We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What is a chistera?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Le Chistera

Restaurant Le Chistera
Ranked #11 of 272 Restaurants in Bayonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Media, Pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What is a chistera?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Once we figured out the connection between jai alai and this restaurant's name we were in good shape :-) food was super and service also very good. It is a little hard to find at night and neighborhood was pretty deserted. Owners speak some English and helped with the menu. Advice: in this part of France if you don't speak Basque or French--get a good menu translator. There are some surprising items on the menu!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 10Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    150
    19
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
523 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“A must. Basque cuisine in a real Restaurant in Bayonne. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The nice hotel recommended 2 restaurants many clients liked. Well, ratio quality/price is good. Service was friendly. Food was really good. We made a reservation at 7:30 so, it was not busy yet. We had Jambon de Bayonne, Poulet basquaise, desert, wine from a town near by was exquisite. Decor? Well, we saw this as a restaurant where locals go. We love that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxidouNoiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
“The one and only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

One of the last restaurants in town to be 2nd generation family run and serve only the freshest local ingredients.The service is very friendly and helpful so we all had a wonderful time together with a delicious lunch from starters to mains and desserts.

Helpful?
Thank gdparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We enjoyed a good local dinner at Chistera on a sunday night. The atmosphere is in phase with the name of the restaurant and the service was prompt. The specialty of the Basque region are multiple and the price is correct. I would come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I will just talk about the food in this review.

The duck is awful - don't order
The Chicken Basque is good, but I did not see anything special in this dish. It is a more or less simple sauce with a simple chicken and simple rice.

The so called "Tuna Tartar" tasted and looked like it made of salmon.

The tuna dish was the only tasty one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmouyet, Gérant at Restaurant Le Chistera, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Ilya,
Please don't play the perfect gourmet while your lack of knowledge in gastronomy is striking. We perfectly remember you, you and your bad mood . We really don't understand what's in your mind when you go to the restaurant since you and your family spent most of the time playing with your mobiles and did't pay a lot of attention to the food .
We don't have any « tuna tartar » in our menu but « trout tartar ». and it' translated in english ! You don't seem to be aware of it, but it makes a hudge difference. It is true that the taste of trout tartar is close to the taste of salmon tartar, but it has very little to do with the taste of tuna tartar.
You also complained about your « magret de canard » and the chef payed a special attention to your request and had your dish tasted by the entire kitchen staff. Verdict : they found it delicious. And be sure that we are very open and attentive to our (rare) customers criticisms, because we love our job and work hard to get better at it. Maybe you thought you were ordering turkey ? In that case we can understand : duck has a full-bodied taste compared to turkey, you must have been surprised.
Best regards,
Le Chistera's staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Le Chistera also viewed

Bayonne, Basque Country
 
Bayonne, Basque Country
Bayonne, Basque Country
 
Bayonne, Basque Country
 

Been to Restaurant Le Chistera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing