We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great find”
Review of La Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Bayonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked this hotel last minute for 70€. Can't believe the deal we got. This is a really nice hotel that certainly usually costs much more.

Our room was enormous and impeccably clean.

The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood and is very quiet.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a nice quiet hotel. The staff was very nice and very helpful. There isn't a restaurant so the food served is basic but there are restaurants in Bayonne you can go to. The room was comfortable.
We really had a lovely time and would be very happy to come back there if we were passing through Bayonne again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A quirky privately-run hotel in a quiet suburb. There is no restaurant but they have a choice of simple dishes. Although there are good restaurants 15 minutes walk away, the route along a busy road is unattractive. We had a fairly large room, well furnished but a bit impractical, and with a rather scruffy terrace. The breakfast was OK but limited and with haphazard service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanKnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having driven for 7 hours from the Costa Blanca we needed a comfortable place to stay and chose La Villa having seen it on the internet. It looked pleasant enough and is 4 stars so we booked it. We were hungry and tired and did not want to go out to eat as it was getting late so we asked if we could eat in the hotel. All that was available was a room service menu with cold meats, pate and smoked salmon which was disappointing and rather expensive. Breakfast consisted of fruit, orange juice bread and jam with a hot drink at €9 each again rather expensive. Our room was comfortable though se we did have a good nights sleep.
If we do the same trip next year we will look for something that offers better value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Supposedly a four-star? Hmm. Well arriving at the hotel you think, "well, this looks really nice, and a gated property, with plentiful car parking. Well this should be nice". Except that it isn't that great after you see the rooms. Basically needs updating and cleaning. And a little maintenance. One of the lightbulbs was blown. I reported this to the staff, but this wasn't replaced during the two night stay. I think that sums the place up, really. I have complained before about blown lampbulbs in hotels, only to have the fault corrected there and then and a complimentary thank-you for having shown up a minor problem. Not so here! And the rooms are quite dusty, the carpets dirty. A real shame, as the property has so much potential.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This establishment is not honoring a reservation made over a week ago with a credit card- A confirmed one! We had even spoken to them on the phone 4 days before our expected arrival.
We informed at noon the day of our arrival that they were not respecting our reservation. They claim there was a technical problem with our room but refused to give further information. I suspect they had another booking request that was for a longer stay and so booted us out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Had three nights at La Villa and enjoyed everyone of them. The hotel is just outside the old town in a quiet residential area. It is set in its own gardens and extremely pleasant. We had a good sized room on the first floor, very French, with a large bathroom. Breakfast, although seeming a little pricey, turned out to be worth the money, with freshly squeezed fruit juice, coffee and fresh pastries/bread and conserves. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayonne hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Basses Pyrenees
0.7 mi away
Ibis Bayonne Centre
Ibis Bayonne Centre
#3 of 18 in Bayonne
404 reviews
1.2 mi away
OKKO Hotels Bayonne Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Bayonne Gare Centre
1.1 mi away
Hotel Loreak
Hotel Loreak
#8 of 18 in Bayonne
210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Bayonne
Ibis Budget Bayonne
#6 of 18 in Bayonne
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Hotel

Address: 12 Chemin de Jacquette, 64100, Bayonne, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Bayonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Bayonne
Price Range: £52 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming country house style hotel in a recently converted building dating back to 1905 and situated in a haven of peace and quiet with its secluded and well kept gardens on the heights of the River Nive, near the historical centre of Bayonne.At the Hotel Villa we will do our best to make your stay, whether it be on holiday or on business, restful and relaxing.Our hotel is located on a hill overlooking the River Nive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your La Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing