We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must. Basque cuisine in a real Restaurant in Bayonne. Highly recommended.”
Review of Le Chistera

Le Chistera
Ranked #11 of 285 Restaurants in Bayonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Downtown, between the Cathedral Sainte Marie and the town hall you'll find the famous " Chistera" . Sixty years ago the Marmouyet family created this restaurant , a must in Bayonne. In 1990 Jean Pierre Marmouyet and his wife Maite came back from the USA ( he was a great Jai Alai player in Connecticut and Florida) to take over the family basque restaurant.You'll find it in numerous guides (GaultMillau, le Hubert, le Petit Fute, le Pudlo, le Bottin Gourmand, le Ballarin, le Lonely Planet, Michelin guide vert, le Routard,rough guide… The house spirit: a traditional basque cooking harmonized with fresh products and very kind prices . The fresh hake"koskera", the "piperade", the farm chicken "a la basquaise", the basque cake home made ...should not be missed. same flavors, same courses revisited as the years go by. Jean-Pierre was a professional Jai Alai player, their son Jean Jo is a professional rugby player and guess what ? He 's playing in Bayonne a" l'Aviron Bayonnais" , he began 17 years ago in Bayonne...and never played somewhere else . You know now why you you'll meet so many regulars , you better have a reservation but be sure that anyway they always welcome you with open arms. The place to go : Le Chistera !
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A must. Basque cuisine in a real Restaurant in Bayonne. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The nice hotel recommended 2 restaurants many clients liked. Well, ratio quality/price is good. Service was friendly. Food was really good. We made a reservation at 7:30 so, it was not busy yet. We had Jambon de Bayonne, Poulet basquaise, desert, wine from a town near by was exquisite. Decor? Well, we saw this as a restaurant where locals go. We love that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxidouNoiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    158
    21
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
“The one and only”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

One of the last restaurants in town to be 2nd generation family run and serve only the freshest local ingredients.The service is very friendly and helpful so we all had a wonderful time together with a delicious lunch from starters to mains and desserts.

Helpful?
Thank gdparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good local food”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We enjoyed a good local dinner at Chistera on a sunday night. The atmosphere is in phase with the name of the restaurant and the service was prompt. The specialty of the Basque region are multiple and the price is correct. I would come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I will just talk about the food in this review.

The duck is awful - don't order
The Chicken Basque is good, but I did not see anything special in this dish. It is a more or less simple sauce with a simple chicken and simple rice.

The so called "Tuna Tartar" tasted and looked like it made of salmon.

The tuna dish was the only tasty one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmouyet, Gérant at Le Chistera, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Ilya,
Please don't play the perfect gourmet while your lack of knowledge in gastronomy is striking. We perfectly remember you, you and your bad mood . We really don't understand what's in your mind when you go to the restaurant since you and your family spent most of the time playing with your mobiles and did't pay a lot of attention to the food .
We don't have any « tuna tartar » in our menu but « trout tartar ». and it' translated in english ! You don't seem to be aware of it, but it makes a hudge difference. It is true that the taste of trout tartar is close to the taste of salmon tartar, but it has very little to do with the taste of tuna tartar.
You also complained about your « magret de canard » and the chef payed a special attention to your request and had your dish tasted by the entire kitchen staff. Verdict : they found it delicious. And be sure that we are very open and attentive to our (rare) customers criticisms, because we love our job and work hard to get better at it. Maybe you thought you were ordering turkey ? In that case we can understand : duck has a full-bodied taste compared to turkey, you must have been surprised.
Best regards,
Le Chistera's staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham UK
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Top notch family restaurant”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was one of the few places opened on a Sunday in Bayonne and didn 't disappoint. A pretty much traditional French restaurant menu at a reasonable price. All dishes were very well prepared and service was delightful throughout.
Quite a few locals came in during the evening and the atmosphere was very appealing. If you are looking for a good standard, reasonably priced dinner in Bayonne, look no further.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rydeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chistera also viewed

Bayonne, Basque Country
 
Bayonne, Basque Country
Bayonne, Basque Country
 

Been to Le Chistera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing