426 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$32
Cuisines: French, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mairie Sud
Description: A deux pas de la cathedrale de Strasbourg, et de son marche de Noel, le restaurant le Tire-Bouchon maitre restaurateur depuis 2011 est une winstub ou l'on retrouve l'authenticite d'autrefois. Dans un cadre chaleureux et soigne , qui fait la part belle aux poutres apparentes, aux tables delicieusement nappees et aux lumieres tamisees, venez vous rechauffer autour de succulentes specialites alsaciennes accompagnees de nos vins soigneusement selectionnes. Pensez a reserver l'un de nos salons privatifs pour vos evenements familiaux jusqu'a 30 personnes. Cuisine Chaude tous les soirs jusqu'a MINUIT !!
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't eat here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Awful food and service to match. We waited absolutely ages for our starter. I had requested crudités without dressing. It came swimming in dressing and I was told it was impossible to provide one without dressing as everything was prepared in advance. It was horrendous.
We waited about an hour for our main course-my husband's jambonneau was thoroughly overcooked and dried out and burnt black on the top. The waiter could be heard swearing under his breath throughout the meal and was inattentive. I would avoid this place at all costs as it was a horrible dining experience from beginning to end..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ABarrett_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    934
    311
    127
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A French culinary rhapsody”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Spent a long time trying to locate this place;having read about on the net. It was everything that was said & more. Chose a fixed lunch menu. My entree of Foie gras was delectable & the bone marrow that my wife ordered was equally nice. My main course was the chef's selection of meat, which was nice, but too big a portion. My wife's local fish with wine sauce was nicer. The desserts of chocolate mousse with fresh cream, as well as Creme Burlee was lip smacking. The restaurant earned it's richly deserved praise. Highly recommended. Bon Appetite.

Helpful?
Thank alhadraje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vecses, Hungary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly place with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I've been to La Tire-bouchon few days ago with my colleagues. It is a very friendly place with excellent food and wines. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they speak English also (not like in most of the restaurants).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suskovics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Horrible experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

From the moment we walked in I should have known to have walked out. Despite the fact that they had a booking for us, they knew nothing about us. We were shown to a table and handed a menu in French. My French is not what it used to be :). We were then offered a menu in English. My starter arrived and was not what I had ordered. My friend ordered snails which were the worst they had ever tasted and the bread (which we had to ask for) was stale! I ordered the beef stew with seasonal vegetables for my main course. Unfortunately, this turned out to be beef with salad! It seemed that all the French patrons around us were attended to perfectly well, but the English patrons, us, were just about tolerated! To be avoided!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Typical Alsacian food in a lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Great local food in large portions, so make sure you're hungry! We shared a delicious salad starter of Gruyere cheese with local sausage, followed by Pave au Salmon and Baeckeoffe (3 meat stew), unfortunately we had no room for desert. The restaurant is much larger than appears from the outside, although the tables are well packed in, which makes for good table to table chats! It is within a pedestrian area and as it's a busy restaurant, booking is necessary.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrDShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Tire-bouchon also viewed

Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Le Tire-bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing