We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice on the outside, shame about the inside”
Review of La Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Bayonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Supposedly a four-star? Hmm. Well arriving at the hotel you think, "well, this looks really nice, and a gated property, with plentiful car parking. Well this should be nice". Except that it isn't that great after you see the rooms. Basically needs updating and cleaning. And a little maintenance. One of the lightbulbs was blown. I reported this to the staff, but this wasn't replaced during the two night stay. I think that sums the place up, really. I have complained before about blown lampbulbs in hotels, only to have the fault corrected there and then and a complimentary thank-you for having shown up a minor problem. Not so here! And the rooms are quite dusty, the carpets dirty. A real shame, as the property has so much potential.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This establishment is not honoring a reservation made over a week ago with a credit card- A confirmed one! We had even spoken to them on the phone 4 days before our expected arrival.
We informed at noon the day of our arrival that they were not respecting our reservation. They claim there was a technical problem with our room but refused to give further information. I suspect they had another booking request that was for a longer stay and so booted us out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Had three nights at La Villa and enjoyed everyone of them. The hotel is just outside the old town in a quiet residential area. It is set in its own gardens and extremely pleasant. We had a good sized room on the first floor, very French, with a large bathroom. Breakfast, although seeming a little pricey, turned out to be worth the money, with freshly squeezed fruit juice, coffee and fresh pastries/bread and conserves. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We arrived on a foul day and it rained for nearly all of our two night stay. No fault of the hotel I know, but it did set a dull tone for a somewhat strange stay.
The hotel is pretty much as shown on the website and is nicely decorated throughout. The location is fine but you'd need to be pretty keen to head into town on foot.
I had booked forJuly by mistake but we were accommodated with no problem. Or room was a pretty good size, well furnished and had a comfortable bed. The bathroom was good but had a huge window onto the room. There was a see through blind but the bathroom was still clearly visible to anyone sitting in the room. A Venetian blind would have made all the difference. It made for a slightly fraught stay.
As mentioned, the weather was foul so we decided to eat in on our arrival evening. The owner seemed a bit surprised that we might want to eat on a Saturday evening but eventually we were offered assiettes of ham and cheese. These were very nice but hardly the sort of meal we were looking for.
We didn't take breakfast on either morning.
So, an OK stay but a bit drab and uninspiring. If the weather had been nicer and there had been more people around I might have felt more positive. It wasn't cheap and I expected a bit more for the money paid.

Room Tip: Avoid open plan bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rydeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

There's no doubt that the building is lovely, the rooms charming and spacious. the staff courteous. But according to the travel literature, in French, La Villa Hotel is supposed to be in a park. On other websites it's a garden. In reality, it's a bit of green lawn surrounding the building, hardly much bigger than the gravel driveway. It's also set in a modern suburb of the town of Bayonne. If you don't have a car, the fifteen minute walk into the lovely old town of Bayonne is through non-descript suburb, looking like any other suburb in the western world. If you take a wrong turn, you end up on a semi-motorway spaghetti junction without any pedestrian crossing. Our room looked onto the football pitch. For these reasons, we found the four star status, with the attendant price tag, a litte bit exaggerated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feehily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and loved it. Our room was a standard one on the second floor. The hotel does not have a lift but this did not worry us. The room was large, had character and the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel is positioned about 20 minutes walk up the hill from Bayonne in a quiet, residential area.
The town itself was very pretty, interesting and we had no problem finding good restaurants. It was also a good base to visit San Sebastián and Biarritz. We really enjoyed our time in Bayonne and staying at La Villa.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mgaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

quite pretty, although what was advertised as art deco certainly wasn't that. My room was in the roof and quite charming, with a very nice bathroom . However it has no lift!! the guy at the desk was so spaced out it took him about 15 minutes to check us out.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
Thank betsey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayonne hotels
1.2 mi away
OKKO Hotels Bayonne Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Bayonne Centre
Ibis Bayonne Centre
#3 of 18 in Bayonne
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Bayonne Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Basses Pyrenees
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Bayonne Centre Le Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Le Bayonne Hotel
Le Bayonne Hotel
#9 of 18 in Bayonne
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Hotel

Address: 12 Chemin de Jacquette, 64100, Bayonne, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Bayonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Bayonne
Price Range: £55 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming country house style hotel in a recently converted building dating back to 1905 and situated in a haven of peace and quiet with its secluded and well kept gardens on the heights of the River Nive, near the historical centre of Bayonne.At the Hotel Villa we will do our best to make your stay, whether it be on holiday or on business, restful and relaxing.Our hotel is located on a hill overlooking the River Nive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your La Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing